We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In lap of nature...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jaisamand Island Resort
Ranked #63 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed 17 February 2012

"What is this life full of care, if we have no time to stand and stare"- william wordsworth.

The jaisamand resort near udaipur reminds me of very famous lines of william wordworth quoted above. ONe of the biggest lake surrounded by beautiful hills and in the lap of nature this island resort gives you a chance of getting away from the usual hustle-bustle of the city and spend time with self. Its big gardens, lake side gazebos , royal rooms and grand dinners are perfect settings to a leisurely holiday. A holiday at jaisamand resort near udaipur was a great combination of introspection and fun. I would strongly recommend this for anyone who enjoys beautiful sunsets and sunrises, boating, lazy swings, good food, long walks and never ending conversations

would specially mention hotel staff is very good and courtious n has given outstanding services to ensure everything comfortable, enjoying..

I salute the dedication, courage convinction n high quiality taste of the person who has created such a marvellous resort.

One must visit this place

Room Tip: deluxe suite with swing or villa
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank siddharth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Jaisamand Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2012

First thing which hits you on your way sailing through the lake to the island resort is admiration for man's work. Wonderful artificial lake with a beautiful resort in midst of it. This resort provides you all the solace you need with your loved one and with minimal disturbances from mobile and internet it turned out to be peaceful experience. Let me list the Pros and cons:

Pros:
Holiday gateway
Serine
No disturbance
Good facilities
Beautiful locale

Cons:
Rooms seem old
Reaching the destination unless car is available
Food is expensive
Payment accepted only in cash or credit card. Debit cards not allowed or no atm close by.

Though there are cons I would highly recommend it for people who near break from the routine and forget the past

Room Tip: Room on the top floor gives you a good view and is close to terrace which is awesome.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Naveen2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaisamand, Manager at Jaisamand Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Thank you for your reviews. I would like to answer each of the Cons that you have mentioned and explain the same. We have only 3 old rooms left in the resort, all others are renovated or new. As, Jaisamand is out of the city, Cars/Public Buses or taxis are the only way to reach here, if need be, we can organize a pick up from Udaipur. The food is mainly on buffet system, as its a part of the package. The Al Carte food priced a bit more than a city hotel, as our cost of transportation from Udaipur and then by boat to Jaisamand works out to be a bit costly. Most hotels don't accept debit cards, as refunds or cancellations in any case takes minimum 60 days by banks. We hope to see you again. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We were on a road trip around Rajasthan and Udaipur was our last stop. Definitely we wanted to end our trip with a fantastic experience and hence, chose to stay at Jaisamand Island Resort. It was a sheer horrific experience once we reached there. It's far away from Udaipur city, in the middle of no where. Their staff was highly unprofessional, unfriendly and treated us like we were their slaves, we had to listen to whatever they would provide us with. They refused to take in-room dinning orders, you HAVE to eat whatever is served in the buffet. There is no one to attend your calls in the reception. The rooms, though recently renovated, was horribly designed. On the whole, it was a pathetic experience. We left the hotel the very next morning and drove our way back to Jaipur.
Please don't trust the pics that are put up on most of the sites, the property is old, dilapidated and stale!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Richa_Jain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaisamand, Manager at Jaisamand Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Dear Mrs. Jain, I don't want to comment on the review written by you. You also spoke to our owner from the hotel reception for a free upgrade to the villa suite, which was not possible at that time. Our chefs are more than happy to prepare anything that you want besides the buffet, and we told you that nothing extra would be charged. We have got great reviews about our new rooms and villas. You are the first, who has mentioned about their "horrible" design. Our USP is being away from the city and that is what the guest who come stay with us like the most. Unprofessional staff is a very strong word to use, we promote uplift-meant of the people from village in the surrounding area, but most of them are back of the house staff or garden cleaners. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

first you need to take boat in jaisamand lake to reach resort.
Rooms are comes with all meal plans as their is no hotels around in same island.
nicely decorated good big rooms.
we have been upgraded to suites as they were low on occupancy.
they treat you royally as you eneter the resort.
they spoiled you with nice tasty food from breakfast to dinner.
Do not forget to do fishing in the lake.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dnp10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaisamand, Manager at Jaisamand Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Thank you for wonderful comments about our resort. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you in the near future. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Jaisamand Island Resort, located in the middle of Dhebar lake (better known as Jaisamand Lake) is an extremely beautiful property. Absolutely serene and cut-off from rest of the world, its location is its biggest advantage. The experience was excellent - right from the fast cruising motor boats (taking us to the resort from the parking at the dam) to the breathtaking view the resort offered. A nice combination of culture, remnants of our glorious past, wonderful ambience and warm hospitality, Jaisamand Resort is a perfect getaway to recharge your batteries and relax in the pristine company of nature. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Villas are exceptional; Suite rooms could do with some upgrading
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ritubatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaisamand, Manager at Jaisamand Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

Dear Ms. Batra. Thank you for your review about Jaisamand Island Resort. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to you you in the near future. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

One of the best holiday experiences of my life ... Beautiful place ..lovely landscape , good hotel wonderful service ,food,facilites . Best time of the year to visit - november
Hospitable and helpful staff and management

Room Tip: villa suites are of course the best ..but if you want to accommodate two more persons then Delux ro...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kashmirasethna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaisamand, Guest Relations Manager at Jaisamand Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Dear Mrs. Sethna,

Thank you for your wonderful comments.

Remarks by guest like you truly inspires us to perform better and offer more.

Regards

Nikhat Pathan
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

The location of the hotel and the experience of reaching the same in the middle of Asia's largest man made lake is absolutely fabulous. The rooms have been refurbished to provide with luxury. Food, staff service and courteousness made my stay extremely pleasurable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KetanBhola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaisamand, Guest Relations Manager at Jaisamand Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Dear Mr. Bhola,

Greetings. Thank you for your lovely remarks about our resort.

We hope to see you sometime in the near future.

Regards

Nikhat Pathan
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
29.3 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#16 of 163 in Udaipur
358 reviews
31.4 mi away
The Royal Retreat Resort & Spa, Udaipur
30.1 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.2 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
32.0 mi away
The Ananta Udaipur
The Ananta Udaipur
#13 of 163 in Udaipur
643 reviews
28.1 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#35 of 163 in Udaipur
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaisamand Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaisamand Island Resort

Address: Jaisamand Lake, Island 1 | Udaipur-Banswara Road, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Udaipur
#19 Luxury Hotel in Udaipur
#22 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £107 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jaisamand Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fully restored 4 star resort on an island in middle of the largest man-made lake in Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Jaisamand Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaisamand Island Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing