We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY quirky but very likeable too...”
Review of Lake Pichola Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Pichola Hotel
Ranked #15 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“VERY quirky but very likeable too...”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Not everyone will like this hotel. The breakfast was really quite dire (sachet coffee is always a giveaway) and the beds were perhaps the most uncomfortable we had in India, all topped off with mean pillows. The foyer is a crazy crescendo of design and the man at the front desk/bureau de change was, at best, civil. (He looked at me most perplexed when I asked for a map of the city and then directed me to a travel guide listing expensive shops...no map.)
So...what's to like? The views are AMAZING...utterly stunning. They overlook the city palace and minute by minute (as the light changes) the scene unfolds offering new perspectives. There is a wonderful rooftop bar and although we didn't eat there I've been told that the food is top quality.
The decor is a quirky faded '60s chic and the whackiness of it all adds to the experience. I really liked this hotel, despite its flaws, it has charm and personality in buckets, plus good access to the town. If you like your mainstream internationally run type places, give this one a miss. But if you like top views, don't mind things to be a little peculiar and can forgive the ordinary breakfast bar, then put this on your radar.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drewmqSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guests,

Indeed we are very grateful to you for writing a very different review about our hotel.You have truly
described us in such a manner that one gives a thought to stay with us or not. Anyway as pointed out by you we have decided to make quite some changes like new beds and pillows which you felt were not to your satisfaction.

You have mentioned that there were coffee sachets but one can order coffee of his choice.These sachets are merely kept on the table just in case one wishes his coffee to be more strong.

We are glad that you liked our foyer which you found to be interesting. City maps are available
free of charge which come in monthly booklet called GO UDAIPUR and they are available 24 hours at our reception counter.

We fail to understand if you were told that food is top quality and a wonderful bar at our roof top how come you did not try it.Anyway we are very grateful to you for your kind suggestions and we shall surely try our best to make ourselves better for our valued future guests.

With best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    297
    81
    23
    18
See reviews for
194
256
40
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here in October 2013. The hotel staff was very friendly. Room and Toilet/bathroom was clean, well maintained and attended. This is a Haveli converted to hotel which gives you traditional look everywhere. The main attraction of this hotel is FOOD and VIEWS. Candle light dinner at roof top Restaurant overlooking Palace and Lake Pichola was just Wonderful. City Palace and Jagdish Temple is at walkable distance.

The hotel is slightly away from main road. However, the positive side of this is the hotel area is calm. We like to stay again there and have that great food and views.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAYADEVAN1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your review about our hotel. Nice to learn that you found our hotel staff friendly.
Also you were pleased with the room and bathrooms to be clean and well maintained.

It is kind of you appreciate our food which you relished with a romantic candle light. Udaipur over the years has grown but yet we can say it is yet comfortable to move around unlike many other cities which have had the population explosion.

With best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel, but went to the restaurant twice, very friendly and helpful service, GREAT food, best we had in India and amazing views of the lake and the City Palace. Having dinner even when chilly was very special since they prepare a fire next to the table. Really recommended!

Room Tip: even if you don't stay there go for the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guillem1714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your rewarding review about our "UPRE" restaurant. It gives us great pleasure to learn that you found our food and service the best you had in India. We wish that you could have also stayed with us as you found the view to be amazing.

With best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a fabulous location, really handy for all the sights and right on lake pichola, the rooftop terrace area is simply perfect to sit with drinks and watch the day light end and see all the lights come on in the city. (We didn't try the food). However, I was a little disappointed with the room, it wasn't as clean as I think it should've been and the bed seemed like it had seen better days. Also wifi did not reach the room. We had a deluxe room. The breakfast did not look appealing so we decided to eat out. However, the staff were friendly and accommodating.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Battyemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your valuable review about our hotel. We shall surely look into our furniture which you found had seen better days. We have done the changes in two of our rooms and the balance work is on and it would be done shortly as we do not wish to disturb the guests as this is our prime business time. We have all ready checked and done the WIFI work. We are very grateful for your kind suggestions.

It is very kind of you to appreciate our location which you found to be fabulous. Indeed one can spend hours sitting here and admire the view.

With best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
103 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at Lake Pichola hotel for Christmas 2013 and were fortunate to get a lake facing suite. The good parts:
1. The view: The best thing about the hotel is the view... It is situated right on Lake Pichola facing the beautiful old monuments that make the skyline of Udaipur (check pictures). The view from our room was such that we spent most of the time sitting one one of the 2 balconies in our room that hung right over the lake. We could spot eagles fishing in the lake and migratory birds sitting on an island inside the lake.
2. The location: The location of the hotel is the next best thing about it: it is right in the middle of the old part of town with most monuments just walking distance from the hotel. The streets around the hotel are quite narrow and it is better to walk or take a rikshaw than to take a cab.
3. The service: After our experience with Udai Kothi across the road we found the service at Lake Pichola hotel very good, friendly and accommodating. It was quick and friendly and courteous.
4. The rooms: Our lake facing suite was beautiful. The room had 2 covered balconies over the lake: one with low seating and the other with a swing. Kids had a great time on the swing. The rooms were clean and spacious.
5. The decor: The decor of the hotel is authentic but can be more stylish than what it is right now. With the location and the view and the service the way they are, if the decor, ambiance, and bathrooms can be upgraded, this hotel can be one of the best properties to stay in Udaipur.
6. The bathrooms: The bathroom was spacious, clean and had hot water round the clock. But it lacked the kind of style and elegance one would expect after looking at the rooms and public areas of the hotel. (check pictures)
7. Food: We had breakfast which was included in our package and it was adequate and comparable to other hotels in this category. Other than that we found the food a bit on the spicier side.
8. The spa is nothing more than a room with a masseuse and is quite tacky and must be avoided.
9. Umre the rooftop restaurant has great ambiance and view. We did not sample the food there.
I would strongly recommend that if you decide to stay in the hotel, only go for the lake facing rooms or suites.

Room Tip: Go for lake facing suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afshan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guests,

We are over whelmed by your long and details review about our suite. It is kind of you to appreciate our location and the breadth taking view from the hotel. It is nice to learn that you also enjoyed a little bird watching from our property.

It gives us a sense of satisfaction that you found our service to be quick,friendly and courteous.We shall make sure to thank all our staff for your valuable appreciation for them. We shall look into your suggestion for the renovation of our bathroom which could be better than what it is today,however this can be only done during our off season. By your good wishes we shall endeavor to make this hotel as one of the best property in Udaipur.

You have mentioned about a spa but we do not have one.It is just a massage room where one can be refreshed with various Aryuvedic therapies.

With best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Hotel ambiance is attractive, locations is a great advantage here. It was a pleasant stay although I didnt like the staff. They were rude, but the view from hotel made my experience pleasant.So I would suggest this to others

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jain_Ronny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your valuable review. Over the years most of our guests have been really impressed by our location which takes you to a different world as compared to other places.We are grateful to you as well for appreciating the ambiance.

Please accept our apologies for the atrocity of the staff which we shall surely look into and broom them into better citizens as howsoever good the hotel is but it is these people who can make it better by their graceful behavior.

With best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Economical & gud location hotel on bank of lake Pichola. Hotel having huge lobby & lake facing rooms so view is awesome.
Food is average/ local transport easily available.
Reception staff not able to manage bookings so its better to advance booking.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank av5dubey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guests,

We are grateful to you for your kind review. We are glad to know that you found our place economical at the same time it is well located. It gives us pleasure to learn that you were pleased with the view from our rooms.Due to many hotels in our area many Tuk Tuk are easily available.

We shall see what improvements can be done with the bookings done through our reception staff
as pointed out by you.We are obliged to you for your kind suggestion.


With best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 156 in Udaipur
2,933 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 156 in Udaipur
2,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#18 of 156 in Udaipur
316 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#23 of 156 in Udaipur
1,040 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ramada Udaipur Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Pichola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Pichola Hotel

Property: Lake Pichola Hotel
Address: Lake Palace Road | near Hanuman Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#20 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Pichola Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LPH is a beautiful hotel on the banks of Pichola Lake. 85% of the rooms have have balconies hanging on the lake overlooking the majestic palaces and the walled city of Udaipur. It has a stunning roof top wid 360 degrees view and an elegant restaurant called Chandni. It has a palatial lobby with 8 Bohemian chandeliers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake Pichola Udaipur
Hotel Lake Pichola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing