We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet haven”
Review of Lake Pichola Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Pichola Hotel
Ranked #16 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Attiki, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A quiet haven”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

A small group of friends, we stayed here a couple of weeks ago. This is a very pleasant, clean (I'm surprised to read the problems of London_UKNeil) and peaceful hotel at an excellent location by the lake and a ten minute walk from the bustle of the main historic centre of Udaipur. The rooms are full of character, with superb views. Service was friendly and efficient. The comments of NICOL62 are mercifully irrelevant for visitors to a country like India. Our tuk-tuks and taxis always managed to get to the hotel, perhaps indeed with 20 second delays due to negotiating the narrow streets, people and cows. If anyone finds such features an "inconvenience", they have no business being in India, but should of course choose Las Vegas for their destination. Believe me, sundown on the terrace here is divine, albeit polytheistic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake. The view is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_of_Athens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    297
    82
    23
    18
See reviews for
194
257
40
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Good location with nice Lake views from our room. However, on arrival my wife flipped when she checked the bedsheets, there were numerous blood spots and streaks on the white sheets. All of the blankets and sheets smelled musty and stale, some were heavily soiled and torn at the edges. The mattress cover was torn so we basically asked for the entire bed sheets and mattress to be changed - and this in a deluxe room. The staff were very understanding and met all of our demands and they still managed to smile throughout. We were worried that more filth would appear but we had passed the worse part. The bathroom was tired and heavily worn, we checked other hotel rooms but they weren't much better. There was a lack of toiletries in the bathroom. We held onto our key as we had valuables in the room - there is a thin locker type safe for individual rooms at reception. There was also no housekeeping during our stay (as we had the key?). Having said all of this the staff were helpful and pleasant - perhaps looking for tips? We avoided the restaurant based on the poor hygiene demonstrated in our room - there are other very nice restaurants in Udaipur so we don't feel as if we have missed anything.
Would we stay again? Only if there was no comparable or better hotel available!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a Lake View as the other rooms are not as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank London_UKNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villers-la-Ville, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Came to Udaipur on the last leg of a tour in India and stayed at this hotel.
Getting to the hotel was a bit of a nightmare having to negotiate VERY narrow streets with cattle, tuk-tuks, rickshaws etc. In some places only one vehicle was able to pass along the road and consequently there were occasions when one (or the other) had to reverse to find adequate space to allow two vehicles to pass each other. Parking facilities at the hotel were very limited.
The hotel is a haveli which like many in India has been converted into a small hotel.
The Reception, lobby and dining area were really fabulous and beautifully decorated with views across the lake.
The hotel is located right next to lake Pichola and has wonderful views from the terrace, of the city, ghats and amber fort across the water. Really picturesque and romantic! There is also an outdoor roof-top dining area and a small swimming pool. We were unable to use the roof-top restaurant as there was light rain at the time. However, we were very adequately served in the dining room on the ground floor, next to the lobby although it took a bit longer because the food was prepared next to the roof-top restaurant.
Our room was quite large with something like a dormer window (area) overlooking the lake. This area served as the third bed for my son. Unfortunately for him, it must have been ridden with bed-bugs because the following morning he had several bites and swellings on his arms and wrists - and these were definitely NOT mosquito bites!
The towels provided were damp and as seems to be the case in several hotels in India, were grey in colour and not white. Have they not heard of bleach? When I complained, we were provided with brand-new, sparkling white towels which I am sure had never been previously used judging by the fact that they were not very absorbant.
After the first night when I went to have a shower, discovered there was no hot water. Complained to Reception and someone was sent up. He informed me that a little button on the lighting switch panel needed to have been depressed. I asked him how were we expected to know this?
There was a jug of water supplied in the room unlike all the other hotels which supplied bottled water. So we had no idea of the provenance of what was in the jug!
Decided to have breakfast and allow the water to heat up. Went back to the room after approximately one hour - still no hot water!
Rang our tour operator in Delhi and complained about the conditions and they said they would sort something out whilst we were on a tour of the fort and a boat ride on the lake.
Came back and were offered and shown another room in a much cleaner state which we accepted. Was later introduced to the owner of the hotel who apologised, saying that they were continually fully booked which made it difficult to clean the rooms properly. I told him that he should prevent occupation of each room for a day in rotation and thoroughly clean out the room. He accepted my suggestion and it will be interesting to see if other future guests note any change.
As some sort of compensation, we later found three bags of potato crisps and three small bars of Cadbury's milk chocolate in the room!
Really such a pity as with a bit of TLC this could be such a great hotel - especially with the lakeside location it enjoys and with little shops and restaurants outside the hotel gates.
I sincerely hope that my complaints and suggestions are taken to heart to improve conditions in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NICOL62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaipur
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Begin a Line producer i was searching a Royal Heritage property at Udaipur......one day i reached at this place .......me and my producer finalize 2 sweets for the shoot........beside tht Owners Mrs Ragni Singh Ji and Mr S P Singh ji are always at Reception to check the hospitality......
And finally the Roof Top Restaurant is one of the Best Roof top in Rajasthan ***
Must visit this property if you are in Udaipur-Rajasthan

Room Tip: Lake side Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yusuf k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012 via mobile

The staf is friendly, but the room was not nice. Bedcover with stai s, but the upper sheet gave the impf
Ression being used before. They changed after our remarks and the extra towels had a mu h better quality. Also than the shampoo arrived. We really don't need lots of soaps, showercaps or moisterizers. So it was not inspected properly. The tv gave a view with a lot of snow. Bathroom was clean enough.
Rooftop was closed and shabby with covers over the seats, so it did not invite to spend their some time. The lakeview was nice.
Breakfast was average, with extra porridge or cornflakes.
I would no-one advise to vo their or go back there myself. I think it is overpriced compared to other hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsevier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indore, Madhya Pradesh, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for just one night and thats where we made a mistake. We should have stayed for at least two more days. One because there is so much to see and feel in Udaipur and two because this is a great place to stay.
This hotel is located at the best possible location. It is right next to the lake and one can view the city palace right across. Although getting there takes some effort because the old city has very narrow lanes, but the effort is worth it.
Once inside you feel like having walked into a kings palace. The place has a warm and comforting feel to it. The staff is very courteous and helping. The manager can advice you about the sight seeing in and around Udaipur also.
The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The view from the balcony is fantabulous. You are sitting right at the edge of the lake. During the day you can see all the old buildings on the other side of the lake and watch and actually hear the people across the lake. At night it gets even better, specially from the roof top restaurant, when you can see the illuminated palaces. The view from the roof top is amazing. The restaurant staff is also very well mannered and the food was great.
To summarize, it is the best place to stay in Udaipur and real value for money.

Room Tip: Go for the lake facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldoc71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This hotel has the most beautiful view of Udaipur, specially from the rooftop. Each room has an balcony where you can look and listen what is happening at the other side of the lake. It's just beautiful

The hotel is an old palace with a wonderful collection of old pictures and paintings.

The staff is very, very nice and helpful.

I totally recomend having a swim in the lake and crossing to the floating palace!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mpdoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
1.0 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 157 in Udaipur
2,271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 157 in Udaipur
2,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#17 of 157 in Udaipur
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 157 in Udaipur
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 157 in Udaipur
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Pichola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Pichola Hotel

Property: Lake Pichola Hotel
Address: Lake Palace Road | Near Hanuman Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#20 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Pichola Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Pichola Hotel is a beautiful hotel on the western banks of Pichola Lake. Most of the rooms have have balconies hanging on the lake overlooking the majestic palaces and the walled city of Udaipur. It has a stunning roof top wid 360 degrees view and an elegant restaurant called Upre. It has a palatial lobby with 8 Bohemian chandeliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Lake Pichola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Pichola Udaipur
Hotel Lake Pichola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing