We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best decision of our trip to Udaipur!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shikarbadi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shikarbadi
Ranked #39 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best decision of our trip to Udaipur!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

With absolutely no knowledge of the city of Udaipur, we decided to rely on TripAdvisor's hotel review. We booked a 2-day stay at Shikarbadi online (HRH Group of Hotels website). The hotel was once a hunting lodge (till the mid-1950s, I believe). Today, it is heartening to see that the same place is a safe, green haven for many kinds of animals and birds.

As for our experience, everything about the place was a source of sensory delight - the natural and untouched beauty, the hospitality, the weather, the quietude, the view of the Aravallis and the hotel's own lake, the chirping of birds at all times, several species of flora and fauna...and so much more. We ended up extending our stay by two more days, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Shikarbadi.

In closing, I would like to recommend Shikarbadi strongly to city-dwellers looking desperately for a relaxed break...without having to pay a bomb!

A few important points to note for readers:
1. The hotel is about 1 KM. away from the main road, and does not have access to buses, autos, etc. However, if one has their own car, its very comfortable (alternately, one can ask the hotel to arrange for transport at a reasonable price)
2. The main city of Udaipur is about 3 KM. from the hotel; as such, those looking for more 'action' should probably choose one of the hotels in the city/near Lake Pichola. Shikarbadi is ideal for those seeking peace and relaxation

Room Tip: Ask for a lake-facing room, and visit ideally when the lake is full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWantonWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear TheWantonWanderer,

Greetings from the Shikarbadi Hotel.

Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and do appreciate your taking out the time to share your detailed review with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards,
HRH Group Of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    90
    24
    5
    6
See reviews for
96
49
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Surrey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

We (family of four, kids aged 4 and 2) arrived here after close to 9 hours travel from Agra, so my initial reaction to the room should perhaps be tempered by the fact that patience was wearing thin generally, however, it was appalling. The smell of damp was overpowering, the threadbare carpet (covering what looked like a perfectly acceptable floor) was completely covered in stains. The paint was peeling off the walls, the t.v. looked dangerous with a mass of wires hanging out the back and I was too scared to sit on the sofa as it looked on the point of collapse. It has to be said that the linen and towels and the bathroom were very clean and the room was really spacious. We did complain and tried to get a reservation elsewhere but it was last minute during wedding season and there was no chance. In the hotels favour, the staff seemed genuinely mortified that we were unhappy and moved us to their best suite which was a great improvement on the original room. And the next morning, workman were emptying it, repainting and washing the carpet! The grounds of the hotel are stunning, it has it's own lake and is next to a deer park. The kids fed the deer at sunset, a magical experience seeing stags make their way through the woods to be fed. The food is pretty good too. Overall, compared to the extortionately priced five star options in Udaipur, I thought this was actually a good value place to stay once you get over the fact that the rooms are decidedly shabby. Oh, and whatever you do, don't try to organise a baby sitter...rather than admit that they didn't offer the service we had to deal with a number of farcical calls to management and had to politely tell the bell boy that we weren't going to leave the kids with him...there are worse places to eat than the edge of the hotel lake at sunset though so all worked out ok in the end.

Room Tip: Erm, just be prepared for shabby but clean. The suite was spacious and the bathroom almost regal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fischen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear Fischen,

Greetings from the Shikarbadi Hotel.

Many thanks for taking out the time to share your review with us. Despite your mixed feelings during your recent stay with us, we do look forward to welcoming you back again at the HRH Group of Hotels and create a memorable stay for you the next time and every time you stay with us.

Warm Regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

If you're looking for a hotel unlike any other you'll stay at in India -- try this fun hunting lodge. There is a huge patio overlooking a deer park where you'll see deer, peacocks, wild boar and monkeys galore. You can watch the sunset with a beer from the friendly, attentive wait staff while you watch feeding time in the afternoon, and it's just a lovely retreat in general from all of the people and forts and palaces.

On the down side, the rooms are a bit dirty and certainly older, the pool is small and not heated, and you may be very early with the sound of the peacocks crying to each other. However, our entire group overlooked the few negatives as we fell in love with the charm of the place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiefinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear Aussiefin,

Greetings from the Shikarbadi Hotel.

Thank you for taking out the time to write this review. We're glad to know that you enjoyed staying at our property and the surroundings except for your feedback on the room and the pool. We do look forward to welcoming you back again to create a memorable holiday the next time you stay with us.

Warm Regards,
HRH Group Of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, Devon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

A welcome break from the buzzing cities, set beside a lake which draws wildlife, almost as good as visiting ranthambhor! Food and atmosphere in evening is better than most we have had in India in 2 weeks, cannot fault for a 3* except our package said we are in 4* hotels

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brushton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 10 June 2011
Dear Brushton,

Greetings from the Shikarbadi.

Thank you for taking out the time to write about your stay at our hotel. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and do look forward to welcoming you back to the HRH Group of Hotels.

Warm Regards,
HRH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. It is a very nice family hotel set in countryside near a lake. It was nice to see deers, monkeys, peacocks and various birds during feeding times.

Overall we were impressed with the surroundings, nice peaceful place. The staff were very friendly and the food in the resturant was very good with a lot of choice for vegetarians and Non-veg. customers.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayshreebhuptani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 10 June 2011
Dear Capricorn11,

Greetings from the Shikarbadi Hotel.

We appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay at our hotels. Your encouraging words go a long way in assuring and keeping us motivated to serve you on the best in hospitality every time you stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the HRH Group of Hotels soon again.

Warm regards,
HRH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hyderabad
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2011

This hotel has a very serene feel in the evenings. A very quite and charming place with deers and peacocks around. Rooms are a bit rundown and need maintenance, but the place is clean and the service is excellent. The staff is very cordial and helpful. Overall a good place if you are looking for a quite place to relax.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank modernmarcopolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 10 June 2011
Dear Modernmarcopolo,

Greetings from the Shikarbadi Hotel.

We're are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for sharing your review here about your stay at our Hotel and appreciate your feedback. In our endeavor to provide you only the best in hospitality every time you stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back at the HRH Group of Hotels.

Warm Regards,
HRH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

This is an excellent hotel worth visiting. The horse farm is an added bonus for children.
However, take care to avoid the new rooms made by the swimming pool. They are plain horrible without windows.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank AhmedabadCitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
4.9 mi away
The Royal Retreat Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
The Amargarh Udaipur
The Amargarh Udaipur
#22 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#37 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#33 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
2.4 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fateh Prakash Palace
Fateh Prakash Palace
#28 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shikarbadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shikarbadi

Property: Shikarbadi
Address: Goverdhan Villas, Udaipur 313002, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#24 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shikarbadi 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Single-story Hotel, originally a Royal Hunting Lodge, located in wooded area, just outside Udaipur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shikarbadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shikarbadi Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing