We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, overall good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Ranked #16 of 167 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Through the narrow up and down lanes, right at the end you will find this lovely hotel.

Check in was easy and I was taken up to my room which was tight on space. I was on my own but 2 would have been a pain.

No real window as it looked onto the landing with people walking by. Room was clean, bedding clean but not very white, beds comfy, no bedside lamps. bulbs out on wall lights, bathroom spotless, towels discoloured, it got chilly and there were no extra blankets, my laundry went awol but when it came back was beautifully done.

The whole hotel was very clean, well staffed, lots of nice plants and flowers. Squirrels play on the stairs. The views are outstanding and a beautiful place to see sundown over the lake

The service in the restaurant was hit and miss and the staff got distracted easily which resulted in errors. Restaurant gets very busy, make sure they know you are a resident.

I would stay here again, I would not pay extra for a lake view because there are plenty of places to take advantage of this view with a book and drink, no need to pay all that extra money. I would recommend it in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

650 - 656 of 1,404 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

A charming heritage hotel of character in a superb lakeside location, close to the heart of this busy little town, with its spectacular palace and romantic lake trips. The restaurant provides good food (but too adapted to blandness for my tastes), and would be much improved by allocating waiters to tables, rather than a somewhat random service with virtually no attentive contact. But what a view from your table ! Attention to detail would improve the stay - eg tea & coffee in rooms. Nevertheless a great location and an enjoyable stay.

Stayed: March 2014
3  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I'd been looking forward to Udaipur at the end of our extended "Golden Triangle" tour and was not disappointed. Jagat Niwas is a great place to stay at the heart of the old town, the palaces and the Lake. Rooms were comfortable and quiet and drinks on the terrace were the ultimate in romance

Room Tip: Eat here...you will not find a better setting or food quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grahamb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We were given the stand alone room right at the top of the hotel. The steep stairs were a challenge to me but we would not have swapped our room for any price. Our door and windows looked over the roof top restaurant to the city the mountains and the whole lake....breathtakingly beautiful. The hotel is a gem with first class service and very classy food in the restaurant. We ate at the hotel both the nights we stayed in Udaipur. Walking distance from the palace, the temple and the boat cruise terminal. The room was spacious and the bed was great. Some small problem with shower pressure probably because of the room's elevation but perfectly adequate. I would never tire of staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Staying in this hotel was a highlight of my 2 week trip to India. We LOVED the lakefront window seats (seriously, so relaxing and comfortable) and the rooftop restaurant was delicious and had the best sunset views. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and had character. The staff was also super friendly and accommodating. Hoping to return soon!

Room Tip: Lakefront rooms are obviously ideal, but the other rooms are nice as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kira L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Well maintained charming heritage hotel with clean spacious rooms. It has its own character. Very attentive and friendly staff. Beautiful courtyard. Very good for rest after a full day of touring. Location is unbeatable: all Udaipur attractions can be explored on feet from the hotel. Breakfasts and dinners in the restaurant were delicious and accompanied by a beautiful lake view. This hotel was selected and booked by Maavalan Travels (www.maavalanindiatravels.com) for our month long private tour to India.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yuri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Spend two days at this hotel as part of a 10 day tour of northern India with Trinetra Tours. Hotel is situated right on the lake bank. Our room had a lake view and was decorated in Indian decor with a comfortable, large bed. Room was very clean and we had good service both from hotel staff and the restaurant staff at the hotel's restaurant located on the second floor overlooking the lake. The stairs up are somewhat steep and the hotel has no elevator. There is also a roof top section to the restaurant which we did not use due to the cold weather. The main restaurant itself is not walled so was open to the cool air. There are a number of upscale shops at the enterance to the hotel and also a currency exchange very close by the entrance.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJSellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 167 in Udaipur
2,359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#19 of 167 in Udaipur
731 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#23 of 167 in Udaipur
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.3 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#40 of 167 in Udaipur
504 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#35 of 167 in Udaipur
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel

Address: 23-25 Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £56 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rajasthan- the state that captures the imagination of everyone who visits it, has stood the test of time and circumstances and till date it retains its heritage, values and traditions. The Rajputs of Rajasthan are famous for their grace, honesty, valour and hospitality. We, the Jagat Collection fraternity, hold these values close to our heart and by reworking these ideas to suit the needs of modern times, proudly present the legacy of ‘living heritage’. Our properties, Jagat Niwas Palace and Dev Niwas, are both heritage mansions staying true to the bygone era in context of the architecture and decor. We aim at not only providing a comfortable and memorable stay but also, to make you a part of our legacy and immerse you in the opulence of Rajasthani culture and hospitality. With more than 35 years of experience in the hospitality industry, our patron - Thakur Devraj Singh Jagat, welcomes you to revel in the effervescence of all that Rajasthan has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagat Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Jagat Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing