We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three nights at lake city Udaipur”
Review of Lake Pichola Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Pichola Hotel
Ranked #19 of 167 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Rooms were basic with linen pretty average. Balcony does overlook lake with nice views. Food at roof top restaurant is nothing special and swimming pool is walled off from surrounding sunbathing area! You have to climb a short ladder to climb over to get into the pool!! Night sleep is disturbed by barking street dogs and approach is very narrow street. Staff are friendly and afternoon tea at verandah overlooking tbe lake is a bliss.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skraha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Guests,

We thank you for your review about our hotel. It is nice of you to appreciate our view from the rooms as well as the veranda. We shall surely call up the municipality staff to take up your suggestion of catching these stray dogs who were a disturbence in your sleep.

Also please be rest assured we shall take up the matter with our housekeeping department who did not check your room linen properly.

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 731 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

I had one of the best and relaxing stay at Lake Pichola. We had the hotel booked for 2D/1N however we happened to arrive in Udaipur by 5:30AM and we called the hotel to ask if we could check-in. To our utter surprise they let us check-in within minutes at 6AM, zero hassle and did not charge us any extra credit.
We got a lake-facing room and enjoyed an incredible sun-rise over the lake. We ordered some tea and refreshments and their room service was prompt. Initially the rooms were clean but we had to explicitly call the reception for cleaning up the room and replacing toiletries.

Location wise, it's very convenient just few minutes walk to city center and city palace, shopping areas and eateries. In the night we went up to their roof-top restaurant 'Ubré' which had an amazing view of the city and the Jal Mahal. They also had a small roof-top pool, which we did not try though.

To wrap it up it was an excellent place to put up if in Udaipur, although including a breakfast buffet would have been a good value for money. Can't wait to stay here again!!

Room Tip: Request for lake facing room, ALWAYS!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yojana78482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guests,

Many thanks for your warm and kind appreciation of our hotel. You mentioned that you could check in as early as as 6 a.m. gives you a satisfaction.Well our intention is if the room has been vacated early or maybe it was not occupied the previous night you can surely avail of that without any hesitation

You also liked our lake facing deluxe rooms and also the service gives us immense pleasure. We shall surely live up to your expectations whenever you wish to visit us again. We are glad you could enjoy your meal at our roof top restaurant with the fascinating view.

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Not easy to find, being completely un-signposted, but on the whole an excellent quiet location looking across an arm of the lake towards the City Palace - lovely views from our room, which had its own balcony, and from the rooftop restaurant. The lobby-cum-dining room (used only for breakfast and lunch - at dinner you eat on the roof whether you like it or not) has a miscellaneous collection of hideous chandeliers, and the bedrooms are a bit tired - cheap soap, shampoos etc, and small thin towels. There is poor insulation between the rooms, and a macaw in the courtyard aviary that sounds like a car alarm. Only Indian language channels on the TV. However, the food is definitely good, apart from a rather unimaginative (and un-Indian) selection of desserts, and a better bet than going down the road to the restaurant at Ahmet Haveli, which is so underlit that it's hard to see the menu.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to face the lake, so one is probably pretty much like another, unless you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

Dear Guests,

We thank you for your valuable time which you took out to write a review about our hotel. We are glad to learn that you found our location to be quiet and nice view.

We are surprised to learn that you wrote that one is forced to eat at the roof top whether you like it or not. You can surely eat in the Maharana restaurant or sit by the lake side or even order room service and have your meal in your room. However we thank you for appreciating the quality of our food.

We thank you for pointing out the changes which can be made for the bed rooms which we shall surely do as soon we can catch up with our off season as at the moment the hotel goes full daily and it can disturb other guests.

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We (4 ppl) stayed here for one night in feb 2014 in rooms 98 and 99. Hotel staff is courteous and extremely helpful except the front desk guy in the morning while check out!

Location is great, bar the massive traffic problem while coming to the hotel!
Hotel was full and we had not booked in earlier so we got ground floor rooms!

As far as lake and city palace view goes ground floor is not bad at all. Roof top restaurant is great too ( over priced but view and food was good so not bad )

Few things in room 99 -

cockroaches seen in bathroom, hot water not consistent enough, electrical plug not working in the room, one bedside light not working, linen looked like not fresh had holes in bed sheet, small carpet near bed was filthy (dirty).

We were too tired to complain and it was very late so adjusted but while checkout i did mentioned this - i felt irritated that complain was neglected, i thought the front desk guy was thinking i am making up stories to get discount!!! Rubbish...

Room housekeeping needs serious attention!!!

Otherwise our stay was not bad!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxpayne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Guests,

We thank you for your review about our hotel. Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. We have seen into all the suggestions pointed by you. With your kind blessings we shall surely make the necessary changes to make ourselves live up to your valuable suggestions.

We thank you for appreciating our location. We are glad you liked our view and roof top restaurant.

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We were greeted with smile and told politely to wait for the room to be ready as we were before the check in time.

I would like to place my appreciation for the front desk staff specially Mr. Surendra Singh.

We were provided with some extra items like mattress without any hesitation.

Rooms are good and have have good view of lake.

Room Tip: Please take a room having lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarjitSinghBhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Guests,

We thank you for your kind review. We shall surely compliment Mr.Surendra Singh and his team for receiving you with a smile and politeness as the first impression of any hotel begins right at the reception.

We are glad that you found our rooms to be good offering you a nice view of the serene Pichola lake.

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

One of the most unique views,maybe world,s best comes at a reasonable price staying at Lake Pichola Hotel,Udaipur.Located on lake pichola with view of city palace on the opposite side,one should not miss the opportunity to stay in lake facing room.The restausrant on roof top has a very romantic view in nioght with the city palace litup to utmost splendour and the reflection of lights in the water below.Awesome cuisine in the Upre restaurant.Rooms and housekeeping need improvements but still the view makes up for small deficiencies.Very friendly and helpful management.

Room Tip: Look for lake facing first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear Guests,

We thank you for such valuable appreciation about our location which you found to be unique and maybe one of world's best. Indeed we are really blessed to be located in such a place which is really out of the world.

We are glad you also enjoyed your meals on our roof top restaurant "UPRE" with the majestic city palace lit up at night making our place the most romantic view of Udaipur.

We shall surely improve upon our housekeeping department to make your stay more comfortable the next time you wish to visit this magical city.

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed two nights in mid january, room #206.
There is something a bit funky about the hotel, which we liked.
It has seen better days perhaps, but it is still a fun place to stay.
It is located on a very narrow street, one car at a time. Quiet though.
Our room was lake side, a must, with an interior balcony from which you can look at life on the other side, confortably resting on pillows.
Open the windows and you can hear the sounds of Udaipur accross the lake, the singing and drumming from a temple near by, the bat hitting the laundry being cleaned on the shore.
The small heater provided was welcome, the silver bed. . . unusual.
The bathroom is basic, and the tub had a small leak.
One can easily walk to the other side of the lake, all the way to the Palace, by the footbridge a few minutes away.
A good leather shoemaker is located on the left as you leave the hotel, on a square maybe 100 meters away or less.
We were able to bargain for a better rate than the one offered at the money changer outside before you exit the courtyard.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stechaphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear Guests,

We are thankful to you for your precious time to write a review about our hotel. We appreciate your vision for the life of a small town where people lead a simple life which you mentioned you could see on the other side of the lake.

We are glad you liked our furniture and the balcony which you found to be cozy. We have checked the tub you had mentioned which did not have a small leak but the water had spilled from one side. Yes a small stroll on our narrow lanes can be very interesting with tiny shops offering a multitude of stuff for you to carry as gifts from this small town.

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 167 in Udaipur
2,359 reviews
1 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#12 of 167 in Udaipur
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#42 of 167 in Udaipur
393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#23 of 167 in Udaipur
1,100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 167 in Udaipur
2,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Pichola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Pichola Hotel

Address: Lake Palace Road | Near Hanuman Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#20 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £55 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Pichola Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Pichola Hotel is a beautiful hotel on the western banks of Pichola Lake. Most of the rooms have have balconies hanging on the lake overlooking the majestic palaces and the walled city of Udaipur. It has a stunning roof top wid 360 degrees view and an elegant restaurant called Upre. It has a palatial lobby with 8 Bohemian chandeliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Lake Pichola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Pichola Udaipur
Hotel Lake Pichola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing