We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Udai Kothi
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$469
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
The Leela Palace Udaipur(Udaipur)
US$336
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$315
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel The Tiger(Udaipur)(Great Value!)
US$12
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$460
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Jaiwana Haveli(Udaipur)
US$45
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,158)
Filter reviews
1,158 results
Traveller rating
460
409
146
65
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
460
409
146
65
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolmarble bathboutique hotellake picholabeautiful hotelold cityfour poster bedupgraded to a suitecity palacenarrow streetsgarden viewsitting areaboat rideindiaambiencealcovepassword
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
711 - 716 of 1,158 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This was the most disappointing hotel throughout or 6 weeks in India.

Firstly you shall be greeted with an overpowering smell of sewage from exposed drains at the bottom of the entrance. Building works are taking place surrounding 3/4's of the property. The building itself is rather cute but interiors are old, dirty & tired. The towels in the bathroom & pool area are threadbare & filthy - the pillows on the bed smelt of stale sweat. Free water & toilet roll was not replaced daily & cleaning of the rooms still not completed after 3pm in the afternoon. We had rooms located on the 2nd floor and were subjected to the heavy, metal, dining furnishings being dragged along the floor at 1am and 5.30am both days that we stayed. Pigeons & crows fly everywhere around the building and deposit their nasty waste in the roof top swimming pool. This could be lessened considerably with a bit of care & attention from the owners, things can bought & placed to keep these pests under control. The breakfast offering in the morning was nothing special and could be so much better with just a little TLC - most of the staff seemed inexperienced & disorganised. The only positive I can offer is the hotel is in a good location, but there is definitely much better on offer in Udaipur which is quite stunning & magical.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank collicoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed in a deluxe double room at the Udai Kothi in November 2012. The approach is very narrow lanes and lots of movement including cows and even an elephant and driver but you hear no noise from the hotel.

There is a nice rooftop pool that was clean and well maintained and we saw several people using it in the mornings. The views are magnificent. The restaurant is also rooftop and although we did not eat there, we checked out the buffet and it looked delicious. Food was kept hot on burners and the tables were covered with linen cloth. "Technically", there is no bar, but drinks are served with dinner. We went to the restaurant before the dinner hour and were told that we could take a seat and have drinks and enjoy the view till until the dinner hour guests appeared. We agreed and had a lovely evening with stunning views. The following day a French tour group arrived and they were also very satisfied with the hotel.

The breakfast room is quite small and located on the roof terrace. The line was a bit long and you had to "spy" the omelete maker off to the side and take your breakfast outside on set up tables, but that was no problem. Waiters refilled our coffee/tea from the outdoor area and we preferred to be outdoors anyway. The restaurant was full up.

Just down the roadway at the end is the most fabulous restaurant right on the water with illuminated views from across the lake. It is the Ambrai Restaurant and is located in the Amet Havali. We were even able to hear the music and watch the show coming from the Lake Palace Hotel. This restaurant is open air, under the trees and twinkling lights. We walked over to inquire about dinner reservations and they were booked for weeks. We came back again in early evening and were given a prime table along with a smile and exceptional service. The following evening we returned around 7:00 p.m. and the staff set up an extra small table for us. The location is divine and the food is good and reasonably priced. It was also one of the only restaurants offering a bottle of wine for $35 US. The ambiance of the Amet Havali was nicer than that of the Udai Kothi, but the price difference was not worth it for us.

The sunset boat ride was nice. We went around the Palace Lake Hotel and were very happy that we had stayed at the Udaipur Kothi. The island hotel seemed very stuffy, as well as the gorgeous Oberoi hotel and Trident which are in the same area. We much preferred our hotel away from the Zona Rosa of Udaipur.

The visit to the City Palace was not very interesting. It was a festival day and the place was over run with visitors. My husband summed it us best. He said that Shakespeare must have written one of his famous plays at this palace. When I asked which one, he replied "Much Ado About Nothing".


Of all the places we visited in India, Udaipur was the cleanest by far. This was our second stop on a 3 week visit and we were told that most people end their trip here.

By all means don't miss visiting this city. It is beautiful, We flew from New Delhi and it was well worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlaskaMomofTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Yet another hotel I picked based on positive Tripadvisor reviews on my three week tour of India, and yet another disappointment.

This hotel markets itself as a 'boutique' or 'design' hotel. It is not. It's just (overly) decorated in a style that is supposed to appear genuine, but in fact comes across as tacky. Admittedly, the hotel is nicely situated in Udaipur, but so are many others in this area. The view from the roof top restaurant with its 'famous' swimming pool is gorgeous. My deluxe room, in a new, uncompleted building, was huge, clean and well equipped.

Service at this hotel left a lot to be desired, however. The front desk clerks were not friendly at all, cleaning of my room was not finished when I was shown to it, towels were lacking, complimentary coffee was not re-stocked the next day, breakfast was lackluster and served in a very crowded room, my room was still not cleaned at all when I returned to my room at 2 pm, the laundry I handed in that was promised to be returned to me by 8 pm I did not get until 9:45... Oh there were just so many little glitches during my two night stay here that when you add them all up, it becomes a very disappointing experience.

Worst of all was the mandatory New Year's Eve dinner. What is that about anyway - forcing paying guests to pay even more for a dinner that turns out to be just another buffet of mostly standard Indian dishes served outside in the cold, and with no drinks but water included in the hefty price?

Udaipur is a great place to visit, beautiful, mysterious, romantic... But would I stay at this hotel again if I were to return? Hell no.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Larshie_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

having booked 3 nights accomodation in January unfortunately due to illness I had to email the hotel to cancel which they acknowledged.Although they were advised well in advance they still charged my credit card with the full amount and now are refusing any refund.The booking was arranged through booking.com who I have also contacted but their help in this matter has been abysmal.Be aware!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank henshall m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed there for one night and enjoyed the location in the middle of the old city. Lots of shops sourrounding the hotel, nice rooms, clean and big. Excellent bathrooms in marble and good water pressure (something you start to give importance after traveling a few days/weeks over this incredibly beautiful country). We would stay here again. And wifi was complimentary :-), something that seems not to be common in India.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dica_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews