We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooftop restaurant”
Review of Hotel Udai Kothi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Udai Kothi
Ranked #23 of 175 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed 24 March 2008

Very impressive reception. Unfortunately, the elevator still is out of order. Great view from the roof and pool. Meals were excellent. Unfortunately, the only view I had from my room was the kitchen of the neighbour. I watched with the eyes of an anthropologist as they prepared dinner and breakfast. Quite an insight. The air conditioner left much to be desired. But it is difficult to put a damper on any stay in this most beautiful town. It was one of my favorite. I could see myself returning to spend more time here. I suppose I could have asked to change rooms, but my days were so long that I was happy just to fall into a comfortable bed after a long bath. I asked several times to have the safe opened, but they never did arrive. I think there is little to fear of any theft here. The people are so eager to please. The hotel is in a great position for walking.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shiracheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

815 - 821 of 1,115 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2008

We stayed here after our first choice was unavailable at this peak time. While not on the lakeside this Hotel still is in an excellent position with great views from the rooftop restaurant.

The hotel was very well run, the staff could not be more helpful and our room was comfortable, spacious and very peaceful. The standard of the food at Dinner was also excellent. In fact my only negative comment would be that the lift is unreliable and so would definitely not recommend this if climbing stairs were difficult for you.

As an observation this Hotel is being extended in the low season with larger terrace restaurant and new wing I would be confident that given the care the management have taken over their service that it will still be an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Steve046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2008

Udai Barg, Udaipur
We booked into Udai Barg for two days over Christmas as it was peak season and the sister hotel Udai Kothi was full. We pre booked with a credit card with no problems. Udai Barg is about 20 mins drive out of town. There are seven tents set in gardens with a swimming pool. The tents are comfortable, clean and well furnished with TV, fridge, tea and coffee. Free transport is provided to the main Udai Kothi hotel where you can use the hotel facilities. This sounded good, except we found that Udai Barg hasn’t been fully built yet, so there is nothing else there. For any meal, including breakfast, you have to drive into the main hotel, or order one hour in advance, then they go to the hotel to pick it up and drive it back and warm it up in a microwave. Service is a bit disorganised, some problems with the hot water and the safe, however the staff tried their best and were quite nice. A bit overpriced but may improve once it has been finished.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_JSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2008

The Udai Kothi is very well placed - a stones throw from lovely markets and the lake.

The accommodation was high quality (for the price) and the restaurant and rooftop terrace were especially pretty.

We enjoyed a celebratory dinner upstairs and had a lovely night of great food and tasty G&T.

While the stairs did become a bit tiring (there is a lift), they provided a valuable opportunity to do some much-needed exercise!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2008

This hotel was amazing. It is only a 3 star hotel. So you don't get the service of a 5 star. But what we got was worth our money.
The terrace was amazing. The view stunning. Actually, if you get to the upper terrace (There was nobody there) you get a 360 degrees view of the city and the lake. We watched sunset from there : just fantastic.
The hotel is really pretty. The staff is really nice. Besides, it seems that they are going to make some additions with a new building, a sunset lounge, a spa, bigger gardens and a new pool. The hotel will become one of the best places in town without having the prices of the Oberoi or Lake Palace.
Only comments : could improve the food and could replace the bathrobes.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geronimo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2008

There is no denying the beauty of this hotel! the foyer, the furniture, the pool and the rooms are absolutely stunning but there are definately problems at this hotel. when you pay above $100 you start to expect certain things, The food was very expensive, the staff a bit grumpy and we even had to berak-up an early morning fight outside our room between 3 staff members. Do not spend more money on a LAKE facing room. They are not worth it as your view is obstructed anyway by other buildings in front of the hotel! We had a wonderful NEW YEARS party on the roof. At the end of the day a very memorable experience although maybe not entirely worth the money we paid!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wikusdutoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2008

We stayed here for one night at the end of a two week trip. The terrace is lovely but there is a massive noisy construction site which ruins it, not to mention the dirty pool towels provided. Staff are polite. Food is mediocre and breakfast is rather depressing. The rooms and bathrooms are clean but simply not at all cozy.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mp_voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#22 of 175 in Udaipur
747 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 175 in Udaipur
2,394 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#38 of 175 in Udaipur
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#16 of 175 in Udaipur
1,419 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 175 in Udaipur
2,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Udai Kothi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Udai Kothi

Address: O/S Chand Pole | Hanuman Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#21 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £72 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Udai Kothi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though within a short, pleasant stroll from the heart of old city, Udai Kothi is remarkable for its tranquility and magnificence.Conceptualized, designed, created and run by Kunwar Vishwavijay and his wife Bhuwneshwari Kumari, Udai Kothi is a superbly modern hotel, which pampers you with all the facilities, amenities and luxuries a 21st century traveler expects. While Udai Kothi is modern at heart, the owners have made every effort to incorporate all those architectural and decorative features that make living in the city of Udaipur a pleasure. Udai Kothi offers guests the best of both worlds; the latest standards, blending happily with old-world charm.The elegant rooftop restaurant with its cool palm court makes a perfect retreat the midday heat. Dine in the evening in a romantic ambience, muted lighting, gentle music, shining cutlery and spotless napery. The reflection of the illuminated palaces in the waters of the lake and the twinkling lights of the city won’t fail to enchant you. We offer a high standard of cuisine form a comprehensive menu. Upon the terrace discover a perfect spot to relax, or swim in Udaipur’s only rooftop pool; away form the noise and bustle of the city street with the restaurant close-at-hand to supply you with drinks, snacks or meals, and musical entertainment in the evening.Each guestroom has its own character and style, with carefully selected furniture, soft furnishings and décor; and a delightful view that can be savored form the jharokha (window seat). Spacious lawns stretch out on the South side of the hotel, bordered with multicolored climbing Bougainvillea and other beautiful shrubs and flowers, an ideal venue for large celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Udai Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Udai Kothi Udaipur
Udai Kothi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing