We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Resonably Priced Midrange Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake Pichola Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Pichola Hotel
Ranked #15 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
78 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Resonably Priced Midrange Hotel”
Reviewed 22 November 2009

Resonably hotel in great location next to the lake. The facility could do with some renovation, but considering the price and the location is is an acceptable midranger. The hotel has a restaurant at the rooftop terasse, however given the proximity to the lake many moskitos eagerly try to have their meal while you are having yours. Therefore I recommend going somewhere else to eat.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flemming_Meineche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    291
    79
    23
    17
See reviews for
192
251
39
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Umbria
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

Very glad to be staying at this hotel it has such a fabulous location withing walking distance of everything and with superb views over the lake. The rooms were bright and clean each with their own small balcony veranda overlooking the lake. The staff were willing and full of smiles but in dire need of training, took 5 return visits to get an order for 3 drinks and the restaurant dished up reasonable food but took ages. With a switched on chef and staff they could/should be making a mint on the rooftop terrace restaurant but with no reputation and lots of good competition it was always empty.
No internet facilities in the hotel but just outside a plethora of internet shops. Bathing ghats either side of the hotel were good to fish from! A bit mucky but the locals were cleaning their teeth with the water!

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

I stayed at LPH with a girlfriend who hadn't seen for a few moths, so a sort of romantic break really. On paper it was great, we stayed in the suite pre-booked so we overpaid as Udaipur was not exactly heaving with tourists. I think we were the only visitors in the hotel during our stay there.
he suite was great, bit window areas with mattresses and pillows to shill whilst overlooking the lake, and a window area with a swinging seat ! The 'spa bath' was a little dirty and didn't seem to work whilst twiddling the knobs that we didn't use it. The staff were disinterested, 3 or 4 reception staff who had no initiative and hung around making the place look well staffed but not able to do much.
As we were on a romantic stay, it was quite pleasant to be anonymous though . . . . We wandered upto the rooftop, but just looked dishevelled - certainly not somewhere we'd choose to eat. A few cushions and music and it would be a place to spend the evening, but otherwise why would you ?
With a little effort, could well be an amazing experience but still has the facitities and view to make for a good stay. Just bargain hard on the prices - we paid INR 5 000 per night for 3 nights which was way too much !
Have fun - enjoy India.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZkiwichristos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Nothing major is wrong here it just feels a little unloved and could could just do with a good spruce and polish. The public areas and rooms are nice but the balcony's and roof terrace feel a bit run-down
The views are incredible straight over from the City Palace.
The staff where very helpful and friendly, and caring after we both when down with travellers tummy.
Udaipur is beautiful and this hotel ticks most of the boxes.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaxandmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2009

We stayed at this hotel during our tour of Rajasthan. As the earlier reviews already mention, it's a heritage hotel which to our surprise was being poorly maintained. In fact, the hotel has the potential to be a hidden gem: the roof terrace is nice and could be made into a really loungy, trendy hotspot.
Unfortunately it's was dirty and not looked after the way it should. When we were shown to our first room, we could write our names in the dust on the table and the furniture, the sheets and the pillow covers were stained, the towels were dirty, the toilet was not working, the toilet paper was dirty (I don't even want to know why), the soaps had mildew all over them, a small balcony was filled with dead bugs... In short the picture was all wrong...
After we complained we were shown a second room which in fact was in the same poor shape. Going up a narrow staircase we found a dead bird, half rotten away. So, it clearly didn't die just before...
The explanation that we received was to our surprise that this was a standard room to which we replied that we didn't expect any satellite tv or a multimedia player in a standard room, but that we did expect the room to be clean no matter standard, superior or suite... after which the guy in charge smiled, turned around and left.
Food is always more subjective but concerning the food: breakfast was average, ok but definitely nothing special. As we arrived quite late on the first evening we were more or less forced to eat there on the first night as well: the pizza came out of the freezer as did the chicken and the soup clearly came out of a can...
This was one the most disappointing hotels we've stayed in over the years and unless they get their act together, this hotel is going to fade away.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara_JoBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
121 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2009

We travelled for six weeks throughout Asia, using Tripadvisor advice to book our rooms. Only one we got wrong was the Lake Pichola Hotel.
It all started at the railway station when the promised pick up never materialised.
Breakfast was comparitively expensive and not very good.
The advertised "Lake View" goes against trade description act as, sadly, there is no longer any water in front of the Hotel.
The rooms require some serious maintenance!
If we return to Udaipur, we shall not be staying here!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2009

Stayed in a standard triple room, excellent value, very nice balcony overlooking the main hub of Udaipur. Also spent one night in the Luxury Suite, this is by far one of the best rooms I have stayed in, very luxurious and spacious, an ideal place to relax. Shower had a radio and steam and was good.
The hotel itself is in a great location, it is just west of the main tourist part of Udaipur (i.e. City Palace and other sites) and you can walk into this hub by just crossing the bridge. The hotel also overlooks Lake Pichola (well it is called Lake Pichola Hotel) and City Palace. If you do go Udaipur check out the Shilpgram festival which is only on once a year. Also this hotel has good food!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GagsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#11 of 151 in Udaipur
558 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#22 of 151 in Udaipur
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 151 in Udaipur
2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 151 in Udaipur
2,870 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
445 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 151 in Udaipur
2,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Pichola Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Pichola Hotel

Property: Lake Pichola Hotel
Address: Lake Palace Road | near Hanuman Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#20 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Pichola Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LPH is a beautiful hotel on the banks of Pichola Lake. 85% of the rooms have have balconies hanging on the lake overlooking the majestic palaces and the walled city of Udaipur. It has a stunning roof top wid 360 degrees view and an elegant restaurant called Chandni. It has a palatial lobby with 8 Bohemian chandeliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Lake Pichola Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Pichola Udaipur
Hotel Lake Pichola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing