We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly charming”
Review of Lake Pichola Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Pichola Hotel
Ranked #16 of 158 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Utterly charming”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Lake pichola is about as far from a chain hotel as possible. It's a bit ram shackle but that is all part of its charm. Great views, lovely staff and a fab rooftop to hang out on. The restaurant is beautiful at night.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    297
    82
    23
    18
See reviews for
194
257
40
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

A very good hotel in a fantastic location, rooms overlook the lake and the ghat opposite and also the imposing City Palace. From the rooftop restaurant you can see Lake Palace Hotel and the City Palace. The food and the service are very good. Not sure the room description the we had matched the room given but it was a good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hedgehog50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. Its a good location and easy to walk into the main part of Udaipur. The photos look better than it really is. The entry foyer is probably the grandest part.

Rooms are a bit old and dowdy. The bedcovers were stained and room was not very clean. Shower didn't work and could only get hot water for a change.

The roof top has a good view of the Lake Place and the Palace.
I had a ground floor room and was woken by the women across the Lake slapping there washing.
Breakfast was average and drinks were expensive at the rooftop bar.
Not a very exciting place to stay but in a handy location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaytime40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We were offered two rooms when we got there that were up some really steep steps. I told them that my mum would not be able to walk up the steps. After some discussion they said we could have lake view rooms for an extra 700 rupees. I said i'd pay 500 and they agreed. We had one lake view room and one normal. The bathroom was new in the normal room but a bit dated in the lake view room. We had dinner at the hotel whereby the view was really good. Food ok - restaurant staff were good. No mosquitoes or insects anywhere - which is really good!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jims46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

You can have a good view to the City Palace & enjoy fireworks at night in the roof restaurant which has very good food & very good service personnel who are always ready to help you... But...
* The most disappointing was the bathroom (pictures attached) & the soiled towels, always make sure you order new ones from the reception.
* Next in line are the dusty walls & untidy corners (if you are allergic to dust, then you might have a problem).
* The front desk guy was the least helpful compared to other staff in the hotel.

We walked by to Amet Haveli (http://www.amethaveliudaipur.com/) the next day for food & found the hotel much more tidier compared to ours & cheaper too.

Room Tip: A good hotel if cleanliness is not so important to you, but there are definitely better ones in Udai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SternWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Nothing really wrong with the hotel but nothing too exciting except the view. Amazing views from the room down the lake and across to the city on the other side. Most of the city is on the other side of the lake but it is a very easy walk to get across with a footbridge not too far away. The rooms are rather basic and the bed wasn't so comfortable but all in all wasn't too bad. I am used to backpackers and not so much hotels so i am not all that fussy. People looking for a posh hotel, this is not it but for others this will be fine. Breakfast was good and it also as an amazing roof top bar/restaurant where you can have dinner too and again the food was OK.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFlyingApple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Beautiful lake views from the room and at walking distance from the City Palace. Don't take the first room they offer, Try to get one of the rooms upstais, those with the private balcony... very relaxing

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leyda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 158 in Udaipur
2,275 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#17 of 158 in Udaipur
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 158 in Udaipur
2,974 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 158 in Udaipur
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#22 of 158 in Udaipur
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Pichola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Pichola Hotel

Property: Lake Pichola Hotel
Address: Lake Palace Road | Near Hanuman Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#20 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Pichola Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Pichola Hotel is a beautiful hotel on the western banks of Pichola Lake. Most of the rooms have have balconies hanging on the lake overlooking the majestic palaces and the walled city of Udaipur. It has a stunning roof top wid 360 degrees view and an elegant restaurant called Upre. It has a palatial lobby with 8 Bohemian chandeliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Lake Pichola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Pichola Udaipur
Hotel Lake Pichola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing