We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad !!”
Review of Shiv Niwas Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shiv Niwas Palace
Ranked #37 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“not bad !!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

the hotel is little bit costly
its not give full of return that you paid for
not full of value of money
the location is awesome
the rooms are nice
the staff is ok
the lack point is service
the best thing about is its location and the views of the city from your room

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meetthakkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear meetthakkar,

Greetings from Shiv Niwas Palace, Udaipur.

Thank you for taking out your time and reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. Your review will help us overcome mentioned flaws & ensuring memorable stay for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create a memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    132
    54
    32
    28
See reviews for
137
180
28
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at the Shiv Niwas Palace in December 2013. The hotel had been booked as part of a tour package, and our accommodation was disappointing after some of the superb heritage hotels we'd stayed in elsewhere in Rajasthan. Having read some of the other reviews, I can only surmise that we were booked into the standard rooms which were very ordinary. The rooms were fairly basic, and certainly dated, and the beds - as others have attested - sagged. Likewise we found our welcome at reception to be fairly lukewarm. The restaurant was fine, and the service attentive, but not particularly impressive otherwise. The best thing about the hotel is the location which is very central, and the views towards the hotel from a distance are magnificent. All in all, not awful, but not great either. If I were to return to Udaipur I would try to find something better.

Room Tip: Avoid the standard rooms if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherinec188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Catherine C,

Greetings from Shiv Niwas Palace, Udaipur.

Thank you for taking out your precious time and writing a much valued review for us.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create a memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
298 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Cannot praise the hotel or the staff highly enough. We are staying at a haveli across the lake but popped over for the Christmas Eve gala ball. The Maharana was there with his family.

Food was incredible, service was impeccable spot on guys...

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Richard P,

Greetings from Shiv Niwas Palace, Udaipur.

We thank you for taking out time and writing a review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know you like our special Christmas arrangements. This makes us feel we are on the right track of serving our guests.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I was not planning to book this hotel as it was little costly and rating was also not top most but this hotel and specially the staff surprised us. We got a warm welcome from the staff and for the 2 days we stayed in this hotel the service was exceptional. The Hotel is in City Palace compound which itself was the plus point. The breakfast include many india option and of top quality.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nik_Arora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Nik_Arora,

Greetings from Shiv Niwas Palace, Udaipur.

We are glad you liked staying with us.
Serving our guests in the best possible manner is what we strive for. We thank you for taking out time and writing a review of our hotel.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
177 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This hotel is certainly charming and within the confines of the Royal Palace. Our suite had 8 marble floored rooms however we had no lake view as expected. We were booked into the Fateh Prakash Palace and changed at the last minute! A complimentary bottle of wine arrived when I complained.
if you stay here do make use of the golf cart to whizz you around the extensive compound and have a drink at the Sunset Bar overlooking the lake . We also enjoyed dinner at this restaurant.
As two singles we would have preferred two single srather than one very large bed! Delightful bath robes..Can they be purchased?

Room Tip: Request a lake view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiGranNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear KiwiGranNewZealand,

Greetings from Shiv Niwas Palace, Udaipur.

It is a delight to know you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at our hotel. Thank you for taking out time and sharing your experiences during your stay at our hotel. We would also like to thank you for appreciating the bathrobe. You can buy it when you are at one of our hotels next time.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

It is worth noting that the exterior of this property has been recently painted and refurbished in preparation for the marriage of the prince of Udaipur in January. The royal palace is right next to the hotel. This property offers the best views of the lake if you book a lakeside room. Many elaborate wedding processions start near this hotel and are exciting to see. The food in the hotel is mediocre. Beware if you have trouble climbing stairs. Many of the suites with the best room are not accessible by elevator. The stairs to reach them are steep but al least there are handrails.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktw53721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear ktw53721,

Greetings from Shiv Niwas Palace, Udaipur.

We thank you for taking out time and sharing your experiences during your stay at our hotel. We are glad to know you liked the property, views and location of our hotel.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Me and my wife were travelling to celebrate our first anniversary and had an amazing experience at the Hotel. The view is breathtaking and the hotel staff was very courteous. Being in the City Palace is an advantage as most of the places to see in Udaipur are inside the city palace itself.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Varun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shiv Niwas Palace, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Varun M,

Greetings from Shiv Niwas Palace, Udaipur.

We are very happy to know that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at our hotel. Thank you for taking out time and sharing your experiences during your stay at our hotel.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Fateh Prakash Palace
Fateh Prakash Palace
#28 of 156 in Udaipur
409 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.9 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 156 in Udaipur
2,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#23 of 156 in Udaipur
1,040 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#18 of 156 in Udaipur
316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 156 in Udaipur
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiv Niwas Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiv Niwas Palace

Property: Shiv Niwas Palace
Address: The City Palace, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#19 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#23 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shiv Niwas Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shiv Niwas Palace offers beautiful, yet differing suites and rooms to choose from 17 individually decorated suites carry original furniture and portraits that have been with the royal family for generations. All the suites look out onto the natural panorama of Udaipur. Unparalleled splendor and spaciousness characterise each room.Guests to Shiv Niwas Palace like to return time and again. The hospitality is unchanged from the not-so-distant times when Shiv Niwas Palace was a royal guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Fastbooking, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shiv Niwas Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiv Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Shiv Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing