We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Pichola Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Pichola Hotel
Ranked #14 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

One of the most unique views,maybe world,s best comes at a reasonable price staying at Lake Pichola Hotel,Udaipur.Located on lake pichola with view of city palace on the opposite side,one should not miss the opportunity to stay in lake facing room.The restausrant on roof top has a very romantic view in nioght with the city palace litup to utmost splendour and the reflection of lights in the water below.Awesome cuisine in the Upre restaurant.Rooms and housekeeping need improvements but still the view makes up for small deficiencies.Very friendly and helpful management.

Room Tip: Look for lake facing first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AKS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Guests,

We thank you for such valuable appreciation about our location which you found to be unique and maybe one of world's best. Indeed we are really blessed to be located in such a place which is really out of the world.

We are glad you also enjoyed your meals on our roof top restaurant "UPRE" with the majestic city palace lit up at night making our place the most romantic view of Udaipur.

We shall surely improve upon our housekeeping department to make your stay more comfortable the next time you wish to visit this magical city.

With best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    287
    76
    23
    17
See reviews for
192
243
38
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed two nights in mid january, room #206.
There is something a bit funky about the hotel, which we liked.
It has seen better days perhaps, but it is still a fun place to stay.
It is located on a very narrow street, one car at a time. Quiet though.
Our room was lake side, a must, with an interior balcony from which you can look at life on the other side, confortably resting on pillows.
Open the windows and you can hear the sounds of Udaipur accross the lake, the singing and drumming from a temple near by, the bat hitting the laundry being cleaned on the shore.
The small heater provided was welcome, the silver bed. . . unusual.
The bathroom is basic, and the tub had a small leak.
One can easily walk to the other side of the lake, all the way to the Palace, by the footbridge a few minutes away.
A good leather shoemaker is located on the left as you leave the hotel, on a square maybe 100 meters away or less.
We were able to bargain for a better rate than the one offered at the money changer outside before you exit the courtyard.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stechaphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guests,

We are thankful to you for your precious time to write a review about our hotel. We appreciate your vision for the life of a small town where people lead a simple life which you mentioned you could see on the other side of the lake.

We are glad you liked our furniture and the balcony which you found to be cozy. We have checked the tub you had mentioned which did not have a small leak but the water had spilled from one side. Yes a small stroll on our narrow lanes can be very interesting with tiny shops offering a multitude of stuff for you to carry as gifts from this small town.

With best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Visited the place twice - with my wife,a sophisticated couple in oct, tht's because 1st time one of my friends took me their for some buddy weekend gateway in summer. & both times i enjoyed the different types of hotel experience (on the good side ofcourse) at a same place.
Food was both times delicious. Bar menu is good and reasonable. The evening dinner on the rooftop pool (equal to small backyard pool size) was nice having the palace view and great sitting. My wife ate more than she could chew (after two taquila shots which she doesn't remember)!

Its situated interior and reaching requires a bit of effort, but staff will help out surely (as i always say, make use of the map apps in your phones). lakeside view is not grand but can be good if you enjoy everything in life. i liked the balcony sitting for two. Rooms are not lavish but will give you a good feel of the traditional Rajsthani living style. (i am a Rajasthani too).

Nice and courteous staff! The owners are good hearted souls and you can talk to them about the old royal stories too! Ensure Card payment facility! Maynot work sometimes.

From here the areas to explore aren't far and can walk during mornings and evenings as per convenience. Or enjoy the palace view at any time from the roof.

For foreigner travellors- the reasonable rates of hotel and packages will give you good experience. nice food and amenities. Walking down street from here is safe and no troubles from locals. the pool experience is good and service for drinks available right beside the pool ( though pool access open only till 1900hours).

i do recommend the lake side rooms, but for couples, the inside rooms are bigger and spacious.

Room Tip: Lake side view - small, but good for two. Inside rooms - comfortable and spacious. better for a cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guests,

We thank you sparing your valuable time to write such a long and descriptive review about our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our place during both your visits. Nice to learn you were also satisfied with our food as well as bar.

We are surprised to learn that you did not find the lake side view grand as all tourist really fall in love with the panoramic view in this part of the city. It is nice to know that you were satisfied with our staff whom you found to be courteous. We here in Rajasthan are really proud of our history and the stories of valor and courage are the assets of our bye gone era.

We do agree our deluxe(lake facing) rooms are just perfect for two but our standard rooms are large and very spacious but they lack the lake view.

With best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We discovered this hotel property by chance in March 2013, when someone suggested their rooftop restaurant. went there for dinner, and the whoel experience (food, ambiance, service, property location & rooms) was so good that we shifted there with our bags the next morning... we visited Udaipur again in December 2013, and without any doubt just stayed at Lake Pichola Hotel again. The experience the 2nd time was even better than the 1st, coz we had more days in hand... It is by far one of the best properties in Udaipur. have gone to Udaipur 5-6 times, would recommend this property to everyone!! Lake Pichola has amazing location. beautiful sit-out balconies attached to the rooms that give a perfect view and you can enjoy sitting by the lakeside. the restaurant serves amazing food, by far the best in the city. most recommended!

Room Tip: Lake facing rooms are excellent to enjoy the good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AashimaMishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Guests,

We have to really thank you from the bottom of our hearts to appreciate our property .It is guests like you who boost us so much that we are encouraged to make ourselves better every day. We are glad that due to your dining at our roof top restaurant you discovered our hotel and liked it so much and made it your permanent place whenever you visit Udaipur.

We are pleased to know you not only liked our location but the rooms and our food and the view from the restaurant. We shall surly live up to your expectations whenever you visit us again.

With best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We a group of 8 stayed here from 27th to 29th Jan 14(2nights & 3days). We had arrived here from mount abu by a Tempo traveller which had to be parked 1 km away from the hotel as the approach road was very narrow and with haphazard traffic. Although the hotel sent two of their vehicles to shift us with luggage both on check-in and check-out, all other occasions we had to walk the distance from hotel to our vehicle parking which could be 3 to 4 times a day. Even guests with cars were finding it very difficult to bring in or take out their vehicles. This is the case with most of the hotel on the banks of lake pichola and there is alway traffic congestion making it even difficult walk the distance in peak hours. With regard to hotel the rooms are great heritage type & well maintained bang on the lake. But their restaurant is not at all good. At least if the food were to be good, we would not have bothered about their tariff. But quality of the food served was poor but the rates were of five star type.

Room Tip: You can choose any deluxe rooms they have great views. the ground floor rooms are bang on the lake e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayaram G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your valuable time to write a review about our hotel. Time and again many tourist have written about our approach which they fine terrible,congested with narrow lanes and bad traffic. Yes we very much agree with you also, but have you ever imagined that although so many people find this approach so terrible and yet the traffic gets bigger very day. The reason is every tourist wants to see the best view in town which this area offers.

There are many hotels in Udaipur which are in the outskirts as well with excellent approach where your cars,tempo travelers and even buses can reach very easily but they just cannot offer you the view which this area offers.

It is very kind of you to appreciate our rooms which you found to be of heritage type and well maintained

With best wishes,


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Lake Pichola hotel was a good choice when I was in Udaipur for my short but much enjoyed stay in late January. Hotel is clean, staff are helpful, food is good, location is perfect...what else can you ask for! I had a lake-facing room, and what a good way to start your day -- with the beautiful sunrise shining right through your room (...not too bright, don't worry, as windows are tinted).

The hotel also set me up with a driver, "Deva," who is a local to the city and knows all the best spots. His English is also quite good. I highly recommend him -- ask the hotel for him when you book!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guests,

We are ever grateful to you for appreciating our property. It gives us immense pleasure to know that you were pleased with our location,staff,food and clean rooms. We shall surely maintain ourselves to meet the expectations of all our valued guests who would be visiting us in future.

We are glad that the driver suggested was of help to you while you enjoyed the beautiful sights of our most beautiful city. We are always grateful to guests like you who put up such encouraging words to boost up our image.

With best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

The public areas in this hotel are beautiful but the rooms and ensuites are looking very tired and in need of some tlc. The bad was extremely uncomfortable and the shower very dodgy. The roof top restuarent Upre was fantastic and we had coffee on the terrace which was very pleasant. Breakfast was expensive and the staff very unhelpful which was a shock after everywhere else we had stayed

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your review. It is very kind of you to appreciate our location and public areas. As far as the suites and rooms are concerned we shall surely be doing our level best as soon as we get the time as they are booked daily during our tourist season.

It is nice to learn that you enjoyed our roof top restaurant where you could sip a coffee. Thank you for kind support and we shall surely do our level best to make ourselves even better by your valuable suggestions.

With best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#10 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,217 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#20 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#1 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#12 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Pichola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Pichola Hotel

Property: Lake Pichola Hotel
Address: Lake Palace Road | near Hanuman Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#20 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Pichola Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LPH is a beautiful hotel on the banks of Pichola Lake. 85% of the rooms have have balconies hanging on the lake overlooking the majestic palaces and the walled city of Udaipur. It has a stunning roof top wid 360 degrees view and an elegant restaurant called Chandni. It has a palatial lobby with 8 Bohemian chandeliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Lake Pichola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Pichola Udaipur
Hotel Lake Pichola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing