We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fateh Prakash Palace
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$473
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$70
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lakend(Udaipur)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel The Tiger(Udaipur)(Great Value!)
US$12
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Treebo Udai Niwas(Udaipur)(Great Value!)
US$34
US$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$459
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Leela Palace Udaipur(Udaipur)
US$339
US$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$129
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$80
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
US$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
481 results
Traveller rating
244
137
49
30
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
137
49
30
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunset terracecrystal gallerylake picholapremier suitegolf buggylight and sound showsister hotelhrh grouproyal treatmentboat ridevintage car museumpublic areasbreakfast and dinneran amazing experiencefront officereception areaswimming pool is
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
383 - 388 of 481 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2009

We stayed in Dovecote complex and had the best room according to all the staff and the plan of the hotel. It was an amazing room with large dressing room and stunning views of the lake.. no complaints. The location is also perfect for exploring the city and the palace complex (it's part of the palace!).
Despite comments to the contrary below our food was pretty good, the Sunset Terrace is a stunning venue with great views and romantic lighting and music. We didn't try the other restaurant or bar by the pool as they were dingy and dark with terrible colonial decor.
The pool is really badly set out, if you are looking for a nice afternoon by the pool then forget it, there are no loungers except a few knackered ones nowhere near the pool, and the victorian design means that it is more like a giant bath tub with very high walls - no one used it while we were there. The set up of the complex is also a pain (noone's fault as it's part of the palace) as you have to walk a long way to get to the other restaurants and the pool area if you are so inclined. The service was hit and miss. Overall a lovely place to stay for a night or two but the downsides would start to niggle after a while.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2009

The rooms were not at all upto standard for the rates that were being charged, there were stains on the cushions as well as on the bathroom tiles. we stayed in a dovecote room which is supposed to be the one of the best rooms with views of the lake and Taj lake palace... for breakfast you have to walk to another hotel of run by them called Shiv Niwas and the pool is also in this location.... the food was average nothing spectacular about... there are much better hotels in the vicinity...

The only advantage they would have is, the palace is right next door and is easily accesible....

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2009

Stayed here at the end of a wonderful 16 day tour of Rajastan staying in heritage hotels. This hotel has wonderful interiors, and has 6 suites. I also stayed in room 504 and would agree with the previous review of this room - take your own hairdrier! However, fellow travellers stayed in 505 and 506, which were luxurious suites. We had a choice and I took 504 because it had a lake view. Amazed at the comment made about the lakeside restaurant. Had superb food here both at breakfast and dinner, but it did take a while to appear as it was all cooked fresh to order. Waiters were excellent and the chef came to check with us that we had enjoyed our meal. View across lake was wonderful. The museum is very interesting and the crystal gallery (additional charge) is worth seeing. We had excellent afternoon tea here too.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonGlobetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2009

Fateh Prakash Palace is in a great location overlooking the lake and convenient for the bazaar and the centre of town. Room 504 is a charming octagonal (fairly compact) room near the Crystal Gallery with a view over Lake Pichola of both the Lake Palace Hotel and Jagmandir Island. The only criticism is that with the Austrian blind curtains it is difficult to open the windows to enjoy the fantastic view. The bathroom was clean and functional with a good selection of toiletries. The sunset terrace is a great place to eat and drink with predictably stunning sunsets over the lake. We had a wonderful breakfast there, as well as dinner one evening, both times with live music in the background. The member of staff at the hospitality desk was particularly helpful during our stay.

The only negatives were the terrible hairdryer and the appalling internet access, both in terms of cost (INR300 for one hour) and speed (you actually only get half an hour’s worth, because the connection is soooo slow!) We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Figgysfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2008

OK- we stayed here on our last 2 nights of our 11 day tour of Rajasthan. Now having been and gone to this hotel and read the reviews on here, I would say that they are pretty mixed. If you are sat there confused, wondering whether to book this hotel or not, like I was 6 months before our trip ...I would say (budget dependant) stay at the Lake Palace across the water, I wish we had booked ourselves there.

We arrived at this place and were given the 'best' room in the Dovecote area of the hotel (so we were told by the reception). We had the most amazing views of the Lake Palace, however we asked to be moved after a few hours because of the following:
1. Our door (on the outside) didn't have a bolt across the top meaning that when we padlocked our room anyone could push the 2 doors together and see in our room, albeit through a slit in the door- but this was unacceptable.
2. There was a hair on my pillow
3. The window seat coverings were old and stained
4. There were damp patches in our room
5. Our bathroom smelt

Given all of the above we asked to be moved and to the hotels credit they were excellent and couldn't do enough to move us. We ended up in a room lower down, with OK views. The quality was about the same as the previous room. (Pictures to follow).

The Restaurant at the hotel (Sunset Terrace I think its called) was pretty BAD!! Dinner was awful, breakfast was much better. We hardly touched our dinner and the manager asked us why, we gave feedback and he said that they would book us in at the poolside restaurant fro the following night stating that there is a different menu and different chef. The next night we headed over to the pool side restaurant and guess what.., exactly the same menu. We ate in some out of the way country places in India and the food at these places was far superior to the food at the Fateh Prakash. For the prices that they charge- it is simple day light robbery.

In summary.. if you are undecided on where to stay in Udaipur- please stay at the Lake Palace or even the Oberoi which is further out. The location of the Fateh Prakash was great and you could walk everywhere but the room quality, food and cleanliness was POOR!!!! I could go on but shall end here.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SheilaAndMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews