We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveller Beware”
Review of Hotel Udai Kothi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Udai Kothi
Ranked #23 of 165 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We chose this hotel based on other Trip Advisor remarks & ratings. We would agree that all the lovely things said about the position and decor of the hotel are absolutely correct.
We booked a 5 night stay, based on a special promotion, lake facing suite for R3000 plus taxes and this is what we expected to pay. On arrival the hotel informed us our room was upgraded for two nights then we would have to move to a different room. They did not tell us that the upgrade would cost R5,337.13 plus taxes per night- a significant difference to the quoted price we had accepted. After two days we packed our bags expecting to move and were told we could keep the room for the rest of our stay.
The suite they gave us was indeed beautiful - however when we book and agree on a price - that is what we expect to pay. We didn't expect or ask for an upgrade - this has come from management.
The unexpected and unnegotiated new amount has strained our budget and has soured our stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilbethk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,085)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

628 - 634 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

with its traditional architecture and comfy rooms, this hotel offers rich experience in the old city of Udaipur. Roof has a great view and swimming pool to enjoy under traditional indian architecture. wifi seemed not working properly thought, that is properly something they need to invest on.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ideorium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Extremely beautiful decor ... totally in line with the Rajasthani royalty. Rooms are exquisite with amazing garden views. Food although is a little on the expensive side, but the complimentary breakfast compensates for it. Bang opposite the hotel is a lakeside restaurant which is pretty and has good food with decent rates. Love the fact that the hotel is in one of the narrow lanes which makes the trip to the hotel all the more exciting.

Room Tip: Check out their most expensive room ... has the best views and a personal open air jaccuzi and spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Namita09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I had a two night stay in the hotel, rooms and the hotel were well decked up in the rajasthani palace style. Swimming pool was excellent in cleanliness and maintenance and at roof top it offers a good city and lake view too. Food was good n fresh, staff was polite and helpful but we had to go through narrow lanes to reach this hotel,though the hotel has parking space. The only let off or the negative experience was the presence of cockroaches in the wardrobe and almirah housing the refrigerator. The hotel should have paid more attention to proper insect and pest control . I did point it out while checking out but their response was a bit casual.

Room Tip: Choose the garden view room on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ap2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed here in March having been moved from a terrible hotel down the road. They did not have any room for our first night due to a big wedding in the area so all rooms were reserved.

The entrance drive is not fantastic as there is rather a smelly water run off which runs down the road and under the cattle grid but once you walk over here it get so much better. It is a lovely looking hotel and quite imposing. The entrance hall is nicely decorated in the Indian style. We were shown some very nice rooms on viewing but when we arrived were taken through the lovely gardens to rooms 1 and 2 which were suites, WOW!!! They were lovely. All marble and super comfortable. What a result from the night before. All the staff were lovely and very helpful having heard of our ordeal the night before staying at the Karohi Haveli.

We had late lunch the first day by the lovely swimming pool which has sun loungers and sitting round it. Breakfast was very good and we had our second lunch in the same restaurant and were really looked after. We didn't eat dinner here as we were taken out by the company to compensate for a couple of errors made when booking this leg of our holiday. I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: If you can reserve 1 or 2. One of them is inside the brochure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is a great place, even if it is a bit hard to find along narrow alleys just wide enough for a car. However, it is worth it with great rooms, working wifi, a rooftop pool and restaurant but near the sights only 100 metres from the lake.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simonshearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

You get the feeling you are staying in a white palace, it's in a narrow road nearby the lake with bowls of floating flowers and candles to invoke your senses. Easy walk across the bridge to the town centre, shops and temples. I had a spacious corner room overlooking the garden with a seated, cushioned area in the bay window with a low table where you could lounge and relax. There is a wonderful jewellery store in the hotel with good prices. We walked around the corner to the Ambrai restaurant, which is on the edge of the lake under big trees overlooking the palace, at night it is magical with everything lit up and the food was excellent. Lovely views of Udaipur and the lake from the rooftop terrace.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#19 of 165 in Udaipur
724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#9 of 165 in Udaipur
2,341 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#38 of 165 in Udaipur
500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#16 of 165 in Udaipur
1,392 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#6 of 165 in Udaipur
2,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Udai Kothi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Udai Kothi

Address: O/S Chand Pole | Hanuman Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#21 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#23 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £95 - £443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Udai Kothi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though within a short, pleasant stroll from the heart of old city, Udai Kothi is remarkable for its tranquility and magnificence.Conceptualized, designed, created and run by Kunwar Vishwavijay and his wife Bhuwneshwari Kumari, Udai Kothi is a superbly modern hotel, which pampers you with all the facilities, amenities and luxuries a 21st century traveler expects. While Udai Kothi is modern at heart, the owners have made every effort to incorporate all those architectural and decorative features that make living in the city of Udaipur a pleasure. Udai Kothi offers guests the best of both worlds; the latest standards, blending happily with old-world charm.The elegant rooftop restaurant with its cool palm court makes a perfect retreat the midday heat. Dine in the evening in a romantic ambience, muted lighting, gentle music, shining cutlery and spotless napery. The reflection of the illuminated palaces in the waters of the lake and the twinkling lights of the city won’t fail to enchant you. We offer a high standard of cuisine form a comprehensive menu. Upon the terrace discover a perfect spot to relax, or swim in Udaipur’s only rooftop pool; away form the noise and bustle of the city street with the restaurant close-at-hand to supply you with drinks, snacks or meals, and musical entertainment in the evening.Each guestroom has its own character and style, with carefully selected furniture, soft furnishings and décor; and a delightful view that can be savored form the jharokha (window seat). Spacious lawns stretch out on the South side of the hotel, bordered with multicolored climbing Bougainvillea and other beautiful shrubs and flowers, an ideal venue for large celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Udai Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Udai Kothi Udaipur
Udai Kothi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing