We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Group swopped us at the last minute!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shiv Niwas Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shiv Niwas Palace
Ranked #33 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
164 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Hotel Group swopped us at the last minute!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

This hotel is certainly charming and within the confines of the Royal Palace. Our suite had 8 marble floored rooms however we had no lake view as expected. We were booked into the Fateh Prakash Palace and changed at the last minute! A complimentary bottle of wine arrived when I complained.
if you stay here do make use of the golf cart to whizz you around the extensive compound and have a drink at the Sunset Bar overlooking the lake . We also enjoyed dinner at this restaurant.
As two singles we would have preferred two single srather than one very large bed! Delightful bath robes..Can they be purchased?

Room Tip: Request a lake view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiGranNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear KiwiGranNewZealand,

Greetings from Shiv Niwas Palace, Udaipur.

It is a delight to know you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at our hotel. Thank you for taking out time and sharing your experiences during your stay at our hotel. We would also like to thank you for appreciating the bathrobe. You can buy it when you are at one of our hotels next time.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    131
    54
    32
    28
See reviews for
134
179
27
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

It is worth noting that the exterior of this property has been recently painted and refurbished in preparation for the marriage of the prince of Udaipur in January. The royal palace is right next to the hotel. This property offers the best views of the lake if you book a lakeside room. Many elaborate wedding processions start near this hotel and are exciting to see. The food in the hotel is mediocre. Beware if you have trouble climbing stairs. Many of the suites with the best room are not accessible by elevator. The stairs to reach them are steep but al least there are handrails.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktw53721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear ktw53721,

Greetings from Shiv Niwas Palace, Udaipur.

We thank you for taking out time and sharing your experiences during your stay at our hotel. We are glad to know you liked the property, views and location of our hotel.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Me and my wife were travelling to celebrate our first anniversary and had an amazing experience at the Hotel. The view is breathtaking and the hotel staff was very courteous. Being in the City Palace is an advantage as most of the places to see in Udaipur are inside the city palace itself.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Varun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Varun M,

Greetings from Shiv Niwas Palace, Udaipur.

We are very happy to know that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at our hotel. Thank you for taking out time and sharing your experiences during your stay at our hotel.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

A great refuge in Udaipur at the very top of the town. Beautiful views, an outrageously good restaurant, wonderful service. Dinner by the pool, which I did several times, was a wonderful experience.

The basic rooms are nothing great but the suites are spectacular. I was fortunate to get upgraded for my entire five day stay. The travel desk arranged a car and driver to see the sights outside of Udaipur as well as arranged a ride to and from the air[port.

Room Tip: I think that any of the suites are great. The basic rooms have a decent view but are nothing to wri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear J S,

Greetings from Shiv Niwas Palace, Udaipur.

Thank you for taking out time and sharing your experiences during your stay at our hotel. We are indeed pleased to know that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at our hotel. This makes us realize we are on the right track of serving our guests.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a palace room, with the room itself being the only cause for complaint during our stay. As a heritage property, the room itself (doors, floors, bathroom and enclosed balcony) is charming, but - despite the description promising a kingsize bed - the two twin beds pushed together were soft/sagging and gave a very poor sleep, not helped by the location of the room being bordered front and back by a palace entry road with a lot of early-morning noise and activity. Our bathroom was decent size and quality, but seemed to share water pressure with neighbouring rooms on the same terrace, causing us both to nearly scald ourselves when a neighbour was also using the water - not very safe...

Aside from these issues with the room, the setting and the property itself is stunning, and the restaurants within the hotel and elsewhere in the palace grounds (which can all be billed back to your room tab) offered good food and variety. The Sunset View restaurant is great at sunset, obviously, but also has great views of Jag Mandir and the Taj hotel after dark and during the day. The pool area is serene, with beautiful huge trees at either end. Staying within the palace is obviously convenient for visiting the museum and palace grounds, and the grounds themselves are very photogenic and well maintained, and walking the grounds is quite relaxing (away from the tourist-heavy museum section of the palace).

Going on other reviews, I'd recommend booking a pool or lake view room. While the palace rooms are substantially cheaper, they're still not cheap, and in hindsight we wished we'd splashed the cash to ensure our once-in-a-lifetime visit to wonderful Udaipur was perfect. As it was, we loved Udaipur, we loved the hotel as a whole, but were disappointed with our choice of room.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, we think pool/lake view rooms would be worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscomBob76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear DiscomBob76,

Greetings from Shiv Niwas Palace, Udaipur.

We deeply thank you for taking out time and sharing your detailed experiences of your stay at our hotel. An inspiration and encouraging review like this, reassures us we are on the right track of serving our guests.

Thank you very much for your kind words expressing and sharing your experiences at our hotel its ambiance, location, the services. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Where should I start? I stayed with my family (5 adults) for 3 nights and loved every moment of it! The hotel is the erstwhile guest wing for Royal guests and we felt royal indeed! We were there to celebrate my mother's 50th birthday and were upgraded to 2 suites upon arrival. The Manager Mr. Subramaniam greeted us on arrival and we really felt very welcome indeed. The view from the rooms is splendid as being part of the main Castle / Fort of Udaipur it commands the best spot in the city on top of a hill. You are in the same complex as all the tourist attractions and can explore them at leisure (take a room package which includes the tour tickets!). The golf carts exclusively for use by the hotel guests are most useful (although the drivers can put an F1 Fellow to shame...so hold on tight).

The rooms are HUGE!! It gives you an idea on what royalty lives like. They are clean comfortable and luxurious. There is a massive walk in wardrobe, pantry and study! The bathroom is perfectly fine as well (Don't see what other folks are complaining about!). The food at all the restaurants is really really good irrespective of cuisine. And the bar with its opulent interiors is perfect to watch a sunset from while sipping a drink.

But what really really sets this property apart is its staff. Some of them have been there for 30 years and more and really make you feel as if you are living in their own home. The personal touch and famed Mewari hospitality is evident throughout. They will remember your choice of tea, coffee, drink and no request is too much or impossible for them to complete. They really pampered us with free cakes and flowers on the birthday dinner, organized a special meal at the stunning Jag Mandir and were willing to do even more but sadly we had to leave. The massage at the spa was amazing too!

We visited the newer 5 star properties of the Leela and Udai Vilas for meals and while they are stunning they do not have the authenticity or romance or an old-world feel that the the Shiv Niwas does. The staff may be immaculate and professional but no where as warm as the Shiv Niwas folk!

Mr. Subramaniam, Vikram, Ganpat Singh, Parbat Singh, staff at the Breakfast room and bar...you made our stay amazing! Thank you..

If you really want an authentic royal Rajasthan experience do stay here..after all you are staying in a REAL Palace!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite or a room facing the lake..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear ashroff,

Greetings from Shiv Niwas Palace, Udaipur.

Let us start by thanking you for taking out time and sharing your detailed experiences of your stay at our hotel.

Receiving and reading this feedback is so inspirational and delightful. This makes us realize we are on the right track of serving our guests.

Thank you very much for your kind words expressing and sharing your experiences at our hotel its ambiance, location, the services and our staffs attentiveness.
We are indeed pleased to know that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
356 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile




Booking late for hotel accommodation at Diwali time can be an issue and we had knowingly accepted a rather cramped room for the thee of us at this first class hotel.
Perhaps it was because we were rather squashed that we were offered an upgrade to a larger room which provided a simply magnificent view over the lake. Thank you !
Otherwise, the highlights included the breakfasts which whilst not offering the range of the Imperial in Delhi were of the same quality ; especially good to have homemade muesli.
There is a lovely pool in a peaceful courtyard.
If you are there at Diwali you also have the benefit of the firework display in the palace grounds.
Wifi is free and of good quality.
Obviously the hotel is very located for the palace museum, tour and lake.
The staff ,especially in reception are first class.This is clearly a well managed hotel.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Nicholas G,

Greetings from Shiv Niwas Palace, Udaipur.

We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant and memorable stay at our hotel. Thank you for taking out the time and sharing your experiences with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Fateh Prakash Palace
Fateh Prakash Palace
#28 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.9 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,877 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiv Niwas Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiv Niwas Palace

Property: Shiv Niwas Palace
Address: The City Palace, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#19 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#23 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shiv Niwas Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shiv Niwas Palace offers beautiful, yet differing suites and rooms to choose from 17 individually decorated suites carry original furniture and portraits that have been with the royal family for generations. All the suites look out onto the natural panorama of Udaipur. Unparalleled splendor and spaciousness characterise each room.Guests to Shiv Niwas Palace like to return time and again. The hospitality is unchanged from the not-so-distant times when Shiv Niwas Palace was a royal guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shiv Niwas Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiv Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Shiv Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing