We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view..”
Review of Lake Pichola Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Pichola Hotel
Ranked #20 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed at the Lake Pichola for 5 days and it was a comfortable stay. The rooms are small but the setting is amazing. All face the lake with the city palace view. There is small alcove near the windows facing the lake with beautiful views.
The furniture in the room is a bit run down and old. The bathroom is large but needs renovation specially the shower, the spout of which sprayed water all over.
The breakfast is served in the lobby and you can definitely skip it. The food is cold and so is the attitude of the servers.
We met the owners of the property on checkout, he was lovely well spoken man, I wish everyone the hotel were like him.
Recommend this place for the view, the restaurant (Upre) and the proximity from the city palace where you can walk to.
The exteriors of the hotel and the corridors are very traditional and well kept, the rooms need the same touch too.

Room Tip: Take the room on the 2nd floor because the boats passing during the day can practically see the insi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wandering-thots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Dear Guests,
We thank you for writing a review about our hotel. It is wonderful to learn that you spent five days with us which gives us the feeling that you were really satisfied to stay so long. Sir i am so surprised to know that you stayed five nights and did not bring the matter to our management or me to rectify your shower which does not take more than 30 minutes.

You have mentioned that the breakfast is served in our lobby.We have a restaurant on our ground floor and our this restaurant is named "Maharana" However if you found the food to be cold and also the attitude of the staff of the same caliber I shall surely look into the matter so it does not happen again.

Last but not the least can I request you to to let me know your name and in which room you stayed so I can check and get that renovated.I hope you help me so that the future guests do not face any such problems.

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

Hotel is nice, pleasant, cozy, staff very friendly. The view from the roof top restaurant is relaxing, inviting. So good to have a meal with such a beautiful view of Picchola Lake and the City Palace. I stayed in the standard room and I don't regret. Plenty of space, three single beds, clean and good bathroom, hot water all the time, complimentary shampoo, conditioner, moisturizer and other small items. Free bottle of water in the room. Good TV. Two inviting varandas sorrounding the room. Quiet! It is well worth the tariff! And Udaipur is so pleasant, with friendly people and the most fair prices of handcraft, clothes, shoes and arts that I found in India. A must to see in India!

Room Tip: You have to decide whether you want a lake view room. The standard rooms don't have lake view. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SONIA MARIA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your wonderful review. We are glad to know that you found our place cozy and pleasant. You found our standard rooms to your satisfaction gives us more pleasure as we feel that these rooms cannot show you the lake but as far as comfort level is concerned we tried our best to make them worthwhile. Since all these rooms are heritage rooms they were always spacious and with one or two balconies each.

You could also avail of the services of our roof top restaurant UPRE and enjoyed your meal as well as splendid view of the lake which your standard room could not offer. Udaipur always is the first choice for all the tourist visiting Rajasthan and to know that you found the people of Udaipur very friendly and they are very fair in dealing with their articles in shops gives us the feeling they are living up the expectations of the tourist visiting this wonderful town.

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This family owned hotel, right on the lake, has one of the most romantic views in the world. Our room looked across to the City and Lake Palaces, and had a small balcony where we could sit and watch the sunset. Kingfishers perched on the edge of the balcony, and cormorants also fished in the lake.
Room was comfortable, and the bathroom had a BATH - brilliant, after grotty showers elsewhere.
The rooftop restaurant was excellent, with a proper bar, very good views and top rate service.
This is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arnoldbakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Guests,

We thank you for your very valuable comments about our property. You have mentioned that you found this view as one of the most romantic view in the world. Well this credit goes to Udaipur for it's natural beauty and the selection of Maharana Udai Singhji who discovered this place and decided to make his capital here way back in 1559 A.D.

Our hotel is east facing thus one can see the rising sun as well as moon on a full moon light making it more romantic. Even at the time of sunset you can see the fading sunlight on various palaces on the opposite end of Pichola lake which are just breathtaking

We are glad to learn that you were also satisfied with our rooms, roof top ,bar and service. In fact it is our staff who are all the time making their best efforts to make your stay more comfortable.

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Awesome view from our room, was just superb and beautiful at nights with the lake in front and all around you, very romantic and superb. Value for money. Food was good, breakfast was good too and staff very polite and helpful. Must visit Lake Pichola.

Room Tip: Must visit - value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Akbar Travels
1  Thank DaphneY1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Guests,

Our sincere apologies for responding late to your kind review about our hotel. Like they say Location Location Location for our hotel industry.We are glad to know you were so satisfied with the view from your room. The magic of this lake just cannot be described by words it has a different charm all the time.

It is kind of you to appreciate our food.We shall make sure to compliment our staff for your appreciation for them as well.

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

İ stayed 2 nights in this hotel... You can fell that the hotel is very well managed.. Very friendly staff, excellent view the roof top restaurant, delicious food, hot and fresh tea and coffee, wifi, hot water.. Thanks Lake Pichola Hotel....

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asezgin2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your valuable feed back about our hotel. It is very important in our trade to firstly train ourself through proper institutes who groom us for the hotel industry. We in turn share that knowledge with the staff who are at your kind service.

It is very kind of you to appreciate our view,food,friendly staff and above all the warmth which plays
a very important part. We feel that the minute you walk into a hotel one should feel that "Yes "this is the place I want to be.

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Pichola Resort was hands down the best part of our 2 weeks in rajasthan. Our room was lush and comfortable (with a 10/10 VIEW), the food was spectacular and the service was phenomenal. The staff worked diligently to assure our comfort (asking if they could do anything) and meet our requests (holiday supplies). Moreover, the hotel's location is very close to downtown, and the main market area. Pichola is a way better option than a few of the $150/night places we splurged (and were hugely disappointed with)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MannyNewYorkCityGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your valuable comments which we shall always cherish . Most of our guests are highly impressed by the location of our hotel but all this credit goes to our ancestors who left this wonderful Haveli which we turned into a Heritage hotel.

We shall surely compliment our staff who played a prime part in making your holiday memorable one.Indeed the pricing too plays a very important part in our industry as one should get the value for his hard earned money.We are grateful to you for appreciating the finance part as well.

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We loved this hotel from the minute we walked into the lobby area with its british raj theme and decor and beautiful views from the terrace. The reception staff were very friendly and allowed us to switch our breakfast entitlement to the day we arrived as we were leaving very early on the day we checked out. They made a great effort to let us check in early which was very much appreciated after a 5am flight from Delhi. As for the room, it was truly beautiful - we stayed in the Padam Rani suite which had amazing views over the lake and the city palace - the room was huge and had a swing and a mattress seating area both with windows overlooking the lake as well as a separate seating area and a huge bathroom with a shower which had an integrated radio and a steam room! We felt like royalty staying here. The roof terrace is also lovely with great views especially at night although the service in the restaurant probably needs a bit more work. Location is fantastic- an easy walk over to the city palace and the main part of the town. One member of staff, unfortunately i did not get his name, was so helpful and friendly and went out of his way to make sure our stay was as comfortable as possible - a big thank you for that. A couple of very minor negative points were that we were not told that we had to leave our room keys at reception so when we returned in the evening, the room had not been cleaned. However once we told the staff about this, they very quickly made up for it and had the room cleaned at 9pm when we went out for dinner. The other thing is that there does seem to be a slight bit of preferential treatment for the big groups booking in who were welcomed with garlands and drinks however this was only a minor point and did not affect our enjoyment of the hotel. Whilst we did not have the opportunity to visit the Taj Lake Palace, we believe that this hotel provided an excellent service and experience with gorgeous views for a great value. We would definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and family and if we returned to Udaipur, we would choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: The suites are amazing and very good value with views of the lake and the city palace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Guests,

We are overwhelmed by your such appreciation about our property. I have dedicated this Rani Padam Suite to my mother and your total satisfaction gives me immense pleasure and a feeling that my mother must be blessing me.

We have briefed our staff to be at the kind disposal of all our guests to do whatever we can do to make their stay more comfortable. We shall surely try and see into the service part at the restaurant so in times to come other guests do not face any such difficulty.We appreciate your suggestion.

As far as garlanding and welcome drinks is concerned we do that for all our guests who are booked with us but your arrival was early in the morning and our garlands are not supplied to us that early.Now we have started ordering these garlands at night only. We look forward to receive you again to make your next visit more comfortable.

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 165 in Udaipur
2,318 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#17 of 165 in Udaipur
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 165 in Udaipur
1,066 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#15 of 165 in Udaipur
1,375 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 165 in Udaipur
2,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Pichola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Pichola Hotel

Address: Lake Palace Road | Near Hanuman Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#20 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £50 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Pichola Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Pichola Hotel is a beautiful hotel on the western banks of Pichola Lake. Most of the rooms have have balconies hanging on the lake overlooking the majestic palaces and the walled city of Udaipur. It has a stunning roof top wid 360 degrees view and an elegant restaurant called Upre. It has a palatial lobby with 8 Bohemian chandeliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Lake Pichola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Pichola Udaipur
Hotel Lake Pichola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing