We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmopheric hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fateh Prakash Palace
Ranked #35 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2009

Stayed here at the end of a wonderful 16 day tour of Rajastan staying in heritage hotels. This hotel has wonderful interiors, and has 6 suites. I also stayed in room 504 and would agree with the previous review of this room - take your own hairdrier! However, fellow travellers stayed in 505 and 506, which were luxurious suites. We had a choice and I took 504 because it had a lake view. Amazed at the comment made about the lakeside restaurant. Had superb food here both at breakfast and dinner, but it did take a while to appear as it was all cooked fresh to order. Waiters were excellent and the chef came to check with us that we had enjoyed our meal. View across lake was wonderful. The museum is very interesting and the crystal gallery (additional charge) is worth seeing. We had excellent afternoon tea here too.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonGlobetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

361 - 367 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2009

Fateh Prakash Palace is in a great location overlooking the lake and convenient for the bazaar and the centre of town. Room 504 is a charming octagonal (fairly compact) room near the Crystal Gallery with a view over Lake Pichola of both the Lake Palace Hotel and Jagmandir Island. The only criticism is that with the Austrian blind curtains it is difficult to open the windows to enjoy the fantastic view. The bathroom was clean and functional with a good selection of toiletries. The sunset terrace is a great place to eat and drink with predictably stunning sunsets over the lake. We had a wonderful breakfast there, as well as dinner one evening, both times with live music in the background. The member of staff at the hospitality desk was particularly helpful during our stay.

The only negatives were the terrible hairdryer and the appalling internet access, both in terms of cost (INR300 for one hour) and speed (you actually only get half an hour’s worth, because the connection is soooo slow!) We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Figgysfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2008

OK- we stayed here on our last 2 nights of our 11 day tour of Rajasthan. Now having been and gone to this hotel and read the reviews on here, I would say that they are pretty mixed. If you are sat there confused, wondering whether to book this hotel or not, like I was 6 months before our trip ...I would say (budget dependant) stay at the Lake Palace across the water, I wish we had booked ourselves there.

We arrived at this place and were given the 'best' room in the Dovecote area of the hotel (so we were told by the reception). We had the most amazing views of the Lake Palace, however we asked to be moved after a few hours because of the following:
1. Our door (on the outside) didn't have a bolt across the top meaning that when we padlocked our room anyone could push the 2 doors together and see in our room, albeit through a slit in the door- but this was unacceptable.
2. There was a hair on my pillow
3. The window seat coverings were old and stained
4. There were damp patches in our room
5. Our bathroom smelt

Given all of the above we asked to be moved and to the hotels credit they were excellent and couldn't do enough to move us. We ended up in a room lower down, with OK views. The quality was about the same as the previous room. (Pictures to follow).

The Restaurant at the hotel (Sunset Terrace I think its called) was pretty BAD!! Dinner was awful, breakfast was much better. We hardly touched our dinner and the manager asked us why, we gave feedback and he said that they would book us in at the poolside restaurant fro the following night stating that there is a different menu and different chef. The next night we headed over to the pool side restaurant and guess what.., exactly the same menu. We ate in some out of the way country places in India and the food at these places was far superior to the food at the Fateh Prakash. For the prices that they charge- it is simple day light robbery.

In summary.. if you are undecided on where to stay in Udaipur- please stay at the Lake Palace or even the Oberoi which is further out. The location of the Fateh Prakash was great and you could walk everywhere but the room quality, food and cleanliness was POOR!!!! I could go on but shall end here.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SheilaAndMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2008

Like others have described I think the rooms are very varied and so perhaps we were unlucky in this regard - a Dovecote Room with no Lake View (as had been assured). When we were eventually moved to a Lake View room it was so difficult to see the lake that it was barely worth the hassling bothering.

Now we love historical buildings hence why we stayed here - however, the fact the building is historical and presumably there are certain limitations to renovations is no excuse for an extremely dated interior, peeling paint, mouldy walls, worn-out furniture, etc, etc. The owners should take a trip to Devigarth (a 300 year old fort that has maintained its outward appearance and charm, but has been renovated internally to stunning effect) and take some notes. If they can't be bothered they should at least have the decency to reduce their prices by about 95%.

Finally, the food, where do I start? 'English' Afternoon tea at the Gallery Restaurant consisted of toasted cheese sandwiches made with artificial cheese (nice!), and stale cookies and stones. Say no more.

However, the Sunset View Terrace surpassed even that experience where after having eaten I spent 2 days 'enjoying' a late bout of 'Delhi belly'. Thanks for that guys.

To cap it all off the hotel had insisted on charging us for an additional breakfast on our day of arrival (we arrived early morning), which would normally be fair enough, but again it had been agreed in advance that this extra breakfast would be included by our Travel Company. When I refused to pay this on checking out on the basis that I was passing up my breakfast on the day of checkout due to my upset stomach and the fact that irrespective I would never have eaten in the hotel again, they asked if I would sign a note to this effect - what quality service!

And then we said goodbye as they left me to struggle up the stairs with all 3 of my items of luggage (the staff only tend to offer help if they think there is a tip in it for them, and I imagine they gleaned from my mood there wasn't).

Our local tour guide confirmed to us that our complaints were not untypical, and worse he also said that others had complained of finding lizards and cockroaches in their rooms. That would have been a joy! He also commented that the entire Palace Complex was run by people who simply didn't understand tourism - he re-iterated that we must take our hotel pass with us everywhere, as true to his prediction, we were asked to produce this every 3rd step we took. (A somewhat different approach to the Oberoi in Udaipur, apparently voted the World's Best Hotel, where you can simply walk in and have a look around, whether you are a guest or not).

Its a great shame because Udaipur itself is a lovely city, and probably the best town for a tourist to simply stroll around without having to suffer the normal pack of hawkers following their every move. It is though a shame that the Lake Palace Hotel is no longer open to non-residents.

Unfortunate Fateh Prakash ruined my stay in the city, I wish I had stayed in the Trident where good food and service is forthcoming at comparable prices.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller_UK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2008

I hadn't appreciated until we checked in that this is in fact the original palace, and next door to the Maharana's remaining home, and the Shah Niwas palace that you can use freely as well. So 2 hotels for the price of one. You are therefore living in one of the best heritage sites of Udaipur. We too had Dovecote rooms 501 and 502. If you can commandeer the two for yr party what hasn't been mentioned is that you will also have a private seating area with FABULOUS views across the lake so the lack of view from 502 doesn't matter. We loved being in the old palace- just down the corridor from the crystal gallery (entrance to this s/be free as a guest). The view from the restaurant terrace cannot be beaten- glorious vista of The Lake Palace (seemed to me as the outside is the main tourists attraction better to look at it than stay in it!), and breakfasts (freshly cooked eggs to order) excellent. We also dropped into the Oberoi that seemed pretty sterile by comparison, and was also unable to produce a drink on its terrace before 12 o clock! Whilst the FP terrace is popular at teatime and lunch for tour groups, they quickly move on to the next stop on their tour so it doesn't affect residents' enjoyment. Use of the pool in palace hotel next door included. The only downside- and one to watch out for from Feb onwards- is the hotel and the whole of Udaipur is extremely popular with wedding parties. During our stay massive preparations were underway for some gov't minister's daughter's wedding that meant sections being closed off, and latterly the Lake itself being barred to tourists! Probably a one off given the size of wedding but could be pretty annoying if it clashed with a short stay, so would suggest checking in advance & seeking a discount for any closed facilities, Oh and checkout RUBBISH so if you have an early flight demand it is sorted the night before. But overall, an excellent choice for Udaipur, and in our opinion better than the more obvious choices of the LP or the Oberoi- why stay in a Summer palace or a pretend one when you can have the real McCoy!.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2008

Stayed at the Fateh Prakash for two nights in january 08. The Dovecote rooms were just wonderful with a stunning wiew over the lake and The Lake Palace. Very nice and clean rooms. Every night we had gifts from the room service. And the morning we checked out we had to leave at 5.30. Even thougt it was very early we could order a wonderful breakfast at 5.15 to our room (!!!) with everything we liked: pancakes, eggs, omelets, fres fruit, yoghurt, the childrens chose of cereals - at no extra cost! Best service we experienced in India!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piplarsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2008

As others have said in the reviews, some rooms are great some are not so great. We were lucky to stay in a corner suite (two rooms for our family of four) inside the museum, next to the Crystal Gallery in the old building (rooms 501 and 502).

Our room (501) was quite small but had two windows overlooking the Picola lake and the Taj Lake Palace Hotel. The room where our teenage boys stayed however had no window (hence no view at all), so you better be careful when you book.

We had breakfast at the Sunset Bar and the food was good and varied.

The staff at the hotel are helpful but we would have loved a warmer welcome. We stayed there on New Year's eve and were told that the dinner with the Maharana was mandatory (200$ per person!), although we managed not to attend hopefully. Be aware that this may be something you will have to face if you stay there on Christmas or New Year's eve.

There is also a pool in the hotel next door (also owned by the same group), which however we did not use.

Udaipur is one of our preferred cities in Rajasthan and this Hotel is perfectly located to explore the city by foot.

We also had dinner at the Jagmandir restaurantwhere you can get to by boat - a great (but not so cheap) experience.

Overall a very positive experience.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KazzaBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#40 of 165 in Udaipur
500 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 165 in Udaipur
3,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 165 in Udaipur
2,784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#23 of 165 in Udaipur
1,086 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Leela Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fateh Prakash Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fateh Prakash Palace

Address: The City Palace, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#12 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#14 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#16 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £138 - £624 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fateh Prakash Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where once the Maharanas of Mewar held court, today you can hold forthLocated on the eastern shores of the picturesque Lake Pichola, the palace seems to have floated straight out of a fairytale.The history-soaked interiors, dotted with miniature paintings, portraits, royal artefacts and the armoury of the Mewar dynasty transport you to legendary times.The suites and rooms decorated with original paintings and period furniture from the toshakhanas or royal storerooms, cocoon you in velvety luxury as you soak in the ever-changing hues of the lake from large arched windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Fateh Prakash Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fateh Prakash Palace Udaipur
Fateh Prakash Palace Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing