We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Venice of India”
Review of Hotel Udai Kothi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Udai Kothi
Ranked #23 of 167 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We had booked our stay at “Hotel Udai Kothi” near Hanuman ghat in mid march 2013 fro a 4 days holiday. We believe a central destination for a hotel is convenient in a small city and Udai Kothi was well situated. Dont mind the small lanes that lead you to the hotel, they are worth exploring.

We also got some great discount as we had done an online booking for our stay. We practically did our bookings a few hrs before and we were satisfied with our stay here. This place had a old world charm in décor but the taste was well balanced with modern facilities. We stayed for 3 nights in a deluxe suite in their new wing. The new wing has no elevators currently as the wing is under construction. But this did not hamper our stay.

The room decor has beautiful block printed upholstery and amazing antique furniture. A real maharaja feeling with big pillows and spacious rooms. The room is well equipped with all facilities and large bathrooms. Every room had a colour theme and ours was fresh green and white. A clean and spacious courtyard for an evening tea with garden furniture and colourful flowers was a perfect setting to relax after a long walk around town. There are small fountains that are also beautifully decorated in the garden and makes your walk to the room more mesmerizing with birds chirping around them.

The restaurant on the rooftop has a good view in the night. The breakfast platter though limited serves very good fruits and sausages. The Indian breakfast is also good -poha and upma. Expect a candle light Dinner, the food was very good with a wide variety of non-veg and veg gravies to taste from and a good range of rotis / parathas. The swimming pool area on the roof top is also enjoyable for the evening or an early morning dip.

Some other facilities are free wi-fi, a massage centre, a souvenir shop. The front desk staff is not very well versed with many languages and we didnt find him too accommodating at times. Travel desk was helpful. The convenient place of the hotel slightly away from the hussle bustle of the street life also convenient for a rickshaw stand incase required. Overall a good stay to be on your own.

Room Tip: Ask for the new wing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paymach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

660 - 666 of 1,100 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2013

Beautiful Maharadjah-style hotel with interesting architecture, very helpful staff (not at reception though), beautiful gardens, swimming pool and restaurant on roof of hotel with beautiful view on the lake. Suites are spacious & decorated with taste and are locted in the new building. However, no elevators and very unhandy locker system to close the doors. Very noisy at night as well. Deluxe rooms (not deluxe at all) are located in the older building, much more old fashioned furniture and very noisy. Smelly water in the bathroom, but clean and comfortable. Staff at reception is lazy and seems bothered when needing to work. Free wifi at hotel. Hard to find and not close to the lake. I reckon once can find a better place for the same price; I was a bit disappointing.

Room Tip: book a suite in new building on lower floor, as no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We loved Udai Kothi. The rooms were so neatly decorated and cozy. Felt like your own little home. We only had booked one night originally but decided we liked it so much and wanted some relax time from hectic India that we asked to stay 2 more nights and they said the room was available for 2 more nights so we decided to go for it! The price was a bit more than most places, but worth it for the cleanliness and coziness.
It was a very relaxing place to get away from the hustle and bustle in the streets. We would go out for walks and sight seeing with the bikes, cars, and people zipping by us and honking and hollering - and come back to our oasis and relax. The views were pretty neat from the rooftop restaurant. Prices were a little high there for food.
The included breakfast buffet was pretty good every day and a little different every day, too.
The front desk staff was okay... not super friendly, but not bad either.
The travel desk guy kind of seemed lazy too when we asked him to help us book train tickets.
And the guy working in the gift shop was trying to get us to go to his house to sell us some art, which was strange.
Overall I would recommend this hotel as a nice relaxing getaway.

Room Tip: we had a corner unit that had its own sitting nook which was nice to open the windows and watch the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leegray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We could not believe that the narrow road to get to this lovely hotel was two way, there was barely enough room for our car, but another exciting Indian experience to get there. We were upgraded to a 3rd floor suite which was huge, Suite 5. The bathroom was excellent but the view out the rear window was not great, looking directly down on how some poor people live in India. This block was built 3 years ago - you need to be capable of climbing 6 flights of stairs as there is not lift. The restaurant and pool are in a completely different building, 4 floors up on the top, but there is a small lift to get you there. They have wifi but no computer internet.
We had a fabulous meal on the outdoor restaurant on the top floor, good view, great food, we had the onion soup, tandorri vege and non-vege, both excellent.
Breakfast was good but is a little cramped and difficult to get to the front to get food, they need to do something about this. If you want an omelette or eggs you need to speak up as they didn't ask and you'd miss out otherwise. Food costs were reasonable.

Room Tip: Suite 5 was very good if you don't mind climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I was there in the beginning for feb 2013. Very beautiful place with modern services. Fantastic views from the rooftop restaurant. rooms were comfortable and made me feel special. poolside breakfast was amazing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ankitjadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night while backpacking. So this was meant to be a one off treat. Paid £165 for luxury Udai Suite with plunge pool & heated jacuzzi on the roof terrace. We enquired in the afternoon about the jacuzzi not being heated, was told they had turned on the heat & would take 5-6 hours to heat up. 8 hours later the water was freezing & the jacuzzi was unusable. The pool inside was also freezing cold & could not be used. Complaints to staff & the duty manager fell on deaf ears. Despite myself & my partner telephoning reception several times throughout the day they claimed to have not received any requests from us. Service in general was poor. Dinner service was ok, we had the buffet & a cocktail, staff were nice but food was bland & tasteless.
I asked to see the manager on checkout & was only able to speak to him on the phone as he was not in the hotel. Compensation offered was only an insulting 200 rupees off of our bill(less than £3). The manager basically told me that because we had booked with agoda & received a 10% discount we had no right to complain & made it clear that in his opinion we were not entitled to heated water in the jacuzzi as advertised. Very disappointed in the hotel in general, for the money paid I expected much better service.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Manda198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights in February. The Hotel is an attractive building and our room was well decorated and clean. It is well located and you can easily walk into the centre of the city by walking over the footbridge. The restaurant on the roof was very atmospheric for evening meals and the quality of the food was good. The drawback in the mornings for breakfast was the rather crowded small dining room situated on the roof although we could appreciate it would be difficult for staff to manage guests having breakfast in the larger restaurant area. The rooftop swimming pool looked good although we did not swim in it. We found all the staff welcoming and pleasant except for a rather officious man on reception when we checked in- this was rather a pity as it set a negative tone for us which was not reflected by anyone else for the rest of our stay. I do wonder how the expansion of the hotel with the building of a new wing currently in progress will impact on this hotel's claim to be a 'boutique hotel'.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ShropshireGadfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#19 of 167 in Udaipur
733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 167 in Udaipur
2,362 reviews
1 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#16 of 167 in Udaipur
1,405 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#40 of 167 in Udaipur
504 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
Hotel Panna Vilas Palace
#35 of 167 in Udaipur
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Udai Kothi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Udai Kothi

Address: O/S Chand Pole | Hanuman Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#21 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £86 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Udai Kothi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though within a short, pleasant stroll from the heart of old city, Udai Kothi is remarkable for its tranquility and magnificence.Conceptualized, designed, created and run by Kunwar Vishwavijay and his wife Bhuwneshwari Kumari, Udai Kothi is a superbly modern hotel, which pampers you with all the facilities, amenities and luxuries a 21st century traveler expects. While Udai Kothi is modern at heart, the owners have made every effort to incorporate all those architectural and decorative features that make living in the city of Udaipur a pleasure. Udai Kothi offers guests the best of both worlds; the latest standards, blending happily with old-world charm.The elegant rooftop restaurant with its cool palm court makes a perfect retreat the midday heat. Dine in the evening in a romantic ambience, muted lighting, gentle music, shining cutlery and spotless napery. The reflection of the illuminated palaces in the waters of the lake and the twinkling lights of the city won’t fail to enchant you. We offer a high standard of cuisine form a comprehensive menu. Upon the terrace discover a perfect spot to relax, or swim in Udaipur’s only rooftop pool; away form the noise and bustle of the city street with the restaurant close-at-hand to supply you with drinks, snacks or meals, and musical entertainment in the evening.Each guestroom has its own character and style, with carefully selected furniture, soft furnishings and décor; and a delightful view that can be savored form the jharokha (window seat). Spacious lawns stretch out on the South side of the hotel, bordered with multicolored climbing Bougainvillea and other beautiful shrubs and flowers, an ideal venue for large celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Udai Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Udai Kothi Udaipur
Udai Kothi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing