We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Udai Kothi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Udai Kothi
Ranked #25 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2008

This hotel was amazing. It is only a 3 star hotel. So you don't get the service of a 5 star. But what we got was worth our money.
The terrace was amazing. The view stunning. Actually, if you get to the upper terrace (There was nobody there) you get a 360 degrees view of the city and the lake. We watched sunset from there : just fantastic.
The hotel is really pretty. The staff is really nice. Besides, it seems that they are going to make some additions with a new building, a sunset lounge, a spa, bigger gardens and a new pool. The hotel will become one of the best places in town without having the prices of the Oberoi or Lake Palace.
Only comments : could improve the food and could replace the bathrobes.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geronimo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    359
    129
    59
    69
See reviews for
225
436
43
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2008

There is no denying the beauty of this hotel! the foyer, the furniture, the pool and the rooms are absolutely stunning but there are definately problems at this hotel. when you pay above $100 you start to expect certain things, The food was very expensive, the staff a bit grumpy and we even had to berak-up an early morning fight outside our room between 3 staff members. Do not spend more money on a LAKE facing room. They are not worth it as your view is obstructed anyway by other buildings in front of the hotel! We had a wonderful NEW YEARS party on the roof. At the end of the day a very memorable experience although maybe not entirely worth the money we paid!

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wikusdutoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2008

We stayed here for one night at the end of a two week trip. The terrace is lovely but there is a massive noisy construction site which ruins it, not to mention the dirty pool towels provided. Staff are polite. Food is mediocre and breakfast is rather depressing. The rooms and bathrooms are clean but simply not at all cozy.

  • Liked — Views from rooftop
  • Disliked — Construciton site next door
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mp_voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2008

Great little hotel with a nice garden and a roof top terrace restaurant and pool that looks across the lake to the City Palace and Old city. We booked suites which had more space, but were traditionally Indian (ours was 70's pink floral!) and I would recommend booking the best rooms available. The front office staff were helpful and courteous. Our 3 daughters loved the pool. The best part of this hotel is that you can walk along the road outside and not get hassled to death by beggars etc which was the only city that we visited that you could do this. We had only one meal in the hotel
which was OK- opting instead for the fabulous Amet Haveli within 300 M which had amazing food and a unsurpassed view across the lake for our breakfasts and evening meals.

  • Liked — Large rooms
  • Disliked — 70's pink floral design
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2008

This hotel makes the perfect retreat after enjoying the hustle and bustle of Delhi, Agra, and Rajasthan-- our favorite spot of our 2 week trip to India. The staff is friendly, and cleaning the property constantly. Little details like fresh marigold petals and candles throughout were a noticed welcome touch.

Having arrived early via overnight train, we had no problem waiting in the bougainvillea-filled garden until a room was available. Our room (#203) was large-- four-post bed, two cozy window alcoves, and a separate seating area where the staff left cookies and chocolates. I was torn between wanting to wander the streets of this delightful town and simply enjoying the incredible views from the Udai Kothi's rooftop-- you don't get a view like this when you are staying at the hotel ON the lake!

We watched the sun set, and enjoyed one of the most romantic dinners ever-- delicious food, candles aglow, our small table for two overlooking the lights of Udaipur (and would you believe we then saw fireworks over the lake?)

This was an incredible experience for about $120/night (high season). We will return, looking forward to the suites the hotel is adding on an adjacent property.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sojourners2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
332 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 470 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2007

For whom:

Couples and older travellers who can’t or don’t want to spend a fortune for staying in Taj Lake Palace or The Udaivilas.

Location:

Located in a small cape opposite to the city and the city palace this 4-storey building has lake view from the third and fourth floors. Pool and Jacuzzi (actually a bath tub) are on the top floor with the restaurant. Views are great. Walk some 300 metres along a narrow road, cross the bridge and you are in the old city (tourist) area. Good location as this side is quieter than if you’d be staying in the old city itself. However if it’s lake view you are after you might want to consider hotel Sarowar or Lake Pichola hotel which are right on the lakeside and cheaper. And for better rooms and with cheaper prices would go for Tiger Guest House in the old city.

Rooms:

Basic but clean. Too crammed with furniture. Faded floral patterned curtains give this place a doll house look. Or it’s like staying at you grandma’s. Some of the 3rd floor rooms have a partial lake view towards Jag Niwas island with Lake Palace hotel operated by Taj. There are two new yet unfinished buildings on the grounds. Smaller one looks like it is going to be a private villa and the taller building – well just more rooms facing this time the city palace instead of the lake palace. There’s aircon but you do not need it in the winter time as especially they nights can get very cold here. They had an electronic heater – and warm water bottles for heating up the bed.

Public areas:

Small garden is well manicured. However the real treat of this place is the roof top pool. Unfortunately in winter time (late November) the water was too cold for swimming. So you could select a cheaper place without a pool instead. Roof top restaurant has great view but it’s rather expensive. Especially the breakfast at 300 INR + tax (about 6 EUR) is not worth it.
To sum it up:
Plusses:
- good view from the roof top terrace
- the pool but only it were heated in the winter time

Minuses:
- expensive when compared to other places close by
-service

Recommended:
- for more mature travellers.

Note:
The room safety is difficult to operate and it is not really a safety as anyone can open it by just punching in new numbers. There are loads of fishy personnel who all seem to know this. I would not leave anything valuable in there.

  • Liked — Rooftop pool
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Stayed December 2007
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme NH
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2007

Hotel Udai Kothi has a few nasty rooms. We booked ourselves by telephone while in India and got a bad room. Beware! The management told us beforehand that "the room has no lake view". After we arrived they advised us that they would not give this room to "a travel agent" because it was substandard. The room #210 was a (poorly) converted storage room with bad ventilation and bad plumbing. The room was about 8' wide by 20' deep with two tiny non-opening windows above eye-level. A powerful exhaust fan in the bathroom sucked sewer gas out of the floor drains and into the room. Very nasty. We turned off the fan. The water temperature in the shower fluctuated wildly making showering unpleasant or impossible. Other rooms in this hotel are reported to be nice, but be advised to avoid the "no view" offerings. I wish the staff had been more forthcoming when we made our booking. Self-booker beware.

  • Disliked — Bad plumbing and ventilation, sewer gas
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NeedaCleanRoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#12 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,216 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#21 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#33 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#7 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Udai Kothi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Udai Kothi

Property: Hotel Udai Kothi
Address: O/S Chand Pole | outside Chandpole, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#21 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#23 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Udai Kothi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though within a short, pleasant stroll from the heart of old city, Udai Kothi is remarkable for its tranquility and magnificence.Conceptualized, designed, created and run by Kunwar Vishwavijay and his wife Bhuwneshwari Kumari, Udai Kothi is a superbly modern hotel, which pampers you with all the facilities, amenities and luxuries a 21st century traveler expects. While Udai Kothi is modern at heart, the owners have made every effort to incorporate all those architectural and decorative features that make living in the city of Udaipur a pleasure. Udai Kothi offers guests the best of both worlds; the latest standards, blending happily with old-world charm.The elegant rooftop restaurant with its cool palm court makes a perfect retreat the midday heat. Dine in the evening in a romantic ambience, muted lighting, gentle music, shining cutlery and spotless napery. The reflection of the illuminated palaces in the waters of the lake and the twinkling lights of the city won’t fail to enchant you. We offer a high standard of cuisine form a comprehensive menu. Upon the terrace discover a perfect spot to relax, or swim in Udaipur’s only rooftop pool; away form the noise and bustle of the city street with the restaurant close-at-hand to supply you with drinks, snacks or meals, and musical entertainment in the evening.Each guestroom has its own character and style, with carefully selected furniture, soft furnishings and décor; and a delightful view that can be savored form the jharokha (window seat). Spacious lawns stretch out on the South side of the hotel, bordered with multicolored climbing Bougainvillea and other beautiful shrubs and flowers, an ideal venue for large celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Udai Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Udai Kothi Udaipur
Udai Kothi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing