We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Hilltop Palace
Ranked #66 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Jodhpur, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice view”
Reviewed 8 September 2011

The Hotel Hilltop Palace at Udaipur, is actually located on a hill top, with a steep Climb of around a 100 metres. But once you have coaxed your vehicle to climb that steep a hill, the site that awaits you is worth all the effort. It is easily identifiable to the taxi drivers too. Dont take a 3 wheeler as it would be unable to climb till the top & you will end up walking a steep hill. I had gone there with my Wife on a 2 day vacation & we had a really nice time. The Tariff for the place is quite decent when we look at the facilities available. The room was quite basic but spacious, having an AC, TV, Nice comfy bed. Our room had a nice balcony with a view of the Fateh sagar lake as well as the hills on the other side of the hotel. There is a nice swimming pool, a cofee shop, a restaurant also which we didnt visit as we decided to go for food outside of the hotel & explore the city. We had food at The nataraj hall, sankalp & another small place. The hotel is walking distance from the famous Fateh sagar lake, which is the place UDAIPUR public would be found in the evenings. Nice lake with clear water & an even better breeze at that point of time. Also nearby is the saheliyon ki baadi & other lakes. All in all A good value for money stay for a family vacation.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAYANK1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    139
    73
    19
    23
See reviews for
115
75
10
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
106 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

The hotel is situated on a hillock and commands a very good view of the lake and the entire city of Udaipur. The food spread is limited and very expensive while the laundry is quite cheap. Service is not really great

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vineet_bhuwania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We stopped over for the night.. is a good hotel situated on a hiltop so has a very good view of the lake. The hotel is a bit old so don't expect modern decors. Has all the required amenities and definately is value for money. Food is also quite good.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayankInd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorakhpur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

The service is impressive.the hotel offers fabulous and mouth-watering delicaies.the resturant serve authentic and truely delicious rajasthani along with other cusines .The hotel has beautiful gardens and lots of open spaces for children to play around.the place had a homely feel.the pool is quite bigwt nice surroundings.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shreyashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Hi,

I made my booking at Hotel Hilltop Palace for 2 days to celebrate my wedding anniversary and spend some quiet time with my wife and infant son. I will explain various aspects below.

Check in was quick and smooth as they had the room ready when we reached at the hotel at 14.00. However, first think that strike you as soon as you get into the room is it is done in old fashined decor. Marble floor, spacious room, open spacious balcony, old fashioned bed, chairs and tablets etc. Once you spend some time in the room, you start liking it. One more peculiar thing is they dont provide any complimentary mineral water bottles. It hardly costs 15-20 Rs., They also don't provide any Tea / coffee maker in the room, however we got it after several reques as we had an infant with us. don't know what they try to save out of it!

Best thing about the hotel is its location overlooking Fatehsagar lake. Very close to the nearby market makes it a very conveint option if you need to buy anything. Best if you have your own vehicle as it is on a small hill and will not get any transportation outside the hotel, you will need to walk down some distance.

Worst part of the stay is their bathrooms which though spacious are very smelly. That is because it is in the inside part of the room and does not have any exhaust. We were very very disappointed with the bathroom.

Food is very expensive. Picture this, 1 glass of milk will cost you Rs. 105, a dal will be Rs. 180 and a paneer sajbi will be Rs. 200. thus no logic except for being too expensive. Breakfast was included in the package and was good and decent variety. Very helpful staff as they packed us some items needed for my infant son.

Overall, I would tate this hotel as presentable as it is at a fantasic location and has very helpful staff. Cleanliness wise it is a downer. I recommend it if you can get a good deal otherwise i am sure you can get better options.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank call_gaurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeton NSW
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

We stayed at the Hilltop while on a small group tour of Northern India and loved it. It is not the most modern of hotels nor the most luxurious, but the staff are friendly, the service is good and the views are amazing. The hotel is not within the Old City but is built on the highest hill in Udaipur. We had a twin room which was quite spacious and had a big balcony with views across Lake Fatehsagar, the town, surrounding hills and the Monsoon Palace. Rooms are not luxurious but were very comfortable. The bathroom was a bit dated but everything worked. Hot water was a iffy but we decided that we had bad hot water karma as everyone else seemed OK. Truly if you are in Udaipur and stressing over hot water you aren't opening your eyes and looking around you. The hotel pool is great after a hot day and there is an amazing terrace on the roof of the hotel where we watched the sunset and drank G & T's. A tower on the terrace gives you a 360 deg view of Udaipur including views of the City Palace and glimpses of Lake Pichola. Would I stay there again? Definitely!!!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libri013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ahmedabad
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2011

really enjoyed staying at this wonderful hotel.great room with awesome views.service is good with good quality food.rooms on top floors are very nice n rooftop bar is very good.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casahmedabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#41 of 156 in Udaipur
354 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#15 of 156 in Udaipur
695 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
#10 of 156 in Udaipur
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 156 in Udaipur
448 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#36 of 156 in Udaipur
212 reviews
0.9 mi away
Golden Tulip Udaipur
Golden Tulip Udaipur
#81 of 156 in Udaipur
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hilltop Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop Palace

Property: Hotel Hilltop Palace
Address: 5 Hotel Hilltop Palace Ambavgarh, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilltop Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hilltop Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilltop Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing