We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disastrous new year eve at shikarbadi”
Review of Shikarbadi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shikarbadi
Ranked #43 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“disastrous new year eve at shikarbadi”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

being in udaipur, we got suggestions that this place hosts the best new year parties in the town. the place was too crowded with not so good crowd. music was not good. food was pathetic. we left the place in the middle of the show.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rijuta_Mishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear rijutathewandered,

Greetings from the Shikarbadi Hotel.

Thank your for giving time to our hotel and writing about us. Hope you enjoyed the artist, Ms. Rajnigandh Shekhawat's performance and the traditional dance forms.
We understand you your concern which you have shared. We will take care in future and ensure that you enjoy your next experience with us.

Hope to see you again.

Warm Regards,
HRH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    91
    25
    5
    6
See reviews for
97
50
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We stayed here for 7 relaxing nights at the end of November. The food was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a very comfortable room in the new wing, the biscuits and fruit being very welcome. An excellent alternative to staying in the city.

Room Tip: Room 22 has a little place to sit out and read or watch the deer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Dear Garry842,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

Thank you so much for sharing your much valuable feedback.
We are glad that you liked the hotel, it's services and our courteous staff.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novato, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

In a very intense country, the Shiarbadi provdied a serene retreat for us. It would be hard to choose between it and a lake view hotel in town though at the time it was what we needed. We had large suite and enjoyed the space. The staff was wonderful to provide a candlelit dinner at their small lake and made sure we were warm enough by adding a small charcoal fire tableside. We had our own car and driver so being outside of town wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snovato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Dear snovato,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

It is a pleasure to have you sharing your stay experience with us. Thank you so much for giving your valuable time to our hotel.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon and adding one more memorable visit in your hearts.

Warm Regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We, a family of 3, travelled to Udaipur in Oct 2011 during the Navartri holidays. The resort looked desolate and umimpressive from outside and the feeling continued as we checked into our room. Being non tourist season the hotel was sparsely occupied and that reflected in te food that was been eaten. The hotel staff at the resturant were very courteous and friendly . However its cant be said for the staff at the reception- their lack of knowledge on the nitty gritty details, options available etc is sadly lacking. dont take what the reception staff tell at face value and do ask questions on what all is part of the "free coupon" they give you to visit the udaipur palace musuem/complex.
you can definitely avoid visiting the garden hotel's vintage car musuem unless u are so much of a diehard car fan.
the highight of the stay at the resort was the deer feeding that my child enjoyed.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear tharabangalore,

Greetings from the Shikarbadi Hotel.

We deeply appreciate you taking out your time and writing about us and regret the experience you have had with us. We are glad you appreciated our courteous staff.

Your comments have been duly noted and we will make sure to work better in order to overcome your concerns.

Despite of your comments, we look forward to have you back with us and create a memorable trip.

Warm Regards,
HRH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed in a royal suite which had a heritage touch of antique furniture and amazing collection of rare paintings. The ambience of the room and the property with its old world charm gave us a glimpse of royal life. The candle light dine on lake-side with mouth-watering "LaalMaas" reminded us of our romantic honeymoon.
Overall , a rich experience, thanks to the entire staff of Shikarbadi,Udaipur for their cordial service and guidance to make our trip a grand success

Room Tip: Lake side view is preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NChainani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Dear NChainani,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

Thank you so much for sharing your much valuable feedback.
We are glad that you liked the hotel its services and our courteous staff.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

the resort was related with royal family of mewar region so it was naturally well maintain.the only resort in india which have personal air strip,stable,cricket and horse activity ground,jungle and mountain view.evening time we can see hundreds of dear live.the room decoration was just look as a jungle theme.there is musum also.so the resort is totally different from others.

Room Tip: mountain & jungle view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shailu-72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Dear shailu-72,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

It is a pleasure to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and that you enjoyed your time at our historic Palace. Thank you so much for sharing your much valuable feedback.

We do look forward to welcoming you back for yet another memorable historical journey at the HRH Group of Hotels.

Warm Regards
HRH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

This is a small hotel in a beatiful location surounded by a lake, stables and wilderness. The staff are helpful & the food OK. The staff make a good job of cleaning the rooms and maintaining the gardens, however the rooms and the general fabric of the building look like it hasn't had a penny of investment since the 1970's.
The carpets in the rooms and bedding are worn, & the bathrooms look pre war!.
However- The staff are great, If you can get over the age and general shabbiness, it is clean, and it's possible to have a really enjoyable stay. The location by the lake is simply lovely.
It's a real shame that the management do not make any use of the main building which is an Art Deco gem.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if they have them - but ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jason s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear jason s,

Greetings from the Shikarbadi Hotel.

We are delighted to know your stay was enjoyable with us and you liked our courteous staff.
We have taken a note of your concerns and observations and we will make sure that we work on them.

We hope to welcome you again at our hotels and serve you much better this time.

Warm Regards,
HRH Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
2.2 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#34 of 157 in Udaipur
481 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Royal Retreat Resort & Spa, Udaipur
2.6 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#22 of 157 in Udaipur
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fateh Prakash Palace
Fateh Prakash Palace
#32 of 157 in Udaipur
419 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
#11 of 157 in Udaipur
769 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#17 of 157 in Udaipur
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shikarbadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shikarbadi

Property: Shikarbadi
Address: Goverdhan Villas, Udaipur 313002, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#24 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shikarbadi 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Single-story Hotel, originally a Royal Hunting Lodge, located in wooded area, just outside Udaipur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shikarbadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shikarbadi Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing