We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Average”
Reviewed 2 November 2010

This may not seem an expensive option when considering from home but it certainly is. I was unimpressed with the unhelpful and inflexible reception and booking staff. It is not worth the premium.

I was woken up at about 6am by water running from the tanks onto the roof of the room.

The restaurant has excellent views.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sevrosdelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    502
    107
    31
    23
See reviews for
248
667
77
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

The hotel is a great place to stay for those who want to stay near the lake but at a reasonable price. The rooms is nice and clean. The best part about the hotel is the roof top restaurant. The food is delicious and the service is outstanding.The view of the lake along with great food and service truely makes it a memorable experience. You can see Taj Lake Palace from the restaurant. The restaurant is a must to enjoy the evening!! Do dine here!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Madhur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel
Level Contributor
110 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Our travel-agent had booked it well in advance and we were lucky to stay there in the monsoon: so we had a room with lake-view, water in the lake and a most courteous and helpful staff. Though we both fell sick with a bad belly - we thoroughly enjoyed the place and it was not too expensive. The roof-top resturant is a dream: one eats like a Roman matron lying on a day-bed. They prepared the herbal-tea for us as requested. The atmosphere is kind and not pushy. Gorgeous.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chatouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

The rooftop restaurant was the first thing we encountered -- as we were early and the room wasn't available. Gorgeous traditional sit-outs give you views of the lake even as you lounge on mattresses. The food is nothing exceptional but it's all a very pleasant experience. The rooms are slightly on the basic side but they all have great views and are lovely to return to after tramping around town. Dinner is served on the rooftop and the evening views are even more enchanting.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SM-Bombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

I stayed at one of the other more highly rated Trip Advisor haveli's and wish I had stayed here. I ate dinner at the lovely roof top terrace overlooking the lake. It was great. Fabulous views, delicious food, and not too expensive, and the staff was sensitive to my American tastes and make sure not to make the food too spicey. I had read about this place in my Frommer's guidebook and can verify that this is an excellent place to dine.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morsel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Great spot, great staff,. we had a Raj room which was well worth the extra.
Good air conditioning. Spotless.
Great views across the lake from the restaurant.
Udaipur is incredible.
Recommend +++

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieC53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Amazing rooms, really good service, brilliant view of the lake.
Overall excellent stay.

But it is possible to find cheaper hotels in the same area if this is out of your budget.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasu84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#15 of 151 in Udaipur
681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 151 in Udaipur
2,234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#11 of 151 in Udaipur
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 151 in Udaipur
446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 151 in Udaipur
2,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel

Property: Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Address: 23-25, Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagat Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Jagat Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing