We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a disaster”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Udai Kothi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Udai Kothi
Ranked #24 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a disaster”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

The hotel badly needs renovation. Although our room was nice and clean and did have a lake view we cold not keep the curtains up to enjoy it because of the construction goingon. The rest of the property was badly in need of renovation. Elevator dirty, dining room for breakfast crowded. They ran out of food almost every morning. Dead flowers on the table the two days that we were there. Construction going on outside hotel so noise from 10 AM to 10 PM. Staff did not seem to understand the simplest request, question, statement. They were completely unaccomodating and uncaring with a rudimentary command of English.Pool slightly dirty. Hot tub not functioning. All in all a real disaster.

Room Tip: Only take a front lake facing room on an upper floor. Our friend had a ground floor room that was d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    370
    131
    61
    69
See reviews for
231
445
46
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

I booked Udai Bagh for 3 nights (same group) but moved to Udai Kothi next day. Property was good but it was away from the main city and my family wanted to be closer to the main city. They were accomodative and moved us without charging extra. Roof top view is good, service was also good. We did not have much option for buffet but quality of food was good.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_S_BANGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

Our travel agent booked us this hotel as we said we didn't want the lake one as it was too expensive. We were so overwhelmed at our room when we walked in and just loved it. The decor, fabrics and everything about the room was fabulous. The roof terrace, where we had dinner, was magical, under the stars. Shame that breakfast is not served own the terrace too. All the guests were squashed into a side room and we had to share a table with others which we did not like.
Udaipur is a fabulous place to visit and we had an excellent guide who spoke very good English.

Room Tip: Definitely go for one of the suites with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ctbm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

We had the Udai suite for the Diwali night and it was simply magical.
The views from the private rooftop (including of course a private jacuzzi) is gorgeous and if you choose to have dinner on your private terrace the experience will be unforgettable. Too bad that the room service that particular evening was extremely long (we had to wait nearly 1 hour for a Thali) and that overall the restaurant is a little bit overpriced (800 rps for a Thali + 15% of room service charge).
The suite includes a small private swimming-pool, a very comfortable bed and is well furnished.
The bathroom is paradoxically much smaller than the ones in the suites in the newest building.
Contrary to other contributors that complained about the breakfast, we were deeply satisfied with the buffet proposed by the hotel.

The cons of our stay in the Udai Kothi:
The hotel is undertaking major enhancements, so the view from certain points of the hotel (and the related noise) may be annoying.
The elevator in the main building does not work properly and does not fit with the high standing of the hotel.
The location is not perfect since it is located in a tiny street and close to the lake as could be other hotels in Udaipur that I will not mention here (and the related view from the restaurant that could be better in some other hotels)
Overall the experience was great.

Room Tip: Try the Udai Suite or the Deluxe suites in the new building with view on the lake. Avoid the "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Didier A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

I booked this hotel well in advance after much research. The location and ambiance is nice, but cannot be reached by a bus or tempo traveler. The streets are so narrow and crowded, that we had to leave the vehicle a distance away. We checked in late in the night and the staff was not ready for us, coz he was not informed of our arrival. After much effort 5 rooms were assigned. One away from all others and in a smoking area. Terrible rest being allergic to smoke. The dining room cannot hold the number of guests they accommodate and also ran short of food. At the reception we meet with a rude shock, to be told we have reservation for just one single day and would have to check out by noon! On producing documentation, he was confused, and were discouraged on booking via Expedia. This guy had an attitude problem, and went on to say, "you can write reviews on tripadvisor or any other blog, but we are not bothered. Finally, some sane individual, who I guess was the owner sorted matters out and confirmed our stay for 3 days, and gave a good room away from the smoking area for the next 2 days. Front office staff needs training. Some officers are really courteous while others are not . They however, will never let you speak to the management. The answer would be - Manager is resting. I strongly believe they do not have a duty manager on call.

Room Tip: There are just a few suits with lake view. All others do not have views. So, if you are looking for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indirakah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Udai Kothi is a very nice boutique hotel located near the old part of Udaipur. The streets are very narrow and offer a challenge to any driver getting through past the cows, dogs, motorcycles, pedestrians and oncoming traffic. Amazingly, they do!
Location is good and just a few minutes walk to old town and through the main bridge.
The view from the rooftop pool is spectacular.

Rooms are beautifully decorated although the bathroom looks a bit dated. The sliding door over the sloping tub is inconvenient and can be hazardous if you dont enter and exit the tub carefully.

Staff is pleasant and polite and the fellows at the front desk made an effort to remember our names.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdwinHew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012 via mobile

We loved staying at this hotel. Our suite of rooms was luxurious, all parts of the hotel were well maintained and well appointed, and we had no difficulties getting help from staff with various requests. We highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SusanCamperdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#21 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#11 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Udai Kothi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Udai Kothi

Property: Hotel Udai Kothi
Address: O/S Chand Pole | outside Chandpole, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#21 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#23 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Udai Kothi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though within a short, pleasant stroll from the heart of old city, Udai Kothi is remarkable for its tranquility and magnificence.Conceptualized, designed, created and run by Kunwar Vishwavijay and his wife Bhuwneshwari Kumari, Udai Kothi is a superbly modern hotel, which pampers you with all the facilities, amenities and luxuries a 21st century traveler expects. While Udai Kothi is modern at heart, the owners have made every effort to incorporate all those architectural and decorative features that make living in the city of Udaipur a pleasure. Udai Kothi offers guests the best of both worlds; the latest standards, blending happily with old-world charm.The elegant rooftop restaurant with its cool palm court makes a perfect retreat the midday heat. Dine in the evening in a romantic ambience, muted lighting, gentle music, shining cutlery and spotless napery. The reflection of the illuminated palaces in the waters of the lake and the twinkling lights of the city won’t fail to enchant you. We offer a high standard of cuisine form a comprehensive menu. Upon the terrace discover a perfect spot to relax, or swim in Udaipur’s only rooftop pool; away form the noise and bustle of the city street with the restaurant close-at-hand to supply you with drinks, snacks or meals, and musical entertainment in the evening.Each guestroom has its own character and style, with carefully selected furniture, soft furnishings and décor; and a delightful view that can be savored form the jharokha (window seat). Spacious lawns stretch out on the South side of the hotel, bordered with multicolored climbing Bougainvillea and other beautiful shrubs and flowers, an ideal venue for large celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Udai Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Udai Kothi Udaipur
Udai Kothi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing