We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved our time here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
277 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“I loved our time here!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had a lovely room overlooking the lake. The room was large, and had a seating area with bay windows. The beds were antique (or an antique style) which I loved. We were here two nights, and ate at the rooftop restaurant on the first night, overlooking the lake. What a beautiful setting! The staff was very friendly. On our last morning, I peeked into some of the other rooms that were being cleaned for new guests. They were all a little different, and all were well done.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanMarietta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    504
    109
    32
    23
See reviews for
251
670
77
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We travelled from Pune to Udaipur on a motorcycle. Parked our bikes safely right in front of the hotel lobby, so was very safe.(No space for car parking though) The hotel is right besides the lake, thus, making for a fantastic view from the rooftop and the dining area. As for the room, we got an amazing deal. SInce it was off-season, they gave us a haveli non-lake facing room at the price of 1500 rs per night, whereas during peak season, this room costs 2900 Rs per night. It was a great deal indeed. Room had a king size bed with a cupboard and two tables. Toiletries were very clean. Staff was very very courteous. The restaurant is on the rooftop right besides the lake. Makes for a very delightful dinner with a great view of the lake and hotel Taj Lake palace. Only downside was the restaurant was pretty expensive. But that was the case with almost all restaurants in the area. Another downside was the AC was not that effective in the summer heat.

PS: We physically checked almost all hotels in the vicinity, but there was no match to this one that fit in our budget.

Room Tip: Take a Lake facing room if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suraj234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We were just driving through Udaipur and ended up here for lunch. What a little gem...we were so surprised. While the menu options were very limited, we had good fresh and tasty fish and chips and another fish with a white gravy. Also, on such a hot day (100F temps), this lake side spot was beautiful and cool and breezy respite. Had we stayed in Udaipur, this would have been a good option, and likely memorable, as it was a palace. The location is nice - right on lake and easy town access via good walking streets.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjeenn66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Really nice place to spend your holidays. Place is fantastic. Hotel
is well situated near Pichola Lake. Rooms are clean and calm. Staff of
hotel is very co-operative. I stayed in Jagat Palace for 3 Nights 4 days.
My stay was very nice and comfortable. The Restaurant on roof was has really beautiful
view. Food is nice. Hotel architecture is really classy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Prinche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Jagat Niwas Palace is one of the best hotels to stay in Udaipur. Done in a gentle haveli style, it is located right on the bank of the Pichola Lake, with rooftop restaurant and some rooms facing the water and offering wonderful views of the Lake Palace and Jag Mandir. I could see this hotel as a romantic place to spend time with a significant other. Conveniently located next to the City Palace and Jagdish Temple, it was also very reasonably priced.
I traveled alone and stayed in a large room for 3 people on the ground floor, so i didn't have any views. The room was spacious and very clean. Per my request, I was given a space heater since most of the hotels in India don't have central heating and January tends to be pretty cold.
I had two dinners and breakfast at the roof-top restaurant and despite slow and somehow sloppy service, food was super delicious (unlike other spicy Indian food). Concierges and front desk personnel were very friendly, courteous and accommodating. Not only did they recommend me interesting things to do after i thought i have seen everything in Udaipur, but also they helped me to deal with a dishonest merchant whose art pieces I was going to buy, but luckily didn't.
I would definitely go back to Jagat Niwas Palace, and this time request a room with a lake view.

Room Tip: Upper floors with lake views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SvetaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aligarh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Situated at the Lal ghat it's rooftop restaurant has one of the excellent sunset and lake view. During dinner time the staff is busy catering to foreign customers, v indians feel a bit leftout. The restaurent is on two floors, ambience is good, taste of food is more towards the foreigners liking. The prices are a bit on the higher side, not value for money as compared to the neighbours like Ambrai and Udai Kothi.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank gulmarghotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Jagat Niwat Palace is a magical and unforgettable place to stay. This hotel is a perfect icing of the cake of the Udaipur city. I enjoyed all: spacious room, amazing view, lovely stuff, but above all, the atmosphere this place has.

One of the best hotels I visited.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malgorzatak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 156 in Udaipur
2,249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 156 in Udaipur
457 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#12 of 156 in Udaipur
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#23 of 156 in Udaipur
1,040 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 156 in Udaipur
2,932 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 156 in Udaipur
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel

Property: Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Address: 23-25, Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagat Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Jagat Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing