We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful ambience and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fateh Prakash Palace
Ranked #28 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
rome
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful ambience and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

The hotel was fabulously located on Pichola lake. We were given two rooms with interconnecting lounge which were lovely. View over the lake was amazing. Rooms were very large and had dressing rooms and huge bathroom. Staff were very helpful and accommodating. Restaurant was outdoors and as we were there in mid February it was cold and night and in the mornings. One night it was too cold to eat there so we had to go over the road to another hotel to eat indoors. That would be my only negative comment. It would have been nice to have option to eat indoors.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fateh Prakash Palace, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear kerry b,

Greetings from Fateh Prakash Palace, Udaipur.


Thank you for taking out your precious time and writing a much valued review for us.

Kindly accept our gratitude for your kind words about Fateh Prakash Palace. We are committed to serve flawlessly to our valued customers like you. We ensure you, we are taking corrective steps for the errors mentioned by you in our services to regain your confidence in us.

We look forward to welcome you at our hotel once again and create a beautiful memory for you.


Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    117
    42
    22
    16
See reviews for
118
150
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We just loved this hotel, and its location! It was all a bit like living a fairy tale, at the same time close to one of the city´s busy shopping areas. The hotel staff was very friendly, helpful and always ready to assist. For breakfast and dinner we enjoyed the restaurant´s great food and fabulous lake view.

Eva and Sarat Samanta
Skeppargatan
Stockholm, Sweden

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tilly3209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fateh Prakash Palace, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Tilly3209,

Greetings from Fateh Prakash Palace, Udaipur.

Thank you for taking out time and sharing your experiences during your stay at our hotel. We are indeed pleased to know that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at our hotel. This makes us realize we are on the right track of serving our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back and create a memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bombay
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

This review is about the Dovecote Restaurant situated just outside the Fateh Prakash Palace. The Fateh Prakash Palace itself is located in the City Palace Complex, right by the Pichola Lake.

Dovecote is the open air restaurant managed by Fateh Prakash Palace. The restaurant is situated on the banks of the Pichola lake and serves an assortment of Asian and Indian cuisine along with hot and cold beverages. Access to the restaurant is allowed to outsiders except on certain days. So it is best to call before you go.

We reached the restaurant at about 7 in the evening, just after sunset. The orange of the setting sun was still lingering in the skies, reflected beautifully in the Pichola Lake below. Most of the best properties in Udaipur are visible from the restaurant. As night started setting in, the lights of the Udai Vilas Palace and the Leela Palace came on, bestowing a royal feel feel to the Lake. The lights of the faraway Sajjangarh Fort came on soon after, followed by a little display of fireworks.

The Lake Palace Hotel appears just a stone throw away from the restaurant in the middle of the Pichola Lake, majestic as ever. Boats going to and fro the hotel were appearing as silhouettes on the little ripples that the wind created on the surface of the Lake.

Jagat Mandir, another hotel in the middle of the lake was brightly lit up. We were told that they have a cover charge of Rs 2,700 per couple for entry which can be adjusted against dinner. We didn't do that as we were short on time, but it seems like a good option.

Coming back to Dovecote, the food options are limited but what they served was good. Staff was courteous. At about 7.45, the musicians, maybe hidden in one of the Palace recesses started playing the ektara and a couple of other instruments. The music just completed the scene. Sitting in Dovecote on the banks of the Pichola lake, the evening breeze for company, dwarfed by the the high walls of the Palace, the subtle lighting and the Mewar music, transported us to an era much before our times. We felt like we were in ancient Mewar; maybe not Kings but Nobles atleast.

Cost of light snacks and beverages for 5 - Rs 4000.
Cost of experiencing a Royal evening in ancient Mewar - PRICELESS!!

Must do when in Udaipur.

Room Tip: Call before you go the restaurant. It is not open for outsiders on certain days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TheDiscoverer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fateh Prakash Palace, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear TheDiscoverer,

Greetings from Fateh Prakash Palace, Udaipur.

It is a pleasure to read your review on TripAdvisor. Receiving and reading this feedback is so inspirational and delightful. This makes us realize we are on the right track of serving our guests. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at our hotel.

Also, thank you for sharing your travel pictures with us. We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

The wonderful thing of both Sriv Nivas Palace Hotel and Fateh Prakash Palace Hotel is that you feel as a a guest of the Royal family in their home and not in a luxury hotel. The luxury in fact is the understatement.
It is true that their might be a few small issues that other travellers point out as negative but they are compensated by the wonderful atmosphere, the friendly staff, the great food , the spectacular views and by staying in the City Palace complex. They have also a wonderful spa called the Tattva.
The traditional Indian massage by therapist Bobby Kumar is exceptional!
I always keep returning to this magnificent property.

Room Tip: All the rooms that have the lake view are excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank cmundy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fateh Prakash Palace, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear cmundy777,

Greetings from Fateh Prakash Palace, Udaipur.

You keep returning to this property and we love to serve you on your each visit! It's a pleasure to know esteemed guests like you enjoy our hotel, ambiance, location, services and spa. It looks like we are on the right track of serving our guests. We would like to thank you for taking out time and sharing your experiences with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back and create another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We loved this hotel. It is part of the City Palace complex and therefore is in the best possible location. The main museum is on the doorstep and the bustling town is 5 minutes walk away. The hotel has fabulous views over the lake and the rooms are charmingly old fashioned but extremely comfortable as befits a palace. If you want to use the pool, it is a short walk away in a sister hotel in another wing of the Royal Palace. However, there is so much to do and see, we never used it. The staff were efficient and helpful and we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank AlpUnicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fateh Prakash Palace, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear AlpUnicorn,

Greetings from Fateh Prakash Palace, Udaipur.

We are delighted to know you had a great time with us. Thank you for your kind words about the location, rooms, comfort, services and staff. Thank you for taking out time and sharing your experiences with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back and create another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

it was my fiance's birthday and i wanted to celebrate it in a grand way so i decided to book a table at fatehprakash palace. we reached quite late at 8:30 pm so missed the beautiful sunset view from there but the view at night was equally awesome like it gets during sunset. hotel staff greeted us in a very nice manner which truly shows the class of this place. the guys who were playing music out there even played the tune of happy birthday song during the cake cutting ceremony which really impressed my fiance. thank you for that and then finally we had dinner, the taste of butter chicken was one of the best in the whole town. overall an evening well spent. Planning to come back soon here on my birthday :-D

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Aamir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fateh Prakash Palace, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Aamir H,

Greetings from Fateh Prakash Palace, Udaipur.

Making your special occasions memorable is what we strive for. We are glad we could make your evening special. Thank you for taking out the time and sharing your experiences with us on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back not only your birthday but also on your wedding!

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Excellent location overlooking the lake. Recent refurbishment but still a work in progress. Room had various things that didn't work including access to the terrace outside the room. Apparently the government has barred all external work since it overlooks the lake. Shower mixer was variable - either scalding or freezing. Staff were casual bordering on indifference. The location is good - very near the entrance to the City Palace complex and the terrace restaurant has beautiful views over the lake but these don't make up for the downsides. A nicer option is probably the Amet Haveli hotel which also overlooks the lake and has a great restaurant - Ambrai

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank george_bishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fateh Prakash Palace, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear george_bishop,

Greetings from Fateh Prakash Palace, Udaipur.

Thank you for taking out time and sharing your experiences during your stay at our hotel. We are pleased to know that liked the location of our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back and create a memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#33 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,877 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#24 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fateh Prakash Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fateh Prakash Palace

Property: Fateh Prakash Palace
Address: The City Palace, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#11 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#12 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#13 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#14 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fateh Prakash Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where once the Maharanas of Mewar held court, today you can hold forthLocated on the eastern shores of the picturesque Lake Pichola, the palace seems to have floated straight out of a fairytale.The history-soaked interiors, dotted with miniature paintings, portraits, royal artefacts and the armoury of the Mewar dynasty transport you to legendary times.The suites and rooms decorated with original paintings and period furniture from the toshakhanas or royal storerooms, cocoon you in velvety luxury as you soak in the ever-changing hues of the lake from large arched windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fateh Prakash Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fateh Prakash Palace Udaipur
Fateh Prakash Palace Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing