We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Lake Pichola Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Pichola Hotel
Ranked #21 of 175 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just stayed at Lake Pichola Hotel in Udaipur for one night of 26th July 2014. We were 4 friends and had gone to Udaipur for Lions Club District meeting. This place is really wonderful. Good clean rooms, excellent service, delicious food. Drinks and food are a bit expensive, then you can carry your own drink and have it in your room. Roof top restaurant is just amazing during the evening. Wonderful view of lake pichola from the roof top. Truly a memorable stay. The only small problem was that the roads approaching this hotel are really narrow and could be a problem if you are self driving to the hotel during peak traffic hours.

Room Tip: Lake facing rooms are best, but other side rooms are also okay and cheaper than the lake facing room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Subramani V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guests,

We thank you for your valuable review about our property. We are pleased to learn that you liked our rooms and also our services offered.

Nice to know that you could also enjoy your meal at our roof top restaurant "UPRE" Yes we quite agree with you regarding the narrow road to this area which is as old as the times when Udaipur was established when there was hardly any population.

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 745 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Trip:
The inlaws planned a last minute trip to Udaipur in the last week of June. After reading quite a few reviews on Trip Advisor, we narrowed down on this Hotel.

The hotel is approached through a very narrow lane that's pretty often jammed with traffic. But the plus side is that the shops & buildings on the approach road give one the true Rajasthani experience. Honestly, the traffic is not really a pain.

Location - Beautiful! The hotel is bang on the Pichola lake and the balconies of the lake facing rooms are actually on the waters of the lake. It is right across the lake from Bagore ki Haveli & has awesome views of the Royal palace. It's just a 5 minute walk from the Jagdish temple, the Palace and Hathi Pol market, so pretty convenient to get around.

The Rooms - Absolutely brilliant. all our rooms were facing the lake and on the first floor. Clean, hygienic and really well appointed. No coffee maker or fridge though, but very comfy.

Service - Great. fast, prompt and really good. The guys at breakfast actually gave us very good advise on how to go about the local sights. And the best part was that the guys let us check in to all 3 rooms at 8:00 am without any extra charges.

Food - Good. Except the starters.

Do try their roof top pool!

Room Tip: Do take the lake facing rooms. They are every bit worth the extra money you'll pay. And the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Amitg_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Guests,

We are ever grateful to you for writing such a details review about our hotel. You have literally gone in such details about the approach,location,rooms,service.We shall surely compliment our staff who made you so comfortable.

We shall surely keep your suggestion in mind and improve on our starters which were not up to your expectations.

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

A haveli style hotel with an awesome view of the lake and city palace.each room has different furnishing. The room we stayed in had a metal bed with engraved panthers. Most rooms have private balconies so one can sit siping tea and looking at the serene lake.
Their roof top restaurant Upre has a good selection of continental and Indian cuisine. You feel you are sitting in a ship when you dine there.
Rooms from ground to 3rd floor are best. Avoid the basement

Room Tip: Choose rooms on 2nd and 3 rd floor overlooking lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank uttaraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Guests,

We thank you for your valuable review about our hotel. We are very much a Haveli only which is more than 150 years now. Glad to know you liked the view from our rooms. Yes all our rooms are different from each other and with balconies for one to relax enjoying the lake.

It is interesting to learn that while dining at our "UPRE" restaurant you felt you were in a ship.As such we do not have a basement,we do have some rooms on the ground floor and the balance rooms are on first and second floor.

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We recently stayed here for 3 days. Excellent location, on the Pichola Lake. Rooms are good, service is good. Terrace restaurant is worth visiting for the view and few drinks! Good personalized service. We recommend for family visit.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms Facing lake. They have very cute balcony open to lake. Don't forget to visit roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raju K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guests,

We thank you for your review about our hotel. As you rightly said it is the location which plays the prime part for any hotel. We are glad you were also pleased by our rooms and service.

Our balconies are just perfect to sit and relax sipping a drink and enjoying the beauty of this wonderful lake which can be admired for hours.

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I went there recently and as it was the off season so i could get a discount here ....the hotel has great views ..u could see the city palace along with the gangaur ghat and taj lake palace...the most awesome views are of the night where you can see the palace lit up...this hotel also has the rooftop restaurant 'upre restaurant' where you can enjoy the food and views both.... the other hotel offering such views and good ambience, other than Leela palace or Taj Lake Palace, is Amet Haveli having the ambrai restaurant but it was a bit costly even in the off season..the best thing i found about Lake Pichola Hotel is that you dont need to pay for booking the hotel beforehand.. they give you their prices when you email them...i found this a better option as we were a only girls group travelling and had never been to Udaipur before and didnt want to risk paying for a hotel beforehand.

The staff of Lake Pichola Hotel was very cooperative and looked into all our needs...the rooms were very clean and well maintained..Most of the rooms have balconies to sit and enjoy the views of the lake.

I liked the location of the hotel as it has great night views of the palace and lake as well as all the important tourist points are at a walking distance. I can easily give a 5 star for the hotel.

Room Tip: Room having a balcony for viewing City Palace and Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ruchita91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Guests,

We appreciate your valuable review about our hotel. We definitely offer the best possible discount during our off season as Udaipur gets quite hot and hence not too many tourist in town. We are glad you could enjoy the view from our hotel and specially at night when this looks like a magical city.

Well as far a paying advance money is concerned we have no problem but of course this is a bit risky for us to do business in this manner but the whole idea is to win your confidence that you have booked a room after thinking well and you will surely come unless some unforeseen circumstances keep you from travelling.

We are glad to know that you found the rooms to be clean and well maintained and also the staff were co operative. Once again thanking you for your such appreciation of our hotel.

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed here as part of an Intrepid 'comfort' tour group. The hotel is perfectly located, away from the hustle but a short stroll across the bridge to the 'action'. I felt a sense of calm over looking the lake, either from my balcony or the amazing rooftop terrace. The rooftop restaurant was delightful, staff were attentive, providing blankets and start the fire when it got cold. The day beds on the roof were a great place to escape and read a book, or watch the day go by. Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

Room Tip: I think all rooms face the lake, but double check this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank bhuxtable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guests,

We thank you for your valuable review about our hotel. Nice to learn that you found our area to be peaceful in this present times when there is so much of unrest everywhere. The whole idea about a holiday is a person should relive all his or her tensions and do nothing but relax and get rejuvenated.

Our huge terrace is the ideal place to relax overlooking the serene water of Pichola lake. We are glad you enjoyed the coziness with blankets and small fire which provided you some warmth while dining. It would be our pleasure to welcome you whenever you desire.

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a day and then decided to stay for another. City Palace is walking distance and the Pichola Lake is right on the side. Dinner on rooftop is top of the world with view of City Palace in front.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Prashant K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cbsingh, Owner at Lake Pichola Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear Guests,

We thank you for your review about our hotel. We are glad that you were so satisfied that you extended your stay with us. Yes we agree many tourist find are location with very easy excess to the most important monuments of Udaipur.

Dining at our "UPRE" restaurant indeed makes you feel top of the world with a fascinating view and romantic atmosphere.

With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 175 in Udaipur
2,393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#23 of 175 in Udaipur
1,113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#45 of 175 in Udaipur
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.1 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#36 of 175 in Udaipur
810 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#80 of 175 in Udaipur
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Pichola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Pichola Hotel

Address: Lake Palace Road | Near Hanuman Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#14 Family Hotel in Udaipur
#15 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £49 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Pichola Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Pichola Hotel is a beautiful hotel on the western banks of Pichola Lake. Most of the rooms have have balconies hanging on the lake overlooking the majestic palaces and the walled city of Udaipur. It has a stunning roof top wid 360 degrees view and an elegant restaurant called Upre. It has a palatial lobby with 8 Bohemian chandeliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lake Pichola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Pichola Udaipur
Hotel Lake Pichola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing