We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good experience”
Review of Lake Pichola Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Pichola Hotel
Ranked #22 of 175 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Hotel ambiance is attractive, locations is a great advantage here. It was a pleasant stay although I didnt like the staff. They were rude, but the view from hotel made my experience pleasant.So I would suggest this to others

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jain_Ronny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your valuable review. Over the years most of our guests have been really impressed by our location which takes you to a different world as compared to other places.We are grateful to you as well for appreciating the ambiance.

Please accept our apologies for the atrocity of the staff which we shall surely look into and broom them into better citizens as howsoever good the hotel is but it is these people who can make it better by their graceful behavior.

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 746 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

Economical & gud location hotel on bank of lake Pichola. Hotel having huge lobby & lake facing rooms so view is awesome.
Food is average/ local transport easily available.
Reception staff not able to manage bookings so its better to advance booking.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank av5dubey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Guests,

We are grateful to you for your kind review. We are glad to know that you found our place economical at the same time it is well located. It gives us pleasure to learn that you were pleased with the view from our rooms.Due to many hotels in our area many Tuk Tuk are easily available.

We shall see what improvements can be done with the bookings done through our reception staff
as pointed out by you.We are obliged to you for your kind suggestion.


With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We spent Christmas time at this hotel. It is important to insist on a lake view room, as some of the court yard facing rooms don't even have a window. The room was nicely decorated, very clean and there was enough hot water, even if the sink tap was leaking considerably. The plumber who showed up was unable to fix the leakage. The lake view from the window, however, really makes the experience worthwhile. There was a nice little alcove with matrasses and a shallow Rajasthani table with a candle to create a very romantic set-up.

The location of the hotel is good: one can actually walk to the main attractions and there is not too much traffic (by Indian standards!).

The rooftop restaurant Upré serves nice Indian food, nothing remarkable but good basic fare. The Christmas eve buffet was a disappointment: the buffet was mostly unidentifiable curries. The dessert menu was sad: a small concession to a Christmas pudding would have been great!

The breakfast is rather monotonous: same spread every day and no proper coffee available - only Nescafe in pouches. The highlight was oatmeal porridge - which again tells that there was not much choice (greasy puris and chickpea curry, omelettes and cheap, "industrial" white toast). The masala chai was nice.

Would still recommend the hotel for its great location and good lake view. Good value for money.
The hotel staff is very friendly, even if the in the breakfast room the service was pretty laid-back.

Room Tip: Accept only lake view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silva332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Guests,

Firstly we wish you and your family a very Happy New year ahead. Ever grateful to you for sparing your valuable time and to write about our property. It is kind of you to appreciate our location and our ambiance.

We are glad to know that you liked the room which you found to be well decorated and very clean.Our apologies for the leaky tap which has been looked into.

We appreciate your gesture for liking our Indian food.Next X'mas we shall surely make even more varieties for the main course and desserts.It is kind of you to suggest on this as well.
We also have a la carte menu for our breakfast and it is not compulsory for any of our guests to have buffet breakfast.However we shall also keep in mind to increase more items for the buffet breakfast.We thank you for your kind suggestion.

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Wake up in your room to the sights and sounds of traditional Indian culture. Sit on your balcony and watch the day to day life of the locals and feel like you are on a movie set!!!! A Heritage Hotel offering a warm welcome and amazing views of the lake and palace, sit on your balcony and watch the locals doing their day to day activities. Walking distance to town.
Amazing rooftop restaurant serving ok food. Don't stay here if you are looking for Crowne Plaza type hotel, this is REAL India and yes the approach to the Hotel is difficult but if you are looking for culture this one is a gem. Go see!!!!!!

Room Tip: Always request lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMK15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Dear Guests,

Firstly we wish you and your family a very happy new year ahead. It is indeed very kind of you to spend your valuable time and to write a review about our hotel. We admire your eye for the vision you have for our beautiful town and country we have.

We are glad to know that you also enjoyed our roof top restaurant. Like you rightly mentioned that our approach is a bit difficult but we are getting in touch with the authorities to have traffic police organized so the tourist visiting this area would not face problems.

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

A great view of the lake from the rooftop restaurant. All else was below average. Approach road is a disaster if you are driving yourself. Food is just pass marks. Upre (rooftop restaurant) is far too expensive for the fare.

Staff - mixed experience. Some were very nice whereas some were plain simple terrible.

Room Tip: In case you want to be there - chose lake view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janix500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Guests,

We thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind gesture about the view from our "UPRE" restaurant. We had made this hotel in 1982 when there was not a single hotel or shops in this area.Today with the present population of this town and nearly 700 hotels we definitely agree with you that this area gets crowded at tourist season time and specially at X'mas and New year time when whole of Udaipur is packed with tourists.

The best part is this lane is when there is more traffic most of the shopkeepers help in sorting out the traffic.This kind of situation takes place in the entire area which includes the city palace museum and all the hotels as well.

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I chose this hotel as I wanted to stay in a heritage hotel with lift facility. We stayed in a standard room (without lakeview) as rooms with lakeside view are costlier. Our room was spacious and both room and toilets were very clean. The room, corridor and reception room all are decorated nicely, specially the reception hall looks like Durbar Hall in any other palaces we have seen earlier. In the night the view from restaurant in terrace is amazing. Quality of food is good but over priced. The owner of the hotel met us and informed about aspects of the hotel which we asked them. So we felt homely there. But a serious problem is that they have very limited parking place and the area is very much copnjested. So if anyone goes there with car in peak season he may have problem. We also faced the same problem for one night.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gopadgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Guests,

We thank you for your kind review. It is kind of you to appreciate our standard room which has all the facilities required except the lake view. We are glad to know that you liked our decor in our public areas as well.

We are pleased to learn that you not only enjoyed a good meal at our "UPRE" restaurant but also you could enjoy the view. You have mentioned that the area is cunjusted but you see many tourist have appreciated that this area has the best view in the world hence the 400 years old lanes have to be used to reach such an area.

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 days.

Location: Its location is good, facing lake pichola and walking distance to the City Palace, Jagdish Mandir and Bagore ki Haveli.

Rooms: I booked lake facing 2 rooms. Room is not very spacious but okay and there is a small balcony facing the lake. I liked it but 50% of space of balcony is occupied by Window AC unit but still I liked it sitting there and enjoying lake view. Bathroom is also okay. I am using word just okay as I expected more as per room rates.
Worst was that, when we entered the room and carpet of one of the room was so dirty. We even found dust particles on tables and chairs in the room. When asked for cleaning it then got such an ugly response from the room service staff

Food: We had lunch here on Day 1 when we arrived but it was a thumb down. Taste was okay but they took so much of time to get it. After one round of rotis, we were left to wait for another 5 minutes and when I looked at the bill, Gosh it was so costly.
1 Tea- Rs 75 + Taxes
3 Eggs – Rs 150 + Taxes
Suggestion is that don’t eat here at all.

Staff: People at reception are well mannered but lower staff needs to be given etiquette classes for behaving with the guests. One person who seems to be the incharge of room services was horrible. He don’t know how to deal in a service industry. We complained about him and related person in hotel acknowledged our complaint and even called that guy. I don’t know what action they have taken after that.

Service and Maintenance of this hotel needs a real upgrade.

Room Tip: You can plan for some other hotel which are not lake facing but provide better service. I guess inst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abhishekgusain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Dear Guests,

We thank you for your review about our hotel. It is kind of you to appreciate our location which you found to be convenient for a tourist. We have taken serious action against our room service and food & beverage staff and shall make sure such complains do not occur in future.We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you and your family.

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 175 in Udaipur
2,394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#23 of 175 in Udaipur
1,115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#43 of 175 in Udaipur
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.1 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#36 of 175 in Udaipur
810 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#81 of 175 in Udaipur
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Pichola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Pichola Hotel

Address: Lake Palace Road | Near Hanuman Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#14 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £49 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Pichola Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Pichola Hotel is a beautiful hotel on the western banks of Pichola Lake. Most of the rooms have have balconies hanging on the lake overlooking the majestic palaces and the walled city of Udaipur. It has a stunning roof top wid 360 degrees view and an elegant restaurant called Upre. It has a palatial lobby with 8 Bohemian chandeliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lake Pichola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Pichola Udaipur
Hotel Lake Pichola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing