We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Udai Kothi
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Karohi Haveli(Udaipur)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,154)
Filter reviews
1,154 results
Traveller rating
459
407
146
65
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
459
407
146
65
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolmarble bathboutique hotellake picholabeautiful hotelold cityfour poster bedupgraded to a suitecity palacenarrow streetsgarden viewsitting areaboat rideindiaambiencealcovepassword
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
583 - 588 of 1,154 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014

With small candles floating in silver bowls filled with water and flowers at night, a marble roof terrace and pool with a view on the lake, pictures of maharajahs in the corridors, old gramophones waiting to play music again, this hotel seems to have been preserved from another era. Rooms are comfortable, hot water is available, incredible view from the roof top, within walking distance to the city (city palace is a 10 mn walk), this was our perfect place to stay in Udaipur. The staff isn't the friendliest nor the most helpful I have met on this trip, but the hotel owner is very attentive and nice to her guests.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ROSENIEMAND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neelam20, General Manager at Hotel Udai Kothi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Udai Kothi and for sharing your valuable feedback.

Udai Kothi is situated in old city at Pichola lake. I am glad to know that you have loved the property and have thoroughly enjoyed your time with us.
I regret to note your disappointment with our staff not being helpful, we shall certainly consider this feedback seriously. we assure you this shall not be repeated in future.
I request you to give us another opportunity to meet up your expectations on your next visit..
Looking forward your next visit to our property.

warm regards

Neelam Khandale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The hotel extremely beautiful, with the old world charm. Rooms are very attractive and grand. We stayed in a Superior room, price offered was decent it being 5k. As the room was not ready we decided to go for lunch first. The rooftop restaurant had a lovely view with indian seating. Food was highly overpriced, the taste of Indian food was to match the taste buds of foreign national only. We found a dead cockroach in the bread basket presented to us, upon notifying the server he just took it away with a very straight face without even apologizing for this. Breakfast spread had limited options but the quality was good.

Room as mentioned above was grand and elegant. The bed was comfortable, it had a very huge bathroom, only one error in the design was the there should be a glass on one of the side of the shower cubicle as water spills all around once someone takes shower. This place is situated near the Lake Pichola and boasts a fantastic view from the rooftop restaurant. The garden is very well maintained, in the evening entire area looks stunning with small lanterns lit, flower arrangements all over.

While checking out the staff kept insisting to pay the bills first (we had requested for a late check out at 1030 am) as if we were gonna be skippers. We were running short of cash for the further journey, hence requested to return cash advance which was given earlier as we wished to pay the entire bill by card however this was bluntly denied by the general manager there by giving some excuse. Staff present at the reception hardly smiles, they were the most unwelcoming bunch of people I have seen in any hotels.
I would definitely recommend this place to whoever wishes to visit Udaipur, for the beautiful product they have. However, they really need to work hard on hospitality aspect first.

Room Tip: Try out the superior rooms on 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhijeet08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neelam20, General Manager at Hotel Udai Kothi, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback.

We are glad you'll liked our property and enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel, however apologies for the bread basket that was presented to you. We are very particular with cleanliness, however we lack and need to improvise on our cleanliness more. Sorry and we shall take extra care in future.

Every hotel has its policies for check outs and bill settlements. As we have back to back check ins ,it's season time we require the rooms at check out time, as it takes at least one and half hour to make the rooms ready for next arrivals. However we do request to guest to come and settle their bills by ten as our system has been set as per our departure time. We are sorry as our system does not allow us to do any changes and we do agree you would have paid the amount through credit card but it's against our hotel policy to return cash.

Sorry for the inconvenience that was caused. Kindly give us an opportunity to serve you'll in future, shall leave no stone unturned and give our best .

Regards

Neelam Khandale.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

stayed there for couple of night few days back and I was thoroughly impressed with the room, the view from the room and the service. The rooftop restaurant was one of the best places to hangout in the hotel. The hotel would do well to have complementary breakfast like its the case with most hotels at this cost.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sidd17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neelam20, General Manager at Hotel Udai Kothi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Udai Kothi and for sharing your views on trip advisor.


I am extremely delighted to know that our services have made your stay comfortable, and regarding the complimentary breakfast it depends on which plan your reservation for done.
Looking forward on your next visit.

warm regards
Neelam Khnadale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Our children booked this hotel as a present for our 30th Wedding Anniversary. And it was a great gift in every way. The hotel actually is as charming & lovely as it looks in the pictures. The rooms have all the necessary amenities. The staff are a complete personification of the famous Rajasthani hospitality.The location is central, with several popular restaurants & City Palace within walking distance. The garden is small but beautiful. Ms. Kumari, the director of the hotel, who happened to be present at the time, personally supervised the staff & checked into the cleanliness of the rooms in the morning. A lovely lady, very friendly & approachable. Neelam, the manager, was also very pleasant & helpful. We ate breakfast out by the pool, and the staff were always willing to pour fresh coffee or bring warm croissants. I would definitely stay there again, but in the new Luxury Suite wing as we got a tour of the rooms & they look beautiful.

Room Tip: Select which ever room suits your pocket as they are all charmingly decorated.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohini O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neelam20, General Manager at Hotel Udai Kothi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Udai Kothi!!!

Thank you for choosing Udai Kothi and for sharing your wonderful feedback.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and are indeed thankful for your wonderful comments about the property, restaurants and the associates. I have shared your feedback with the team for whom it is a tremendous source of motivation.

We look forward to your future visits.

warm regards
Neelam Khandale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The hotel is perfectly decent but I can't quite pin down what I didn't like about it. It might have something to do with the somewhat frosty atmosphere of the rooftop terrace. The swimming pool is located here but in quite a tight space, meaning the edges get filled up quite quickly by people who seem resentful of any newcomers! Swimming here is rather like swimming in a goldfish bowl - not pleasant. The rooms are good and filled with reproduction antiques. Bathrooms need updating though and were by far the worst we experienced on our three-week trip. I wouldn't bother eating at the hotel restaurant - head instead to Ambrai, just a short walk away (turn right out of the hotel) - great food and a fantastic terrace overlooking the lake. We all loved it. M

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank BrightonBN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neelam20, General Manager at Hotel Udai Kothi, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Udai Kothi!!!

Thank you for your feedback. I regret to note your disappointment with the quality of food at the hotel. I request you to give us another opportunity to showcase our culinary skills.
Also i can understand its summers now and most of our guest love to swim, however in near future we are planning to come up with another pool which shall solve this issue. However we can't do much right now as all guest love to be by the poolside.

We look forward to your future visits.

warm regards

Neelam Khandale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews