We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in Time”
Review of Shikarbadi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shikarbadi
Ranked #43 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Back in Time”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We were driving down from Pune on our way to Dehradoon, we had planned to take a night halt at Gandhi Nagar, Gujarat, but the desire for some Rajasthani Red Meat and a good drink forced us drive a few more Kilometers and we reached Shikar Bari (Jungle Lodge). Away from the hustle bustle of Udaipur city, just off the High Way, winding through tight lanes (at times wondering will our SUV reach or get struck?) we reached a huge gate, with a Run Way on our left and a cricket field to our right.... The smell of Horses, the distinct jungle fragrance in the setting sun, with a drove of monkeys, dancing peacocks and the herds of deers welcomed us.. Not a minute extra at the check in.. and we were ushered into our room.. the old hunting lodge like interiors with a big window opening into a huge arena with Aravalis in the back drop... Or sit in the verandah sipping your tea and enjoy the frolicking of the Monkeys on the trees, grazing Deers or dancing peacocks.. Comfortable bed and all basic amenities that you may look for.. Next stop the Restaurant.. well the food, specially the authentic "Lal Meat' Red meat with the local delicacies was a treat.. We were to move out next day morning, but we decided to stay on..Well it was worth it everything to ensure a meaning full visit at Udaypur was organized, a very well informed and professional Guide was assigned and he took us around the whole Udaypur....A very clean and neat city. This property of HRH has been maintained well to give a near authentic jungle experience. Staff is very helpful and committed to ensure guest's comforts. Due to heavy rains en route my Black car had turned white and even the headlights were covered with Mud..One request to clean my car.. and next day morning it was the same old gleaming Black beauty... I have been refused a car wash in many a 5 stars also! Well we look forward to our next visit to Udaipur and an opportunity to stay again at Shikarbadi! Thank You Shikar Badi Team..

Room Tip: All are Good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SincereSoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear SincereSoldier,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

Thank you for taking out your precious time and writing a much valued review for us. Kindly accept our gratitude for your kind words about our hotel. We would also like to thank you for taking out time and sharing your detailed experiences of your stay at our hotel.

It is difficult to express the pleasure and satisfaction we get in knowing our guests had a great time at our hotel. We thank you for taking out time and sharing your experiences during your stay at our hotel.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    91
    25
    5
    6
See reviews for
97
50
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I visited this resort with my school friends in May 2014...it's a wonderful property... However, amenities are less...

Resort do not own any sports gears like cricket kit, football or carrom board etc... So if you are with kids, please ensure to carry your own gears...

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank NikhilDaxini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear NikhilDaxini,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

We are grateful to you for taking out time and sharing your experiences during your stay at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create yet another memorable journey for you

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai India
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here on work, since everything else was sold out. But i was amazed. Beautiful setting by a reservoir, deer and sambar and peacocks galore. Feeding time was really fascinating, when large herds of deer and peacocks come and congregate here. Old world charm, but not luxury like Udaivilas or Leela! If visiting Udaipur, and are not on an ultra-luxury trip, do spend 2 nights here for the quiet.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms overlooking the reservoir
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRIPMKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear TRIPMKO,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

It is a pleasure to read your review on TripAdvisor. We are at peace and happy to know that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create yet another memorable journey for you

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Slightly away from the hustle ustle of Udaipur city, this property of HRH has been maintained well to give a near authentic jungle experience. Staff were very helpful and committed to ensure guest's comforts. Good Value for money and a distinct experience. Good for a short stay of day or two. The only jarring note is the smell of excretion from the STUD farm that is maintained in the front side -- this hangs in the air one needs to get used to this while passing through front porch or if you want to take a stroll of the property.

Room Tip: For an authentic experience ask for the annexe --initially scary for children, especially if you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsdsrinivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear hsdsrinivas,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

We are delighted to know that you had an comfortable and memorable stay at our hotel. We are grateful to you for taking out time and sharing your experiences during your stay at our hotel.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The Hotel is in very good location and beautifully maintained by staff. The staff was quite helping and quick in service. I like the quality of food but options are less in terms of variety. The place is quite close to City Palace.

Room Tip: Wifi is not available in lake side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prabhat9899053007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear prabhat9899053007,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

We are grateful to you for taking out time and sharing your experiences during your stay at our hotel. We are indeed pleased to know that you had an enjoyable and memorable stay at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create yet another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Just imagine at the time of Checking in people say that you will not be getting the room at the same price at which you booked it!
Same happened with a friend of fine whom I booked for and post that the reservation staff starts arguing and no one ready to listen. The heights came when a staff person said - nothing can be done you need to pay. Felt like cheating. Had no other choice but to stay, but got a lesson for future on where not to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sahil_Kohli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Sahil_Kohli,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

Thank you for your review on the hotel. Online booking system has been specially installed to assist and bring esteemed guests like your in direct touch with the hotel and its services. We regret the trouble you faced in this process and while you stayed. Your review will help us overcome such flaws & ensuring memorable stay for our guests .

We would still like to serve you again at our best and regain your confidence in us.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

It's a very good hotel for short vacation and relaxing. It's near to city but not a part of city so we can enjoy peace from daily traffic. We were visited at Holi time and that was our lifetime memorable great experience for us. We played holi with prince of Mevar and owner of dis hotel..such a royal experience that was. Kids really enjoyed forest type atmosphere with deer park, peacocks, horses, ducks and monkeys..
Really very good experience for us.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRHhotels, Guest Relations Manager at Shikarbadi, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Jasmine P,

Greetings from Shikarbadi, Udaipur.

It is exciting to read your review on TripAdvisor where we could indulge with your satisfying experience. We are glad we could be a part of your memorable Holi celebrations. We thank you for taking out the time and sharing your experiences with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our hotels soon and create yet another memorable journey for you.

Warm regards,
HRH Group of Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
2.2 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#34 of 157 in Udaipur
481 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Royal Retreat Resort & Spa, Udaipur
2.6 mi away
Hotel Udai Kothi
Hotel Udai Kothi
#22 of 157 in Udaipur
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fateh Prakash Palace
Fateh Prakash Palace
#32 of 157 in Udaipur
419 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
Hotel Mahendra Prakash
#11 of 157 in Udaipur
769 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#17 of 157 in Udaipur
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shikarbadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shikarbadi

Property: Shikarbadi
Address: Goverdhan Villas, Udaipur 313002, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Udaipur
#24 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shikarbadi 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Single-story Hotel, originally a Royal Hunting Lodge, located in wooded area, just outside Udaipur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shikarbadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shikarbadi Hotel Udaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing