We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jaisamand Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jaisamand Island Resort
Ranked #53 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

If you want a break from the chaos of city life, this is just perfect. Quietly nestled in the middle of a huge man made lake, Jaisamand is a terrific place to chill out. Whether you want to go alone or with a friend/spouse or in a group. Loved the place. Has all the basics, great views, peaceful, laid back. A treat for stargazers! The only sound you hear are the birds and occasionally the genset when the power fails. Go with some books, your sketchpad or board games and have a most relaxing time. A warning for the less abled - there are a lot of steps everywhere so I do not recommend people with mobility issues. Your journey to the resort starts with a 3.5km boat ride and this gets you in tune with more to follow. Also a great place for a corporate retreat. Yes, lots can be done to make it a sensational resort, but then its really good at the simple basic level that it offers.

Room Tip: If you can, then splurge for the villa suite, they are definitely the best! However all rooms have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaisamand, Manager at Jaisamand Island Resort, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Dear Mr. Seth,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday at Jaisamand Island Resort. Your review is a big encouragement for me and my staff to perform better and keep meeting expectations of the guest patronising us. We hope to see you soon. Thank you once again. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    52
    22
    11
    10
See reviews for
71
33
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

Location is so nice,almost picturesque ,but room although quite large,very filthy,Beds aren't comfortable and not so clean.Food is average.Camel safari was a joke, we enjoyed row boating there! The room and food's variety let this place down. Swimming pool was very dirty,

Room Tip: avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bini220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaisamand, Manager at Jaisamand Island Resort, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Greetings from Jaisamand Island Resort. Thank you for reviewing us on tripadvisor.com. We have upgraded all the rooms at the property, some of the old suites were not refurbished, those are also complete now. After reading your reviews and comments from our guests, all the mattress have been changed to super lux, as those of a five star hotel. Hope we see you soon. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

Excellent location but poor hotel experience. Rooms are not very clean although spacious. Biggest let down is, the hotel food choice. You will be forced to eat their buffet which is quite a let down.

But then pristine hotel surroundings would help you to over come that

Room Tip: Top floor suite rooms near the Swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Saswat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaisamand, Manager at Jaisamand Island Resort, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Greetings from Jaisamand Island Resort. Thank you for reviewing us on tripadvisor.com. We have upgraded all the rooms at the property, some of the old suites were not refurbished, those are also complete now. The food is normally a part of the package and on a buffet with a wide choice for all the meals. But incase you need anything else besides the buffett, our F&B team is glad to organise the same. Hope we see you soon. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Awesome location!!! I stayed in many hotels and resorts, but location of this place is best among all. Every room has balcony and every balcony has lake view.

You can also trek through whole island, hotel can arrange guide for us. you can also try rowing and camel riding. Swiming pool is also huge.

Every four villas share a private swimming pool. View from Villa is quite superb. But there is no other difference, except these two, between villa and deluxe room. Deluxe rooms are also very spacious.

Service is quite prompt with smiling faces. Though housekeeping never pick the phone, reception can help with housekeeping as well. Staff is comprised of locals only. That is good for local economy. However I found so many child labours there. this is very unfortunate. I hope hotel do take care of education of those childern also.

Food is agian very very good. Lunch and dinner are comprised of local dishes. Churma, Ghevar, ker sangri, crispy bhindi was very tasty. Breakfast was very average though.

Room Tip: go for deluxe room instead of villa, there is not much difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bhavesh_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaisamand, Manager at Jaisamand Island Resort, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Mr. Bhavesh,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to see that you have enjoyed the resort and the F&B Services of Jaisamand Island Resort. Our staff is mainly from the surrounding areas and is trained by us. This helps in boosting the local economy and helps to nourish the lives of the people living around Jaisamand Lake. The age of all our employees is over 18 +. We do have Staff Families with some young boys living on the island, they are children of our existing staff and live on the island. The education for the boys is paid by us. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012 via mobile

This is the great location for having good fun at week end and short trip. I have found some good , average and bad .

Good : fantastic location , good and big rooms, good service , all rooms have balcony and great view, Big swimming pool, good food. Deluxe room are new and good.

Average : bar have very limited choice and not up to the mark. Cleaness of swimming pool,

Bad : don't stay in suit room this room looks good but it's really old room and non maintain. Bathroom is room bad , not hot water ... And many more bad thing in room.

My suggestion : do good negotiation with hotel people and stay in deluxe room on 4 - 5th floor . This is new rooms with balacany .

My experience is fantastic and the location is refreshing .
Thanks



Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Vrajesh0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaisamand, Manager at Jaisamand Island Resort, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Mr. Rajesh, Thank you for your review. The suite rooms have also gone under renovation and would be ready by 1st of October 2012 with new upholstery, flat TVs, and a new solar hot water system. We are the only resort in Udaipur to operate on 100% solar for water heating. This is to maintain a Green stand taken by us to protect the environment. We hope to see you soon and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards, Sunit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

The first reaction was an immediate 'Wow' on seeing this place as our boat was about to reach the Resort.The Motor Boat Ride of about 20 minutes to reach this ISLAND resort itself was a very enjoyable experience - Lake Jaisamand being one of the biggest artificial lakes in Asia.

The room was superbly laid out,spic and spank, and very spacious. The view of the lake from room's balcony was just an enchanting experience. Food Quality was good,though at times the service was not that swift.We were part of a large group of office friends,may be the hotel staff needs some training to handle such large groups.

The resort is spread out in good area and one can enjoy various activities such as Swimming Pool, Camel Ride, Rowing,Boat Ride, Bird Watching, Table Tennis,VolleyBall etc. The boat ride in the evening, with a light breeze blowing across & the vast placid lake,was just too wonderful.Once cannot resist a walk around the resort since the place leaves you mesmerized with its serene atmosphere.

Room Tip: 1)Though the view from all categories of rooms is very good, higher rooms have a more panoramic view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RishabhSingla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaisamand, Manager at Jaisamand Island Resort, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Mr. Rishabh. Thank you for your review. We appreciate the efforts put in by us for make a memorable holiday for the guest coming to Jaisamand Island resort. We hope to see you soon at the resort. We are launching a full spa by March 2013 with an international brand. Regards, Sunit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new delhi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

i and my office friends went to jaisamand lake resort with our families on 5th april'2012 for one night stay, the rooms are ver good and spacious, the location of the resort gives a wonderfull view from each room of the resort. food was excellent, all rooms have AC's. the boat ride for resort is also wonderful. if we visit udaipur in group we must visit this resort because of its unique location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jaiNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaisamand, Manager at Jaisamand Island Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for your review and comments about Jaisamand Island Resort. We hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
29.3 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#20 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
30.1 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
25.9 mi away
The Amargarh Udaipur
The Amargarh Udaipur
#24 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.7 mi away
TatSaraasa Resort & Spa
TatSaraasa Resort & Spa
#9 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
31.5 mi away
The Royal Retreat Resort & Spa
29.8 mi away
The Udai Bagh
The Udai Bagh
#36 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaisamand Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaisamand Island Resort

Property: Jaisamand Island Resort
Address: Jaisamand Lake, Island 1 | Udaipur-Banswara Road, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Udaipur
#18 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaisamand Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fully restored 4 star resort on an island in middle of the largest man-made lake in Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Jaisamand Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaisamand Island Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing