We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, great view, great service but only go in for a lake facing room.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Pichola Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Pichola Hotel
Ranked #14 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
95 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Location, great view, great service but only go in for a lake facing room.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at Lake Pichola hotel for Christmas 2013 and were fortunate to get a lake facing suite. The good parts:
1. The view: The best thing about the hotel is the view... It is situated right on Lake Pichola facing the beautiful old monuments that make the skyline of Udaipur (check pictures). The view from our room was such that we spent most of the time sitting one one of the 2 balconies in our room that hung right over the lake. We could spot eagles fishing in the lake and migratory birds sitting on an island inside the lake.
2. The location: The location of the hotel is the next best thing about it: it is right in the middle of the old part of town with most monuments just walking distance from the hotel. The streets around the hotel are quite narrow and it is better to walk or take a rikshaw than to take a cab.
3. The service: After our experience with Udai Kothi across the road we found the service at Lake Pichola hotel very good, friendly and accommodating. It was quick and friendly and courteous.
4. The rooms: Our lake facing suite was beautiful. The room had 2 covered balconies over the lake: one with low seating and the other with a swing. Kids had a great time on the swing. The rooms were clean and spacious.
5. The decor: The decor of the hotel is authentic but can be more stylish than what it is right now. With the location and the view and the service the way they are, if the decor, ambiance, and bathrooms can be upgraded, this hotel can be one of the best properties to stay in Udaipur.
6. The bathrooms: The bathroom was spacious, clean and had hot water round the clock. But it lacked the kind of style and elegance one would expect after looking at the rooms and public areas of the hotel. (check pictures)
7. Food: We had breakfast which was included in our package and it was adequate and comparable to other hotels in this category. Other than that we found the food a bit on the spicier side.
8. The spa is nothing more than a room with a masseuse and is quite tacky and must be avoided.
9. Umre the rooftop restaurant has great ambiance and view. We did not sample the food there.
I would strongly recommend that if you decide to stay in the hotel, only go for the lake facing rooms or suites.

Room Tip: Go for lake facing suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank afshan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guests,

We are over whelmed by your long and details review about our suite. It is kind of you to appreciate our location and the breadth taking view from the hotel. It is nice to learn that you also enjoyed a little bird watching from our property.

It gives us a sense of satisfaction that you found our service to be quick,friendly and courteous.We shall make sure to thank all our staff for your valuable appreciation for them. We shall look into your suggestion for the renovation of our bathroom which could be better than what it is today,however this can be only done during our off season. By your good wishes we shall endeavor to make this hotel as one of the best property in Udaipur.

You have mentioned about a spa but we do not have one.It is just a massage room where one can be refreshed with various Aryuvedic therapies.

With best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    286
    76
    23
    17
See reviews for
192
242
38
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Hotel ambiance is attractive, locations is a great advantage here. It was a pleasant stay although I didnt like the staff. They were rude, but the view from hotel made my experience pleasant.So I would suggest this to others

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jain_Ronny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your valuable review. Over the years most of our guests have been really impressed by our location which takes you to a different world as compared to other places.We are grateful to you as well for appreciating the ambiance.

Please accept our apologies for the atrocity of the staff which we shall surely look into and broom them into better citizens as howsoever good the hotel is but it is these people who can make it better by their graceful behavior.

With best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Economical & gud location hotel on bank of lake Pichola. Hotel having huge lobby & lake facing rooms so view is awesome.
Food is average/ local transport easily available.
Reception staff not able to manage bookings so its better to advance booking.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank av5dubey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guests,

We are grateful to you for your kind review. We are glad to know that you found our place economical at the same time it is well located. It gives us pleasure to learn that you were pleased with the view from our rooms.Due to many hotels in our area many Tuk Tuk are easily available.

We shall see what improvements can be done with the bookings done through our reception staff
as pointed out by you.We are obliged to you for your kind suggestion.


With best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We spent Christmas time at this hotel. It is important to insist on a lake view room, as some of the court yard facing rooms don't even have a window. The room was nicely decorated, very clean and there was enough hot water, even if the sink tap was leaking considerably. The plumber who showed up was unable to fix the leakage. The lake view from the window, however, really makes the experience worthwhile. There was a nice little alcove with matrasses and a shallow Rajasthani table with a candle to create a very romantic set-up.

The location of the hotel is good: one can actually walk to the main attractions and there is not too much traffic (by Indian standards!).

The rooftop restaurant Upré serves nice Indian food, nothing remarkable but good basic fare. The Christmas eve buffet was a disappointment: the buffet was mostly unidentifiable curries. The dessert menu was sad: a small concession to a Christmas pudding would have been great!

The breakfast is rather monotonous: same spread every day and no proper coffee available - only Nescafe in pouches. The highlight was oatmeal porridge - which again tells that there was not much choice (greasy puris and chickpea curry, omelettes and cheap, "industrial" white toast). The masala chai was nice.

Would still recommend the hotel for its great location and good lake view. Good value for money.
The hotel staff is very friendly, even if the in the breakfast room the service was pretty laid-back.

Room Tip: Accept only lake view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silva332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guests,

Firstly we wish you and your family a very Happy New year ahead. Ever grateful to you for sparing your valuable time and to write about our property. It is kind of you to appreciate our location and our ambiance.

We are glad to know that you liked the room which you found to be well decorated and very clean.Our apologies for the leaky tap which has been looked into.

We appreciate your gesture for liking our Indian food.Next X'mas we shall surely make even more varieties for the main course and desserts.It is kind of you to suggest on this as well.
We also have a la carte menu for our breakfast and it is not compulsory for any of our guests to have buffet breakfast.However we shall also keep in mind to increase more items for the buffet breakfast.We thank you for your kind suggestion.

With best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Wake up in your room to the sights and sounds of traditional Indian culture. Sit on your balcony and watch the day to day life of the locals and feel like you are on a movie set!!!! A Heritage Hotel offering a warm welcome and amazing views of the lake and palace, sit on your balcony and watch the locals doing their day to day activities. Walking distance to town.
Amazing rooftop restaurant serving ok food. Don't stay here if you are looking for Crowne Plaza type hotel, this is REAL India and yes the approach to the Hotel is difficult but if you are looking for culture this one is a gem. Go see!!!!!!

Room Tip: Always request lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BMK15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Guests,

Firstly we wish you and your family a very happy new year ahead. It is indeed very kind of you to spend your valuable time and to write a review about our hotel. We admire your eye for the vision you have for our beautiful town and country we have.

We are glad to know that you also enjoyed our roof top restaurant. Like you rightly mentioned that our approach is a bit difficult but we are getting in touch with the authorities to have traffic police organized so the tourist visiting this area would not face problems.

With best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

A great view of the lake from the rooftop restaurant. All else was below average. Approach road is a disaster if you are driving yourself. Food is just pass marks. Upre (rooftop restaurant) is far too expensive for the fare.

Staff - mixed experience. Some were very nice whereas some were plain simple terrible.

Room Tip: In case you want to be there - chose lake view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janix500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind gesture about the view from our "UPRE" restaurant. We had made this hotel in 1982 when there was not a single hotel or shops in this area.Today with the present population of this town and nearly 700 hotels we definitely agree with you that this area gets crowded at tourist season time and specially at X'mas and New year time when whole of Udaipur is packed with tourists.

The best part is this lane is when there is more traffic most of the shopkeepers help in sorting out the traffic.This kind of situation takes place in the entire area which includes the city palace museum and all the hotels as well.

With best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

I chose this hotel as I wanted to stay in a heritage hotel with lift facility. We stayed in a standard room (without lakeview) as rooms with lakeside view are costlier. Our room was spacious and both room and toilets were very clean. The room, corridor and reception room all are decorated nicely, specially the reception hall looks like Durbar Hall in any other palaces we have seen earlier. In the night the view from restaurant in terrace is amazing. Quality of food is good but over priced. The owner of the hotel met us and informed about aspects of the hotel which we asked them. So we felt homely there. But a serious problem is that they have very limited parking place and the area is very much copnjested. So if anyone goes there with car in peak season he may have problem. We also faced the same problem for one night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gopadgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your kind review. It is kind of you to appreciate our standard room which has all the facilities required except the lake view. We are glad to know that you liked our decor in our public areas as well.

We are pleased to learn that you not only enjoyed a good meal at our "UPRE" restaurant but also you could enjoy the view. You have mentioned that the area is cunjusted but you see many tourist have appreciated that this area has the best view in the world hence the 400 years old lanes have to be used to reach such an area.

With best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#10 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,217 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#19 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#1 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#12 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Pichola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Pichola Hotel

Property: Lake Pichola Hotel
Address: Lake Palace Road | near Hanuman Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#20 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Pichola Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LPH is a beautiful hotel on the banks of Pichola Lake. 85% of the rooms have have balconies hanging on the lake overlooking the majestic palaces and the walled city of Udaipur. It has a stunning roof top wid 360 degrees view and an elegant restaurant called Chandni. It has a palatial lobby with 8 Bohemian chandeliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Lake Pichola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Pichola Udaipur
Hotel Lake Pichola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing