We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice to stay”
Review of Shikarbadi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shikarbadi
Ranked #42 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Modasa, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
1 review
“nice to stay”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

exellent service nice place to stay,staff with good manners you will definetly enjoy your trip at shikarbadi if you are planinig to go udaipur must plan to stay at shikarbadi service like five star hotel plan between april to september you got benefit in package

Room Tip: family suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krish962005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear krish962005,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at our hotel.

We are grateful to you for taking out time and sharing your experiences during your stay at our hotel.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    91
    25
    5
    6
See reviews for
98
49
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baroda
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I visited this place with my friends in 2011. The food if simply awesome. And they had arranged for local folk dance show in the evening. The place is so serene and the people performing dance was an experience I will never forget. Its an experience of the royal heritage of India.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the small lake are simply best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nupur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear nupur,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

We are happy to know that you had a memorable stay at our hotel. We are more glad to read that you enjoyed our attractions.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create yet another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed at Shikarbadi with my family in Dec'10. This was the hunting palace of the king and the atmosphere is very nice with rooms facing a hunting lake, deers and fowls coming for feeding every afternoon, its own cricket ground, a small private airport, horse stables an all. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and the kids really loved the deer feeding which takes place in a small forested area at the back of the hotel every afternoon. Breakfast and food was nice and the rooms were specious and comfortable (do not expect modern decor as the old stone built guest quarters are converted into rooms).

Overall we really loved this hotel and our stay there was memorable. Note that the hotel is slightly away from the city center but if you driving / have a vehicle; it is not an issue.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Dear Vijay P,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur..

Thank you for taking out time and sharing your experiences during your stay at our hotel. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
157 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

This is a small glimpse into the lives led by the Maharajas in the past. The property has stables, a large nature reserve of sorts where wildlife still roams, a large pond, etc...

We stayed in one of the Suites in the main house...rooms were large. The bathroom was spacious as well, but could use a little upgrade. I have lived in the rooms by the pond earlier...and enjoyed them as well. Our kid loved all the outdoor stuff.

Most reviewers seem to complain about the distance from Udaipur, but it's at most a 20 minute drive from Lake Pichola...which isn't much at all, in my opinion.

We were a bit wary of the restaurant since it seemed empty and a bit dingy when we walked in for lunch on the first day...but the food was unquestionably tasty, at least the Indian stuff. I mentioned our visit to another friend post the trip and he made very similar comments.

Overall, loved the location and the service was very very good. Somewhat of an upgrade needed, but can't complain too much, as they have maintained the old Maharaja time look of the place. I hear the lodge is going to be replaced by another larger building, which would be a shame.

And the price is so very reasonable...gotta love it. Punching above its weight for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TooshMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear TooshMan,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

It is a delight to know that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay with us and you enjoyed your time at our historic Palace. We completely agree with your point on feeling the king of place, that is what we aim for – giving the luxury that royals have back then to our guests.
Thank you so much for taking out the time and sharing your much valuable feedback.

We do look forward to welcoming you soon at our hotels and create another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajmer
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Had a great time with family & friends on my Anniversary.The view beside the pool was amazing.Beautiful landscape,scenic feast for the eyes,royal treatment by the staff & above all Sumptuous food & wine. Will be visiting soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear RenuAjmer,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

We are happy to we could create the prefect day for you and you enjoyed your anniversary at our place. Thank you so much for sharing your much valuable feedback.

Even we look forward to welcoming you back for yet another memorable historical journey at the HRH Group of Hotels.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zeist, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This resort is a bit outside the city, but a beautiful place that feels like south africa. Beautiful rooms, very pleasant and helpful staff, nice pool, and especially, it is fun to watch the deer, swines, birds that visit the lake (well, in march more mud than water, but that is India). This is a place where you can stay the day and ignore the bustling Indian life, for a moment.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nlohesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear nlohesc,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

We are happy to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and liked our courteous and professional staff.

Thank you so much for sharing your much valuable feedback.
We do look forward to welcoming you back for yet another memorable historical journey at the HRH Group of Hotels.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
1,266 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 529 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

What a setting! A private airport, polo ground, cricket field, horse stud... oh yes, it is a great hotel too with wonderful grounds and a splendid pool area. The deer, peacocks and monkeys are fed daily at 4.30pm just outside the rooms.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11 which has the deer park in front and the small lake at the rear... all the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adventurers049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Dear Adventurers049,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

It is a great pleasure to read when senior contributors or avid travelers review our hotels.
We are delighted to know you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at our historic hotels. We thank you for taking out your time and writing a much valued feedback to us.

Thank you for appreciating our food and courteous staff. With our aim to protect, promote and restore our rich historic cultural heritage, this goes a long way in ensuring us that we are on the right path.

We look forward to serve you at our hotel soon to create yet another amazing memory for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
2.2 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#37 of 156 in Udaipur
477 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fateh Prakash Palace
Fateh Prakash Palace
#28 of 156 in Udaipur
409 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Royal Retreat Resort & Spa, Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#23 of 156 in Udaipur
1,040 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#36 of 156 in Udaipur
212 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Amargarh Udaipur
The Amargarh Udaipur
#22 of 156 in Udaipur
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shikarbadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shikarbadi

Property: Shikarbadi
Address: Goverdhan Villas, Udaipur 313002, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#24 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shikarbadi 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Single-story Hotel, originally a Royal Hunting Lodge, located in wooded area, just outside Udaipur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shikarbadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shikarbadi Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing