We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly amazing”
Review of Shikarbadi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shikarbadi
Ranked #46 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2013

By turns it's an art deco masterpiece and then a country shooting lodge. We loved it. Our rooms were the guest wing which has pasture on each side which is home to herds of deer, so if you don't like the smell of the country don't come. Also home to peafowl, who aren't renowned for being quiet and to monkeys who really enjoyed running across the rooftops. But we loved this brush with nature. And the stables which surround the property were a draw for us.

Rooms were more than adequate, probably recently refurbished. Restaurant was a charming setting which complemented the excellent food. Lots of options to dine outdoors. The breakfast ranked with the best we have ever had, shame we only had one with an early morning departure on our second night.

Worth a detour for an exceptional experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arsewiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

Dear croissantneuf,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at our hotel. This makes us realize we are on the right track of serving our guests. Thank you for taking out time and sharing your experiences during your stay at our hotel.

We hope to serve you again at our hotels soon and create yet another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
There are newer reviews for Shikarbadi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this hunting palace on the outskirts of Udaipur. It is a very peacefull place, where only the peacocks and monkeys disturb the peace. There are 30 rooms, all very modern and nicely equiped. There is wifi in the hotel but the coverage does not extend into the rooms, but works nicely in the garden.

Breakfast is served in a separate buildig with the option to have it outside but be warned that the monkeys can be aggressive and will take your banana when they see an opportunity ;)

We would definatly recommend this hotel if you do not like to stay in the busy city of Udaipur.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank fly_ebos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear fly_ebos,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

We are at peace and happy to know that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at our hotel. Thank you for taking out your precious time and writing a much valued review for us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create yet another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I had been Shikarbadi hotel with my family and we totally loved the place. The hotel is little far from city may be 15-20min. I had stayed in Deluxe room that was very spacious and neat. The staff is very freindly. The best part is the jungle view and horse stable where we get to see different breeds of horses and how do they maintain them.

Food and breakfast is superb quality and they are very flexible to offer you meals which are out of the menu as a special request. Deer feeding was also a very good experience.

Would love to visit again. I hope by that time they make good roads to reach till the hotel.

Room Tip: Deluxe room facing jungle and garden
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anischief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear anischief,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

Thank you for taking out your precious time and writing a much valued review for us. We are at peace and happy to know that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at our hotel.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create yet another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed in delux room.Front view was jungle and rear view was lake.Rooms were very spacious and clean.It's not modern room but very relaxing , clean and big room.We didn enjoyed our stay.It's only 15 minute far from Udaipur.We booked the room with breakfast. Breakfast was so good and so many variety.My son enjoyed the breakfast. They had so much room to run around also.Nice stay.

Room Tip: Deluxe room .
Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
Thank Zahuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear Zahuja,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

We are glad to know that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at our hotel.Thank you very much for your kind words expressing and sharing your experiences at our hotel.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create yet another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

While it was farther from Udaipur than we expected, this rustic hunting lodge was a very relaxing place to stay. The rooms are large and have views out over the deer park and lake bed (we went in the dry season). The art deco-style main buildings are elegant, but the rooms are very rustic... not in a bad way. We loved the terrace around the pool, which was a great place to read and watch the wildlife.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room as far away from the chicken coops as possible. The roost...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoyomet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear Yoyomet,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.


Thank you very much for your kind words expressing and sharing your experiences at our hotel.
We are indeed pleased to know that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at our hotel.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

This is an awesome place to bring a family that needs a relaxing atmosphere with nature entertainment from the deer, peacocks, monkeys, squirrels and horses. Wish there would be MORE activities like horse riding, clay pidgeon shooting, archery. Unfortunately swimming pool is not heated and could notbe used.

This place should not be compared to modern hotel with latest gizmos. Rooms re a little outdted and in need of refurbishing esp. The bathrooms. Any issues we encountered in the room with the safe or electricity or hot water were attentively taken care of and resolved. The staff are v.helpful with all our requests and were able to help us incldg connecting us to a doctor in the middle of the night!

The highlight of this place is the cuisine. Any foodie should take up the challenge of testing all cuisines on offer. The trouble i had was digesting b'fast in time for the evening meal and this one in time for the next b'fast! A workout in a gym would have helped. Apparently there is one but there was no marketing of it ...... Neither was there of the great menu they have!

Animal smells and poop was not an issue for us as we went in the dry season when no stagnant water was to be found. Only watchout was monkeys c£&pping from the trees!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear M B,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

Thank you for taking out time and sharing your experiences during your stay at our hotel. Receiving and reading this feedback is so inspirational and delightful. This makes us realize we are on the right track of serving our guests.

Thank you very much for your kind words expressing and sharing your experiences at our hotel its ambiance, location, the services and our staffs attentiveness.
We are indeed pleased to know that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at our hotel.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

A great location, serene surroundings, good place for kids, fantastic food and polite staff. A perfect blend of things, if you are looking for spending 2-3 days with family. Not so far from Udaipur (15 mins ride), the location is suited to give "we" time for family. Deers, horses, peacocks, pool, swing- my kid loved it.Its a well maintained property. Staff is v.courteous. A pleasant leisure stay overall.

Room Tip: Deluxe suites are v.good.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B_Mathkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Dear B_Mathkar,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

We are delighted to know you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at our hotel.Thank you for taking out your precious time and reviewing our hotel.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create yet another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#21 of 163 in Udaipur
1,061 reviews
2.2 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#35 of 163 in Udaipur
489 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
#15 of 163 in Udaipur
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fateh Prakash Palace
Fateh Prakash Palace
#40 of 163 in Udaipur
432 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#17 of 163 in Udaipur
711 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Udai Bagh
The Udai Bagh
#36 of 163 in Udaipur
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shikarbadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shikarbadi

Address: Goverdhan Villas, Udaipur 313002, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#24 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £41 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shikarbadi 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Single-story Hotel, originally a Royal Hunting Lodge, located in wooded area, just outside Udaipur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shikarbadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shikarbadi Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing