We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money, there are better places around...”
Review of Lake Pichola Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Pichola Hotel
Ranked #15 of 153 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not worth the money, there are better places around...”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

You can have a good view to the City Palace & enjoy fireworks at night in the roof restaurant which has very good food & very good service personnel who are always ready to help you... But...
* The most disappointing was the bathroom (pictures attached) & the soiled towels, always make sure you order new ones from the reception.
* Next in line are the dusty walls & untidy corners (if you are allergic to dust, then you might have a problem).
* The front desk guy was the least helpful compared to other staff in the hotel.

We walked by to Amet Haveli (http://www.amethaveliudaipur.com/) the next day for food & found the hotel much more tidier compared to ours & cheaper too.

Room Tip: A good hotel if cleanliness is not so important to you, but there are definitely better ones in Udai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SternWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    297
    80
    23
    17
See reviews for
193
255
39
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Nothing really wrong with the hotel but nothing too exciting except the view. Amazing views from the room down the lake and across to the city on the other side. Most of the city is on the other side of the lake but it is a very easy walk to get across with a footbridge not too far away. The rooms are rather basic and the bed wasn't so comfortable but all in all wasn't too bad. I am used to backpackers and not so much hotels so i am not all that fussy. People looking for a posh hotel, this is not it but for others this will be fine. Breakfast was good and it also as an amazing roof top bar/restaurant where you can have dinner too and again the food was OK.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFlyingApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Beautiful lake views from the room and at walking distance from the City Palace. Don't take the first room they offer, Try to get one of the rooms upstais, those with the private balcony... very relaxing

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leyda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2012

we had a very nice stay in the property. amazing and really comfortable. we book another near by the same location but they r very rude to us, so we just walk in in lack pichola and they r really nice to us. and very helpfull... i now want to suggest everyone to go there. amazing stay, good luck. and the owner is very nice.

Room Tip: choose any room, hotel is just perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Don't expect the standard of a palace, but you also pay 3 times less!
We visited the suites and the deluxe room on the 2nd floor, and booked a deluxe.
When we arrived, they gave us a deluxe room on the first floor. Disappointment!
They have a balcony, outside, cold in January then, and not renovated like the 2nd floor rooms which have a mattress on the balcony and windows around which makes the perfect place to stay for hours and watch the view.
Well, the staff was nice and proposed a suite with a discount, but had no room available on the 2nd floor. So we paid the difference to have a very nice suite with a window next to the bed and the view on the palace. Best view from the bed! and a swing, a jacuzzi, a mattress on the other balcony, a suite for our honeymoon.
The only thing: this suite has not been renovated yet, and you can feel the furniture and the details are not up to date. But it is still a good value for money considering the view.
The food in Upre on the rooftop was good and the service excellent.
We advise this hotel, but just don't go there with very high expectations.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor rooms are renovated and a lot better than on the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendestorf, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

we had a very pleasant stay at this hotel, they even let us check in early morning as the train arrived very early, without extra charge.
the view from our room to the lake was stunning, the interior very colorful "Rajastan-Style" .
the roof terrace with small swimming pool and restaurant is beautiful and the view from the top extraordinary. Food and breakfast were fine. We had our breakfast next to the lake with beaufiful sunshine and enjoyed our stay a lot.
the staff was very friendly and well trained. It is a good place to relax, very quiet as there is no road passing by directly. All the shops are easy to reach within walking distance.
we will come back for sure and recommend it to our friends !!!

Room Tip: rooms with lake view are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank osiplusdormi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
180 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We had a room with a balcony overlooking the lake so we could sit and look at the palace. The room had a decent double bed and was well furnishe. There was a wardrobe that you could lock you belongings in if you had a spare padlock. The bathroom its own immersion heater so you could have a hot shower. The TV had plenty of Indian channels and BBC News the first hotel in 3 weeks that had this! The rooftop restaurant had fantastic views and good food. They also had braziers with lovely fires (important in the cold January evenings) Disappointingly in the day although you can sit on the rooftop the staff remove the cushions and do not provide food and drinks there till 5pm. This hotel is really close to the sights of Udaipur,only a 10 min walk over a footbridge to the palace.

Room Tip: Ensure you get one with a balcony overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ExplorerBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#11 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#21 of 153 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 153 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,238 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 153 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,618 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Pichola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Pichola Hotel

Property: Lake Pichola Hotel
Address: Lake Palace Road | near Hanuman Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#20 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Pichola Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LPH is a beautiful hotel on the banks of Pichola Lake. 85% of the rooms have have balconies hanging on the lake overlooking the majestic palaces and the walled city of Udaipur. It has a stunning roof top wid 360 degrees view and an elegant restaurant called Chandni. It has a palatial lobby with 8 Bohemian chandeliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Lake Pichola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Pichola Udaipur
Hotel Lake Pichola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing