We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is a Palace!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shiv Niwas Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shiv Niwas Palace
Ranked #34 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“It is a Palace!”
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Excellent service. Though I am not too fond of "retro" style. Rooms were good. Beautiful view. great management. Excellent food

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cello-jello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Dear cello-jello,

Greeting from the Shiv Niwas Palace,

Thank you so much for taking out the time to share your experience at our hotels with us. Your review helps us reassure that we are doing the right things and makes us strive to serve you better everytime you stay with us.

We do look forward to welcome you soon again at the HRH Group of Hotels.

Warm regards,
HRH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    130
    54
    32
    28
See reviews for
134
177
27
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed at this palace hotel at the end of our trip to India, which involved volunteer work in remote parts on India. This was our romantic getaway for 2 nights before going back home. Our room was just 'ok', not anything I would have expected for 4 stars, but I also realize that hotel star standards differ from country to country. Our room essentially had no windows. There was a little sunroom (most unwelcoming and narrow) with windows, and one could leave the doors open and use only the screen doors, but that leaves little room for privacy.
On our firsty night, we could hear workers doing maintenance somewhere in the hotel, as the noise travelled through the vents and made it sound as if they were in the room next door, Fortunately that stopped, but then around midnight strong smell of petrol filled the room. We hoped it would pass, but instead we got headaches and started to feel nauseous. At that point we called the front desk to complain. They stated that were no more rooms available. Then my boyfriend went to the front desk to talk to the manager and drag him if necessary to our room. They concurred that room was not adequate, and gave us another room (surprise! suddenly there was a vacant room!) We were never compensated for the inconvenience of having to pack up our bags in the middle of the night. The second room was a bit smaller, but essentially the same (no windows!)
The rooms were relatively clean by Indian standards, but don't call yourself a 4-star hotel is you have mold on the shower curtains.
Staying in a palace is definitely a great experience, but I think there are better deals than this one.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PlanetaryWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Dear PlanetaryWanderer,

Greetings from the Shiv Niwas Palace.

Thank you for taking the time for writing this review about Shiv Niwas Palace and updating us on the experience you had during your stay at our palace hotel. We do regret the same and ensure necessary needful will look into the same. Despite the disappointment during your stay we look forward to having you again at the HRH Group of Hotels and create a memorable trip for you the next time you stay with us.

Warm Regards,
HRH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

this place gives you the feel of personal touch to your details. the combination of resturants and ambiance is relaxing and unique for each visit. the night look aura is incredible ewith the kids loving the exquiste swiming pool and details to pool surroundings.... the magistic entrance encloses the wonder inside where you will be for the time and not feel to explore outside the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G1J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 30 May 2011
Dear G1J,

Greeting from the Shiv Niwas Palace,

Thank you so much for taking out the time to share your experience at our hotels with us. Your review helps us reassure that we are doing the right things and makes us strive to serve you better everytime you stay with us.

We do look forward to welcome you soon again at the HRH Group of Hotels.

Warm regards,
HRH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

I had the most awesome experience at the Shiv Niwas Palace , the room was charming and breakfast to be remembered.

The staff was really great..

The restaurant by the lake was something to enjoy the nic eevening which was just incredible . The kakabs and wine were just perfect.

Thanks guys.. will come again

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TianStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, General Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Shiv Niwas Palace

Thank you for taking time to share your wonderful experience at Shiv Niwas Palace.

It is a pleasure to know that your stay was comfortable & memorable.

Best wishes for you & your family and hope to have you with us once again at Udaipur.

Warm Regards
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midalnds uk
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

My other half and I spent two weeks touring Rajasthan, generally staying in homestays. The half way point of the journey was in Udaipur so we thought we'd splash out on a bit of luxury at the Shiv Niwas, so we booked 2 nights in a terrace suite for £290 a night. Included meals and some other extras.

All started well when we arrived as we were upgraded to a nice royal suite. The room itself was lovely. That's about where the good news ends...

The hotel and palace were undergoing a complete renovation, which went on through to abuot sunset. So sitting outside anywhere was not possible. The lure of being in the royal surroundings was negated by this. Just to be clear, the place is a building site and unlikely to be finished for months, espectially if you consider the Indian performance re the Delhi Commonwealth Games and the Cricket World Cup fiascos!!!

There was a wedding at the palace for the two nights we were then. The parking for this was thoughtfully outside our hotel window! So all we heard all night was engines, horns and the attendant's whistle!!

Also, due to the wedding, we were unable to reach Jagmandir Island and the sight and sound show was cancelled three days in a row.

I complained about this after night one and was eventually moved to another room, but still had complete night time interuption and obviously this did not deal with the noise of the renovations. The mgt were kind enough to offer a bottle of Indian wine by way of apology!!!

Finally, the food was the worst we had tasted on the entire holiday.

I raised all of these points by email but the HRH Hotel group have not even bothered replying to me.

DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BobbyBillyClint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berlin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

From the moment we approached the hotel from the driveway where we had our first view of a delapidated building to the moment we arrived in the odd smelling 1970s time warped reception area of this so called 5 star hotel!! we realised that we had made a huge mistake. This hotel looks nothing like the hotel on the website. It is a run down badly managed delapidated building and furnishings to match. The place had no atmosphere and the rooms were in terrible condition. We asked to be moved from the first cell that we were offered and had to pay an extra 100 pounds per night for a suite which was huge, run down, out of date and had a bed that would have been better suited to a psychiatric ward than to a lake view suite in a hotel. The dining room was dreadful and my school dinners were better than what was served or spilled over you. The only good thing about the hotel was our view from the second room we took. We would have moved out if we had not paid 100% in advance for the room. There were building works all over the place, scaffolding, noisy workmen and the place was in chaos. The Maharana who owns the palace hotel is marrying off his daughter in March and so doing a massive botch up job on the exterior and parts of the grounds (nothing to improve the dwindling standards of the facilities in the rooms or bathrooms which do not bare talking about). After this marriage takes place he is selling out to a hotel group. Jolly good job too because he has totally mismanaged and ripped off guests who have arrived up till now. We should have been given some kind of refund but were not of course. The place is just a tragedy. DO NOT STAY HERE. It was supposed to be a romantic few days in a glorious place. We spent most of our time trying to stay away and only returning very late at night to sleep in the metal bed that looked like scaffolding and shower and bath in the archaic bathroom which had a yellowing blow dryer from another century with a socket that did not work, a toilet that did not flush properly, a bath that had mastic filler haphazardly around it where it had seen better days, fungus around one side, greying towels and toilet paper that was more like wartime newspaper than loo roll. They definitely had not heard of ANDREX! Definitely the worst place we have ever stayed and we are really flexible people and not demanding but this was truly the worst experience we have ever had.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lisaberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, General Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 31 January 2011
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Shiv Niwas Palace.

Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us by posting a constructive review to upgrade the quality of room and facilities.

Your concern has been conveyed to our team to initiate the remedial and corrective measures and we ensure that it will be dealt sincerely by us to provide a faultless and delightful stay to our esteemed guests like you.

Please accept our apologies, being a heritage building it needs great attention while refurbishment, as it should not be a modification, which will be truly unfair to heritage culture admirers. Likewise new rooms extension is to serve and accommodate maximum guests who can cherish their memorable stay with us.

Glad to learn that you enjoyed the breathtaking magnificent views of Lake Pichola from your room.


Best wishes for you and your family and look forward to have you with us once again at Udaipur.

Regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
211 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. The first two were in a room overlooking the city (not particularly scenic), the third was in a room overlooking Lake Pichola (spectacular). The restaurant was very good. The staff was extremely helpful. There was a little fumbling with our reservation when we first arrived, but after that everything was good.

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ipeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, General Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 8 February 2011
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Shiv Niwas Palace.

Thank you for taking time to share your wonderful experience with us and encouraging our team with your good words.

Best wishes for you and your family and hope to have you once again with us at Udaipur.

Warm Regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Fateh Prakash Palace
Fateh Prakash Palace
#28 of 151 in Udaipur
403 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.9 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 151 in Udaipur
2,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 151 in Udaipur
2,870 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#15 of 151 in Udaipur
681 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiv Niwas Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiv Niwas Palace

Property: Shiv Niwas Palace
Address: The City Palace, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#19 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#23 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shiv Niwas Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shiv Niwas Palace offers beautiful, yet differing suites and rooms to choose from 17 individually decorated suites carry original furniture and portraits that have been with the royal family for generations. All the suites look out onto the natural panorama of Udaipur. Unparalleled splendor and spaciousness characterise each room.Guests to Shiv Niwas Palace like to return time and again. The hospitality is unchanged from the not-so-distant times when Shiv Niwas Palace was a royal guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shiv Niwas Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiv Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Shiv Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing