We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 153 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Spectacular Accommodation”
Reviewed 13 January 2011

I loved this place. It is a heritage hotel with the funkiest, most interesting rooms ever. The location is perfect, the restaurant has great views and the best food we had in India. We had a great time in Udaipur and Jagat Niwas hotel was a part of the unique experience.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi_G123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    504
    109
    32
    23
See reviews for
250
670
77
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

I stayed at Jagat Niwas for four nights in November 2010 and was very happy I did. The hotel itself is comprised of two adjoining palaces, with several floors and an amazing rooftop restaurant and bar. I had a lake-facing room with a beautiful view of the lake palace for quite a bargain. The rooftop restaurant serves very good food and for a sunset beer, you cannot beat the view. The indoor restaurant where they serve breakfast also has beautiful views of the lake, with several cushioned nooks that look out toward the lake palace.

The staff is very friendly and helpful -- the only downside, if you consider it one, is that the hotel does not have wifi. However, I was able to pick up wireless signals from neighboring hotels most of the time. Also, a friend was in a non lake facing room and found it pretty noisy, as his window looked out over a narrow alley where kids and the staff would hang out early in the morning.

From the hotel, almost all of Udaipur's places of interest and good restaurants are an easy walk.

I would definitely recommend Jagat Niwas Palace to anyone visiting Udaipur who wants a taste of the lake palace life at a fraction of the cost to stay in the middle of the lake!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duggernaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

Everything perfect. The roof-top restaurant with good food, the staff, the maintenance, teh view. Everything within walking distance, great!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FritzLarsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2011

Stayed with my wife and my sister. We booked in advance and had two rooms next to each other. Go for the rooms facing the lake - they are worth every rupee. We had really nice rooms with small "balconies" where you could relax and watch the lake and the lake palace.. The hotel is directly on the lake and everything is in walking distance - you don't need to have a car. Staff was also really friendly. Would always stay here when in Udaipur. We loved it and were sad when we had to check out for the next station of our tour.
The restaurant (both on the roof top and one floor below) is worth a visit. You have great views and the food is also good.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darmstadt98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hyderabad, india
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2010

A 150 years old building converted into a hotel. Very well maintained place with clean rooms, linen and nice ambience. Nice roof top restaurant. Service was wanting - perhaps they value foreigners more than local travellers. Great value for money, overall, though.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

After much research we chose to stay at this hotel and asked for a room with a lake view. The room was full of character and beautifully decorated. We had a cozy window nook with an amazing view of the lake and the sunset each night. The value of this hotel was great compared to other more expensive hotels we stayed in. The quality wasn't different than hotels with much higher rates. The hotel is in a great location in the old city among the narrow twisting streets. Beware of many locals around the hotel trying to sell you anything and lying to you to get you to come into their shops.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

Jagat Niwas was the least expensive hotel we stayed in during our trip to India and, on balance, our favourite. Whilst not top end luxury (which we would not have expected for the price), the hotel was full or character, very comfortable, peaceful and a real haven after a frantic couple of weeks exploring other cities in northern India.

We arrived early in the morning, and the reception staff informed us a room would be shortly available - which was a welcome surprise after an overnight and delayed train journey (partly explained by the relatively early 10am check out time). However we then went up to the rooftop restaurant for breakfast and, discovering the huge, cushioned open window seats, stayed there for a couple of hours relaxing and taking in the view.

Our room - a Heritage Room facing the lake on the ground floor - was lovely - simply furnished but with a huge window facing the lake, again with a comfy window seat, and a separate area for bags / storage etc. We had to move rooms for our second night to a non-lake facing room, due to availability - still a good sized, well appointed room, but really, you want the view...

The restaurant is excellent - apart from one lunch we ate all our meals here (reserve a table on the roof for dinner). Staff very attentive and friendly and the food - especially the Indian food - excellent value.

Location is hard to beat - right on the lakeside with splendid views across the lake - watch out for the parrots and the swooping birds of prey. Also was very quiet - certainly compared to other places we stayed in India - and a short walk to the City Palace but away from the tourist bustle.

There was the occasional power cut - to be fair there were a couple of big storms during our stay - but for us this added to the charm (they were brief...). Overall, especially considering the cost, we would happily recommend this hotel and will return if we go back to Udaipur.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_and_Jess_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#11 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 153 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,908 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#5 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#26 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel

Property: Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Address: 23-25, Lal Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jagat Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Jagat Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing