We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the real recidence of the king”
Review of Shiv Niwas Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shiv Niwas Palace
Ranked #35 of 153 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
177 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“the real recidence of the king”
Reviewed 30 April 2009

this place makes you feel that u staying with the king, food is good and obviuosly expensive.... you in the king's recidence god dammit!!
overall a good stay and good location, just within the city palace. the view of the pichola lake is nice and the city palace museum is a must watch....

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank anujdubey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    131
    54
    32
    28
See reviews for
135
180
27
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2009

We had 3 nights at the Shiv Niwas in gorgeous Udaipur as a part of our 2 and a half weeks tour of Rajasthan. This was a real highlight for us. We were delighted to be upgraded to Room 17, the Imperial Suite and what a suite it is. The room/s are enormous with spectacular views of Lake Pichola. We were gobsmacked by the wonderful high camp interiors - so many amazing pieces of furniture, art works etc. Added to that the staff were extremely attentive and charming. Shiv Niwas is a character hotel with some fantastic attributes. We felt part of the history of the oldest royal lineage in the world.

  • Liked — The character of the hotel - it's genuine heritage
  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonEscapists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

Shiv Niwas is the newest of the palaces amongst the many palaces in the palace complest at Udaipur. We stayed at the terrace suite and it gives you a wonderful view of the lake and makes you feel very powerful as it also overlooks the Lake palace and the jagmandir palace. The suite is well laid out with a jacuzzi, private terrace and a balcony. Food is good with a choice of restaurants and cuisines. The Chef also improvised immensely to suit our taste.
A great place that makes you feel special

  • Liked — The Room
  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rohit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jekyll Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
425 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2009

We stayed in Room #21 in the Palace Complex that contains three hotels. We were greeted with beautiful flower leis upon check-in. Our room had homemade cookies, fruit, and complimentary water. Reception staff had excellent customer service skills. Our room had a private enclosed porch that overlooked the city. Room was very plain, but comfortable otherwise. Internet was available at 300 rupees for an hour. Beautiful pool area. Restaurant was kind of pricey. We ate dinner one night in the nearby town and our total bill including 2 beers was less than what we paid for 2 cups of tea at the hotel. There's several restaurants to choose from in the palace complex, as well as shops, and in the evenings a sound and light show spotlights the royality that still lives here and their history in Udaipur.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2009

Warm welcome on arrival with an upgrade to a Royal Suite which was had a four poster bed, antique furniture and stunning views of Lake Pichchola. The central location was very handy for boat trips on the lake and visiting most the "must see "sights of Udaipur which were within easy walking distance.
The food provided was good with breakfast being superb, specially the quality and veriety of fruit and fruit juices provided. Dinner was under the stars by an ornamental pool to the accompaniment of local musicians.
It was a priviledge to spend a few days in such truly "royal" surroundings and is something I would love to repeat funds permitting!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPMWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Fateh Prakash Palace
Fateh Prakash Palace
#28 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.9 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 153 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,908 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#14 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiv Niwas Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiv Niwas Palace

Property: Shiv Niwas Palace
Address: The City Palace, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#19 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#23 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shiv Niwas Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shiv Niwas Palace offers beautiful, yet differing suites and rooms to choose from 17 individually decorated suites carry original furniture and portraits that have been with the royal family for generations. All the suites look out onto the natural panorama of Udaipur. Unparalleled splendor and spaciousness characterise each room.Guests to Shiv Niwas Palace like to return time and again. The hospitality is unchanged from the not-so-distant times when Shiv Niwas Palace was a royal guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shiv Niwas Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiv Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Shiv Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing