We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shiv Niwas Palace Hotel : Most lovely and wonderful place in Rajasthan.”
Review of Shiv Niwas Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shiv Niwas Palace
Ranked #34 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shiv Niwas Palace Hotel : Most lovely and wonderful place in Rajasthan.”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I cannot forget the best living experience I had staying in this beautiful place for 4 days and 3 nights. It was a complete royal treatment entering through the large king-size doors of the palace, good Indian and continental Rajasthan food, spacious rooms with breathtaking view, awesome place and awesome people around. Overlooking from the palace gave you good views across and whichever way you looked, the view was truly scenic, panoramic and breathtaking especially the lakes which keeps you gazing for long. The large pool is really beautiful and gracefully landscaped.

This place is truly traditional , takes you back to royal days and very authentic. The architecture and interiors speak of royal traditions which is mandate for every people to understand as it has its own beauty and charisma.The entire area and the palace is well maintained and offers memorable viewing and visiting experience which is worth a visit of a lifetime that you can't afford to ignore. Truly a perfect royal visit for everyone

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Himalaya k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear Himalaya k ,

Greetings from Shiv Niwas Palace.

We are ecstatic to read your review on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to read and know that you had an enjoyable, comfortable and memorable stay with us.

Thank you very much for your kind words expressing and sharing your experiences at our hotel its ambiance, location and the services. Your feedback inspires us to keep following the path that makes our guest feel special.

Thank you again for taking out the time, sharing your much valuable feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you soon at our hotels and create another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    135
    55
    32
    28
See reviews for
139
181
28
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This place is just amazing. The entrance is royal with king-size doors of the palace. You can still feel the palace which is quite untouched . Its just 5 minutes drive from the railway station. The view from room is lake palace , jag mandir and lake pichola. Very refreshing. The food is just awesome. They offer you almost everything Indian and continental. Rajasthan is well known for hospitality and Shiv Niwas is a great example. The hotel has a beautiful pool with great landscaping. They also have a billiards and squash room. The hotel also provides golf cart to visit the city palace which is walking distance from here. The rooms are big and well maintained. they have individual wifi in each room. It is a life time experience to have a feel of royalty. We had dinner at Jag mandir, which is again beautiful. Overall a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanju2067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Sanju2067,

Greetings from Shiv Niwas Palace.

We are happy to know that you had an enjoyable, comfortable stay with us and you liked our courteous staff. We are also very happy to see the pictures you have uploaded along with the review. It sure does say you had a great time and we are ecstatic to know that!

Thank you so much for taking out the time, sharing your much valuable feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you soon at our hotels and create another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rajkot, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We have visited shiv niwas palace on 10th to 12th august 2012,

they are giving other rooms bill to us,

they informe us that you have complimantery brackfast. after that they have givin bill to 4700,00rs

they give laundry bill to us worth rs 1700.00 which we never done that,

staff are very arrogant, and not replying properly

room size is small, and they are not maintaining room aminitys, fan was rusted.

security staff was arrogant,

parking is far away from hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluesky_0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear bluesky_0504,

Greetings from Shiv Niwas Palace.

We wish to thank you for your review on TripAdvisor regarding your experiences at Shiv Niwas Palace and sincerely regret the same. We are looking into this issue and would ensure that it does not recur to cause any inconvenience to our esteemed guests like you.

Your comment has made us realize that we have to strive harder and work towards ensuring faultless hospitality and zero-defect service all the time.

We still look forward to have you back with us and create a beautiful and memorable journey for you this time.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durban
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

very beautiful hotel near lake. rooms were lovely, spacious, with small patios. dinner in my own patio with my family was special. Staff were great. loved it!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fs30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear fs30,

Greetings from Shiv Niwas Palace.

We are happy to know that you had an enjoyable, comfortable stay with us and you liked our courteous staff. Thank you so much for taking out the time, sharing your much valuable feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you soon at our hotels and create another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indore, India
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Great hotel to stay if you want to feel like real "Rajasthans heritage type accommodation" Hotel belongs to Royal family which also owns - Jagmandir island hotel & lake palace, udaipur.
Hotel is beautifully crafted with modern amenities - they also have a superb pool to chill you down in summers; food is just brilliant you can google some royal rajasthani dishes and amazingly they are available on their menu...

i recommend this hotel if want to stay in heritage kind of place and also if your budget allows it.

Room Tip: Rooms are available on two sides of palace (1) Valley facing (2) Lake facing... if you are travellin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABHISHEK R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear ABHISHEK R,

Greetings from Gajner Palace.

We are so happy to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and you enjoyed your time at our historic Palace. We aim at making our guests feel special along with giving a Rajasthani as well as royal touch at our palace. It is a pleasure to know that you loved our effort in what we aim at.

Thank you so much for taking out the time and sharing your much valuable feedback. Also, thank you for sharing beautiful clicks of the property and sharing them with us.

We look forward to welcoming you soon at our hotels and create another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

On a recent family trip to Udaipur, we booked 2 nights at Shiv Niwas and 2 nights at Oberoi Udaivillas. We specifically booked Shiv Niwas as we wanted to stay in the Palace complex for 1/2 our stay.....and booked about 5 months in advance. 48 hours before our arrival we rec'd an e-mail that "due to an overbooking situation" we were to be moved to Jag-Mandir Island hotel (another hotel in Shiv Niwas group) but would be given suites as compensation. All-in-all, it was a very disappointing situation. We did spend some time at the Shiv Niwas pool, and the place was a ghost town. There was no evidence of a single other guest in the property....so the "overbooking situation" was very suspicious. As for the Jag-Mandir, I have posted a review there as well (summary: DO NOT STAY there)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Busterbud_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Busterbud_Sydney,

Greetings from Shiv Niwas Palace, Udaipur.

Thank you for your review regarding your stay at our hotel, we have made a note of the same and regret the inconvenience caused due to the hotel change offered to you
Despite of your experience, we do look forward to welcoming you back and creating a memorable historical journey at the HRH Group of Hotels.

Warm regards,
HRH Team HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We absolutely loved Udaipur and this hotel too! Staying in an old palace, made our trip around India truly special. There is a great old charm at this hotel, the furnishings are as you would expect a palace to be, so don't expect a modern hotel with modern furnishings. The room was large and the bathroom too. We had an amazing view of the lake and the lake palace hotel. The food here was the best that we had in any hotel in India. Table service was a nice change to a buffet and the continental and indian food were both high class! On the morning of our departure, we had a full breakfast served to us in our room at 4am- great service!

Udaipur is a magical place and this hotel is a great place to explore the palace since you're right in it! The spa area was also good, and I enjoyed a lovely facial.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aroundtheworld0624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear aroundtheworld0624,

Greetings from Shiv Niwas Palace.

We are delighted to know you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at out historic hotels. Thank you for sharing your much valuable feedback with us.

Your feedback helps us restore our belief that we are on the right path of serving our guests and preserving our heritage.

We look forward to serve you at our hotel soon to create yet another amazing memory for you.

Warm Regards,
HRH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Fateh Prakash Palace
Fateh Prakash Palace
#32 of 157 in Udaipur
419 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.9 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 157 in Udaipur
2,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#22 of 157 in Udaipur
1,048 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#17 of 157 in Udaipur
324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 157 in Udaipur
2,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiv Niwas Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiv Niwas Palace

Property: Shiv Niwas Palace
Address: The City Palace, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#19 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#23 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shiv Niwas Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shiv Niwas Palace offers beautiful, yet differing suites and rooms to choose from 17 individually decorated suites carry original furniture and portraits that have been with the royal family for generations. All the suites look out onto the natural panorama of Udaipur. Unparalleled splendor and spaciousness characterise each room.Guests to Shiv Niwas Palace like to return time and again. The hospitality is unchanged from the not-so-distant times when Shiv Niwas Palace was a royal guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shiv Niwas Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiv Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Shiv Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing