We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Pichola Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (786)
Filter reviews
786 results
Traveller rating
310
330
99
26
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
330
99
26
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantlake picholacity palaceheritage hotelnarrow lanessmall balconystandard roomfabulous locationhotel is locatedold cityfirst floorapproach roadnight viewenjoy the viewsitting areathe ground floorbagore ki haveli
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
465 - 470 of 786 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We were greeted with smile and told politely to wait for the room to be ready as we were before the check in time.

I would like to place my appreciation for the front desk staff specially Mr. Surendra Singh.

We were provided with some extra items like mattress without any hesitation.

Rooms are good and have have good view of lake.

Room Tip: Please take a room having lake view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarjitSinghBhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Guests,

We thank you for your kind review. We shall surely compliment Mr.Surendra Singh and his team for receiving you with a smile and politeness as the first impression of any hotel begins right at the reception.

We are glad that you found our rooms to be good offering you a nice view of the serene Pichola lake.

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

One of the most unique views,maybe world,s best comes at a reasonable price staying at Lake Pichola Hotel,Udaipur.Located on lake pichola with view of city palace on the opposite side,one should not miss the opportunity to stay in lake facing room.The restausrant on roof top has a very romantic view in nioght with the city palace litup to utmost splendour and the reflection of lights in the water below.Awesome cuisine in the Upre restaurant.Rooms and housekeeping need improvements but still the view makes up for small deficiencies.Very friendly and helpful management.

Room Tip: Look for lake facing first floor room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Guests,

We thank you for such valuable appreciation about our location which you found to be unique and maybe one of world's best. Indeed we are really blessed to be located in such a place which is really out of the world.

We are glad you also enjoyed your meals on our roof top restaurant "UPRE" with the majestic city palace lit up at night making our place the most romantic view of Udaipur.

We shall surely improve upon our housekeeping department to make your stay more comfortable the next time you wish to visit this magical city.

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed two nights in mid january, room #206.
There is something a bit funky about the hotel, which we liked.
It has seen better days perhaps, but it is still a fun place to stay.
It is located on a very narrow street, one car at a time. Quiet though.
Our room was lake side, a must, with an interior balcony from which you can look at life on the other side, confortably resting on pillows.
Open the windows and you can hear the sounds of Udaipur accross the lake, the singing and drumming from a temple near by, the bat hitting the laundry being cleaned on the shore.
The small heater provided was welcome, the silver bed. . . unusual.
The bathroom is basic, and the tub had a small leak.
One can easily walk to the other side of the lake, all the way to the Palace, by the footbridge a few minutes away.
A good leather shoemaker is located on the left as you leave the hotel, on a square maybe 100 meters away or less.
We were able to bargain for a better rate than the one offered at the money changer outside before you exit the courtyard.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stechaphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Guests,

We are thankful to you for your precious time to write a review about our hotel. We appreciate your vision for the life of a small town where people lead a simple life which you mentioned you could see on the other side of the lake.

We are glad you liked our furniture and the balcony which you found to be cozy. We have checked the tub you had mentioned which did not have a small leak but the water had spilled from one side. Yes a small stroll on our narrow lanes can be very interesting with tiny shops offering a multitude of stuff for you to carry as gifts from this small town.

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Visited the place twice - with my wife,a sophisticated couple in oct, tht's because 1st time one of my friends took me their for some buddy weekend gateway in summer. & both times i enjoyed the different types of hotel experience (on the good side ofcourse) at a same place.
Food was both times delicious. Bar menu is good and reasonable. The evening dinner on the rooftop pool (equal to small backyard pool size) was nice having the palace view and great sitting. My wife ate more than she could chew (after two taquila shots which she doesn't remember)!

Its situated interior and reaching requires a bit of effort, but staff will help out surely (as i always say, make use of the map apps in your phones). lakeside view is not grand but can be good if you enjoy everything in life. i liked the balcony sitting for two. Rooms are not lavish but will give you a good feel of the traditional Rajsthani living style. (i am a Rajasthani too).

Nice and courteous staff! The owners are good hearted souls and you can talk to them about the old royal stories too! Ensure Card payment facility! Maynot work sometimes.

From here the areas to explore aren't far and can walk during mornings and evenings as per convenience. Or enjoy the palace view at any time from the roof.

For foreigner travellors- the reasonable rates of hotel and packages will give you good experience. nice food and amenities. Walking down street from here is safe and no troubles from locals. the pool experience is good and service for drinks available right beside the pool ( though pool access open only till 1900hours).

i do recommend the lake side rooms, but for couples, the inside rooms are bigger and spacious.

Room Tip: Lake side view - small, but good for two. Inside rooms - comfortable and spacious. better for a couple/family.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Guests,

We thank you sparing your valuable time to write such a long and descriptive review about our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our place during both your visits. Nice to learn you were also satisfied with our food as well as bar.

We are surprised to learn that you did not find the lake side view grand as all tourist really fall in love with the panoramic view in this part of the city. It is nice to know that you were satisfied with our staff whom you found to be courteous. We here in Rajasthan are really proud of our history and the stories of valor and courage are the assets of our bye gone era.

We do agree our deluxe(lake facing) rooms are just perfect for two but our standard rooms are large and very spacious but they lack the lake view.

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We discovered this hotel property by chance in March 2013, when someone suggested their rooftop restaurant. went there for dinner, and the whoel experience (food, ambiance, service, property location & rooms) was so good that we shifted there with our bags the next morning... we visited Udaipur again in December 2013, and without any doubt just stayed at Lake Pichola Hotel again. The experience the 2nd time was even better than the 1st, coz we had more days in hand... It is by far one of the best properties in Udaipur. have gone to Udaipur 5-6 times, would recommend this property to everyone!! Lake Pichola has amazing location. beautiful sit-out balconies attached to the rooms that give a perfect view and you can enjoy sitting by the lakeside. the restaurant serves amazing food, by far the best in the city. most recommended!

Room Tip: Lake facing rooms are excellent to enjoy the good view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AashimaMishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Guests,

We have to really thank you from the bottom of our hearts to appreciate our property .It is guests like you who boost us so much that we are encouraged to make ourselves better every day. We are glad that due to your dining at our roof top restaurant you discovered our hotel and liked it so much and made it your permanent place whenever you visit Udaipur.

We are pleased to know you not only liked our location but the rooms and our food and the view from the restaurant. We shall surly live up to your expectations whenever you visit us again.

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews