We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing times!”
Review of Hotel Udai Kothi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Udai Kothi
Ranked #21 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed 28 September 2011

This was by far the best stay I've had. My husband and I were put up at the Udai Suite where we had an indoor swimming pool and a private terrace. The terrace had a jacuzzi and overlooked Lake Pichola. The beds were quite comfortable. The food was great, service was friendly and non-intrusive. The interiors are marvelous and so aesthetically done!
They organize a private boat ride very evening and this was yet another splendid experience. We stayed for four days and did not tire of the place at all. It is well-connected to the rest of the city.
I would strongly recommend the place to anyone looking at Udaipur.

Room Tip: The suite was brilliant!
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,061)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Udai Kothi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

717 - 723 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2011

ROOM: A lake view does not mean this hotel is on the lake. It is at least half a block away and you have to squint through trees and an ugly cityscape to see it. The decorations of the room where very nice, with fresh flowers (although not replaced daily). This is NOT A HERITAGE HOTEL. It is 10 years old, and had its day already. The bathroom shower cap container looked reused. There was a dead mosquito and dirt on the cap. and the box was dirty, wrinkly, and water stained. Elevator doesn't work, so have to climb to the pool on the roof. No bed sheet, just the mattress cover and a questionable dirty bed spread. Had to request three times for the sheet. But the maid removed it the next morning.

RESTAURANT--Terribly slow service. And the meat dishes are grizzle and bones. Took forever to order, get food, get drinks, get service. And we tiredly had to eat there multiple times, as this was supposed to be our relaxing vacation from the vacation of India. Breakfast restaurant was good, food and service was good. Black tea in restaurant and room always smelled and tasted creamy like milk. Not sure how well they clean their pots.

POOL--Sadly my husband was appalled by the flock of pigeons who kept drinking and bathing in the pool which left a film and feathers on top of the water. The view should be nice, except it is filled with construction all around. You can stay elsewhere for cheap and come visit the pool if you like for under $10.

SPA--So trying to turn a blind eye to our disappointments, the spa only gave pedicures and manicures by an older man. When i entered the empty spa, that smelled like Ethel alchohol and some other terrible smell, with no one else around, I had to cancel my appointments. As for the oil massage, it wasn't sanitary and I'm not going to get into details, but be ready to be naked. And ask her to wash your feet first.

SERVICE- The flowers they give you on arrival is old, reused from previous days. They sent someone else's luggage with us to the airport. We had witnessed the owner had specifically asked t to safeguard it. The taxi to the airport is overpriced, get one on the street.

And my number one favorite--:The pool boy worked very hard but disposed of trash off of the roof terrace.

Room Tip: Don't expect a view of the lake. Save your money and try for a garden view,or stay at a cheaper...
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golisw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Sitting in the peaceful side of the lake, away from traffic and pushing shop owner, from here you can enjoy surely a relaxed staying.
Lake view room are nicely decorated but low season service is quite disappointing for the money spent.
Spa was closed, jakuzi not operational, often not warm water in the shower and lazy personnel adds to the shocking funguses in the breakfast butter...
Surely room for improvement!

Ps: lovely rooftop swimming poor

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giogoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We had used an agent Trail blazer do not use them as well.! it is a horrible road goes through those one lane old city roads which I could live but only if the hotel service and staff were good. They had given us an extra bed which was a roll away bed and guess what it was uneven like crazy and when we asked to change it the manager Rajesh had the audacity to tell to sleep on floor!!!!!!

The next is the best suggestion take an extra room and pay for it .. alright so far one more blow alright to deal with then comes the shock .. the extra charge for the bed in the room will NOT be adjusted. The staff has not courtesy none what so ever… I wonder who has even certified this place to be in the ‘hospitality industry’

The food now w are talking we ordered for vegetable biryani .. being form Hyderabad was missing it so here comes biryani only with Turai (ridge gourd) god help us !!!

If you have a chance stay anywhere but here !!!!

Room Tip: Too Noisier and untidy rooms
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ekta920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Amazing hotel, the grounds, the room and the hotel itself were all gorgeous and very well taken care of. Very attentive staff and ready to help with any and all requests. Also the rooftop pool was a great place to escape the city and relax.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

In general, we were happy with a relaxing stay here. It was a little pricey but we were willing to pay for the respite from madness that can be India. Would stay here again.

PROS:
- Location - From this hotel, it's a quick walk around town, over the river, and into the old town. There are more standard options (Sheraton) outside of town, but they're all a taxi ride away. It's nice to have it at your fingertips.
- Views - From the rooftop, there are great lookouts of the city. The pool is also a nice touch. After being exhausted from travel, it was nice to just chill out with a book and mango lassi for a couple hours in the afternoon.
- Food - Contrary to some other reviews, I very much enjoyed the food at the restaurant. The service isn't quite right (sometimes we waited a while) but the quality was great.

CON:
- Rooms - As with most of India, the rooms aren't excellent by Western standards. The rooms were very outdated but we had no major problems - the bed was comfortable, the tv worked, and the bathroom was clean.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casey_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The hotel is nothing like the website pictures. In fact, I can't figure out how come this hotel has such positive Trip Advisor reviews. We were travelling off-season so can only assume we were housed in a wing of the hotel that isn't typically used in peak season.

Or perhaps our expectations were too high (we'd been travelling around India and had stayed in some amazing hotels, coupled with the fact our tour operator billed this as a 5* heritage hotel - so we were expecting a wonderful boutique hotel experience). Well that's not what we got.

The room itself was, in a word, drab. Yes it was clean (albeit a little dusty from the construction site next door) but had the look and smell of a dormitory. There were stains on the curtains, the A/C was ineffective, the view was of a construction site (despite the fact we were promised a view of the lake), staff were totally disinterested etc....

In the end we asked to be moved to another hotel and thankfully our tour operator was able to reach an agreement with Udai Kothi. We were moved to the Trident, Udaipur which although didn't have the charm of a boutique hotel, was a pleasant stay none the less.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgirl78_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#18 of 163 in Udaipur
709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 163 in Udaipur
2,300 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#35 of 163 in Udaipur
489 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#16 of 163 in Udaipur
358 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#5 of 163 in Udaipur
2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Udai Kothi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Udai Kothi

Address: O/S Chand Pole | Hanuman Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#21 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#23 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £78 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Udai Kothi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though within a short, pleasant stroll from the heart of old city, Udai Kothi is remarkable for its tranquility and magnificence.Conceptualized, designed, created and run by Kunwar Vishwavijay and his wife Bhuwneshwari Kumari, Udai Kothi is a superbly modern hotel, which pampers you with all the facilities, amenities and luxuries a 21st century traveler expects. While Udai Kothi is modern at heart, the owners have made every effort to incorporate all those architectural and decorative features that make living in the city of Udaipur a pleasure. Udai Kothi offers guests the best of both worlds; the latest standards, blending happily with old-world charm.The elegant rooftop restaurant with its cool palm court makes a perfect retreat the midday heat. Dine in the evening in a romantic ambience, muted lighting, gentle music, shining cutlery and spotless napery. The reflection of the illuminated palaces in the waters of the lake and the twinkling lights of the city won’t fail to enchant you. We offer a high standard of cuisine form a comprehensive menu. Upon the terrace discover a perfect spot to relax, or swim in Udaipur’s only rooftop pool; away form the noise and bustle of the city street with the restaurant close-at-hand to supply you with drinks, snacks or meals, and musical entertainment in the evening.Each guestroom has its own character and style, with carefully selected furniture, soft furnishings and décor; and a delightful view that can be savored form the jharokha (window seat). Spacious lawns stretch out on the South side of the hotel, bordered with multicolored climbing Bougainvillea and other beautiful shrubs and flowers, an ideal venue for large celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Udai Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Udai Kothi Udaipur
Udai Kothi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing