We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family retreat (4days)”
Review of Shikarbadi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shikarbadi
Ranked #43 of 161 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great family retreat (4days)”
Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

This is an awesome place to bring a family that needs a relaxing atmosphere with nature entertainment from the deer, peacocks, monkeys, squirrels and horses. Wish there would be MORE activities like horse riding, clay pidgeon shooting, archery. Unfortunately swimming pool is not heated and could notbe used.

This place should not be compared to modern hotel with latest gizmos. Rooms re a little outdted and in need of refurbishing esp. The bathrooms. Any issues we encountered in the room with the safe or electricity or hot water were attentively taken care of and resolved. The staff are v.helpful with all our requests and were able to help us incldg connecting us to a doctor in the middle of the night!

The highlight of this place is the cuisine. Any foodie should take up the challenge of testing all cuisines on offer. The trouble i had was digesting b'fast in time for the evening meal and this one in time for the next b'fast! A workout in a gym would have helped. Apparently there is one but there was no marketing of it ...... Neither was there of the great menu they have!

Animal smells and poop was not an issue for us as we went in the dry season when no stagnant water was to be found. Only watchout was monkeys c£&pping from the trees!

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear M B,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

Thank you for taking out time and sharing your experiences during your stay at our hotel. Receiving and reading this feedback is so inspirational and delightful. This makes us realize we are on the right track of serving our guests.

Thank you very much for your kind words expressing and sharing your experiences at our hotel its ambiance, location, the services and our staffs attentiveness.
We are indeed pleased to know that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at our hotel.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    91
    25
    5
    6
See reviews for
97
50
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

A great location, serene surroundings, good place for kids, fantastic food and polite staff. A perfect blend of things, if you are looking for spending 2-3 days with family. Not so far from Udaipur (15 mins ride), the location is suited to give "we" time for family. Deers, horses, peacocks, pool, swing- my kid loved it.Its a well maintained property. Staff is v.courteous. A pleasant leisure stay overall.

Room Tip: Deluxe suites are v.good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B_Mathkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear B_Mathkar,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

We are delighted to know you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at our hotel.Thank you for taking out your precious time and reviewing our hotel.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create yet another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I styaed in this hotel with my wife, son and my parents. I booked two deluxe suites. The location of the hotel is very good. There is lake and jungle adjacent to hotel. My son really enjoyed deer feeding which is regular practice at hotel. Food is also good. Value for money!!

Room Tip: Try to book a room in the main building instead of jungle side cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ca_ravishshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Dear ca_ravishshah,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

Thank you for taking out time and sharing your review with us. We are delighted to know you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at your hotel.
We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create yet another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We were excited to be staying in a hotel which was part of the HRH group, which is run by the Maharajas of Udaipur. The location is a little far from the Palaces & city center (about 20 minutes). We loved the rooms and the bathrooms were nicely upgraded. The restaurant served very good breakfast and dinner. The only problem was there is a deer feeding area next to the rooms and the area outside the rooms smelled of deer poop. Overall very peaceful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shahraj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Dear shahraj5,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

Thank you for taking out time and sharing your review with us.

We are satisfied and delighted to know you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at your hotel. We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create yet another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed at the Shikarbadi for two nights and had a memorable experience. Right from the tranquil location, tastefully done and well maintained property, genuinely good food and excellent service from the overwhelming staff made our stay certainly worth it! The feel of wilderness and the royal heritage was nostalgic. Children enjoyed feeding the large herd deer that comes here from the forest at 4pm every afternoon for grains and the large collection of polo horses maintained within the property. The peacocks, turkeys, hens and rabbits added to their excitement! To sum it up it was a great experience for the whole family.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minu-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Dear Minu-travel,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

Thank you for taking out time and sharing your experiences during your stay at our hotel. It makes us realize we are on the right track of serving our guests

We are happy to know you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at your hotel.
We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create yet another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhopal, India
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

Another royal property of HH maharaja Arvind Singh g.
Set in nature this is one if the heritage properties in udaipur. Situated some 23 kms from main city,in the abundance of nature.gives you a feeling if staying in wild.hospitality is good and food excellent.rooms are spacious and facing the hunting tracks.the local folk dance sometimes get monotonous but overall a nice different experience.
Will go there again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apotri77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Dear Apotri77,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

Thank you for taking out time and sharing your review with us.

We are satisfied and delighted to know you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at your hotel. We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create yet another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

This place is in Udaipur yet it gives you the feeling of being in a Jungle Lodge. Evenings are awsone you get to see deers, monkeys, all kinds of birds during the day & especially in the evenings. The food is simply awesome. local folk dance shows are arranged depending on requests & occupancy. the place is so serene and is on the edge of city. One gets to see Horses in the nearby stable & they are treat to watch. Their is Airport as well , unbelievable! but true

decent service, nice staff with good manners, one should plan during rainy season to experience nature from close quarters.with raindrops falling & watching mother nature gives absolutely wonderful feeling. be careful wrt small insects & rest all is wonderful.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, especially the ones giving view towards jungle
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnilBabita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Dear AnilBabita,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

We are happy to read your review on TripAdvisor. It makes us realize we are on the right track of serving our guests.Thank you for taking out time and sharing your review with us.

We are satisfied and delighted to know you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at your hotel. We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create yet another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
2.2 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#32 of 161 in Udaipur
483 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 161 in Udaipur
1,054 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
#11 of 161 in Udaipur
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Royal Retreat Resort & Spa, Udaipur
2.3 mi away
Fateh Prakash Palace
Fateh Prakash Palace
#38 of 161 in Udaipur
423 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#17 of 161 in Udaipur
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shikarbadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shikarbadi

Property: Shikarbadi
Address: Goverdhan Villas, Udaipur 313002, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#24 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shikarbadi 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Single-story Hotel, originally a Royal Hunting Lodge, located in wooded area, just outside Udaipur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shikarbadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shikarbadi Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing