We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting Stay in an Enchanting Palace”
Review of Shiv Niwas Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shiv Niwas Palace
Ranked #36 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    132
    54
    32
    28
See reviews for
136
180
28
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Beautiful rooms, extraordinary views, attentive staff, excellent food, phenomenal location. You couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliabro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2009

What is there to say that hasn't been said. This hotel is simply amazing. The service, food, location, they were all absolutely stunning. We woke up early in the morning for photos and it's just a beautiful location that overlooks the city on one side and the ajoining property overlooks the lake palace.

Spa was excellent according to my GF and the breakfast was good. The staff was very attentive and the room service was also great. No complaints at all, on the contrary, it was all amazing.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBrendanDotCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
309 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2009

We had no idea until we arrived that this hotel is actually part of a living, breathing palace complex - there's this hotel, another, a palace that's a museum and a palace of the Maharaja of Udaipur. Magic. Words cannot describe the beauty of the buildings or the setting on the banks of Lake Pichola. What is also great is that there are only 36 (if I remember accurately) rooms, so the atmosphere is surprisingly intimate and the service is ultra personal - within hours of arrival the staff have remembered your name. Dinner at the Sunset View Terrace is the ultimate in romantic: tasty, imaginative food, the lake view and live classical Indian music. I would willingly spend 2 weeks in this hotel. Anybody who doesn't appreciate this hotel must be a spoilt brat! So there! (Reference to some of the mealy mouthed reviews on this site). It is fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidHector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

We had high expectations for this hotel for our honeymoon. All of them were dashed. The service was subpar, with staff being extremely rude and unhelpful. You have to call room service at least three times before they get you what you are asking for. It took us an hour just to get a roll of toilet paper.

They promise you the stars but when it comes to deliver they fail miserably. We signed up and paid for a luxury tour offered by the hotel which promised us an English-speaking guide and an air-conditioned car just for the two of us. Instead we were stuck in a shared coach (no air-conditioning in 100-degree heat) that took about 2 hours just to pick up passengers from other hotels.

Finally, as we were checking out to go catch our flight back, the hotel gave us a bill with charges for extras that we never ordered or used. My wife went for a 1 hour massage that was supposed to cost $70. The bill came out to $200. There were all kinds of extra charges for phone calls, laundry, imaginary meals. In total, we were overcharged about $450. When we complained to the manager, we were told that we would not be allowed to leave the hotel until we pay. They forced us to pay in order to get out of there.

This is a hotel to avoid at all costs. They turn on the charm when trying to get guests to spend money and turn nasty when it comes to deliver.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raymondcold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata , India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Absolute lovey view . We stayed for 1 day only in a Suite overlooking Lake Palace and Jagmandir . View was breathtaking . Specially in night when lights come up on Lake palce and Jagmandir .
Though not modern Hotel but with Royal Touch it was nice
We loved there courtsey and smiles throughout our stay .
Sun Set Reasutarant is not to be missed specially at sun set time
Another must have should be English tea in afternoon they serve at Durbar Hall .

.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmartAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Fateh Prakash Palace
Fateh Prakash Palace
#27 of 156 in Udaipur
408 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.9 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 156 in Udaipur
2,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#23 of 156 in Udaipur
1,040 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#18 of 156 in Udaipur
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 156 in Udaipur
2,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiv Niwas Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiv Niwas Palace

Property: Shiv Niwas Palace
Address: The City Palace, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#19 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#23 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shiv Niwas Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shiv Niwas Palace offers beautiful, yet differing suites and rooms to choose from 17 individually decorated suites carry original furniture and portraits that have been with the royal family for generations. All the suites look out onto the natural panorama of Udaipur. Unparalleled splendor and spaciousness characterise each room.Guests to Shiv Niwas Palace like to return time and again. The hospitality is unchanged from the not-so-distant times when Shiv Niwas Palace was a royal guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shiv Niwas Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiv Niwas Palace Udaipur
Hotel Shiv Niwas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing