We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome - best of the great hotels we stayed in”
Review of Hotel Udai Kothi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Udai Kothi
Ranked #21 of 163 Hotels in Udaipur
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had the best time ever at this hotel. The owners are really lovely people who take a genuine interest in your stay while not being obtrusive. The very professional manager Naleem is ever attentive and very obliging.
We stayed for one week at the end of a trip including Varanasi and Delhi. Udaipur is such a laid back , easy going place and this hotel reflects that without being slack. We were here in early May in the off season , so as to be expected, some things were not at 100% capacity and there were some renovations taking place, however none of this impacted on our enjoyment of our stay to any degree.
We found all the staff pleasant, helpful and very approachable.
the restaurant / pool / bar area is very nice with great views and the food is good.
The room we booked ( a garden suite ) actually looked like the pictures on the web site , and was above our expectations. We had a wonderful stay and hope to be back again next year.
TIPS : The food is good but if you want variety there are several places in easy walking distance.
If you get the chance book the hotels private boat for dinner. This will cost you a few $$ but is well worth it.
Good massage place just across the road
Autos available at the front of the hotel. Ask for Chandra , he is a really nice guy who will give you first rate service at a fair price.

Room Tip: We liked the garden suite. Lots of space , great ambiance and immaculate .
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,061)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Udai Kothi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed here in April. Interesting quirky hotel. The rooms are not very big but have nice touches like colourful seating areas. Reminds me of Morocco. The food is variable. We ordered lunch from the pool and it took as age - most of the things ont he menu were not available. We ordered a veggie sandwich with cheese & sundried tomatoes (+ something else that I can't remember) and the waited kept saying "chicken" we kept saying "no chicken" - eventually we discovered that they didn't have any of the ingredients mentioned on the memu so he was going to bring us a chicken one. We eventually got an omlet sandwich - very dark bread with what looked like an omlet made with half an egg and split between 2 sandwiches!
However, we did eat in the restaurant in the evening and had a lovely meal. Breakfast was very basic - adequate but could be so much better with very little effort.

The pool is lovely. Only 5 sun beds and 2 groups of 3 low chairs. We always managed to find somewhere to chill out but if the hotel was full and everyone wanted to have an afternoon by the pool it would be a problem. There is no more room for any more chairs so they do the best they can with the available space.

Two things that let this hotel down .. the charges for laundry are outragous. This was our 8th hotel in India and we had laundry done in two other hotels. The laundry lists consisted of a price for the laundry and a price for pressing. At Udai Kothi these two prices need to be added together if you are having something washed! Not in any other hotel that we stayed in did that happen and it have the cost almost double what you think it is going to be. Also, we were leaving at 6am so we asked for a breakfast box - again we had many of those on our tour - but this one was pathetic. 2 bananas (over ripe and sqishing out the sides - inedible - most bananas in India are black ish - and riper than we are used to in the UK - but these were almost rotten). 2 little hard stale cakes - they made a great noise when knocked against a surface! That was all - not even a drink.

Rooms were nice but I would look for somewhere else if I was back in Udaipur.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We visited the restaurant for dinner in early april 2014. the service is absolutely appalling. there was one waiter taking care of at least 7-8 tables, we had to wait a good one hour before being served, and the food was only slightly above average. Very slow service, non-responsive waiter , absolutely not worth visiting. Much better options available in Udaipur

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreamertraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I was stoping in Udai Kothi for 2 nights. It is well maintained and really clean. It is very visible that the owner(s) care for this place very much. There were fresh flowers around the hotel and also within rooms. And I have never seen so clean lamps hanging on the ceiling. No dust whatsoever! So it is an oasis in the City.

The staff is also friendly and food is good. So I must admit that it was a positive surprise. Very good value for money.

The most lovely thing in the hotel is rooftop swimming pool. It is good place to cool down after a hot trip in the city. But also the whole interior and rooms are lovely.

On the roof top you have also good views. It's also at the quiet area of old town. So it is a good place for first night stay at Udaipur.

Also ask for hotel boat! If you are interested to see the shorelines of the lake the easy way - it is the best way (you can't really get to shoreline in many places on foot). The boat that the hotel has is a lovely boat (up to 4 persons) and has fair price. They also offer bigger boats.

If there is something that is not up to the rest in the hotel, it is the breakfast. There is nothing wrong with it. But there is nothing special to mention about it. Eggs and fresh fruits are there. But the lunch/dinner is so much better. Specially paneer tikka! Try it if you love cheese!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms under the pool. Pool machinery is turned on around 6 AM and make some (not very strong...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaur L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Well positioned hotel with lovely views from the rooftop. Breakfast ok, was there after the season so not as many choices. Pool good. Walking distance to main attractions. The wifi is terrible, a password provided only lasts at the longest 2 hours, and mostly you need to keep re logging on to gain access. Staff pleasant, very clean. So if you don't need Internet access stay here, if you do look elsewhere

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank bitterntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The High light of my stay in India. Rooom's with four poster bed, and the decoration amazing around every corner there is something beautiful. Rooftop restaurant, amazing views of the lake. Udaipur is a magical place. Well worth a visit when in India.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fransina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very good staff of the hotel are very good and friendly food is Good but not for Indians because of Europeans we were warmly welcomed on arrival with flowers and welcome drink the drawback of the hotel is its location because the roads to the hotel are very narrow if a vehicle comes in front of you you cannot even walk otherwise it's best hotel to stay and worth to pay for it I stayed for 2nights breakfast is good and best for vegetrains

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kamdarjignesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#18 of 163 in Udaipur
709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 163 in Udaipur
2,300 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Shiv Niwas Palace
Shiv Niwas Palace
#33 of 163 in Udaipur
489 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#16 of 163 in Udaipur
358 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#5 of 163 in Udaipur
2,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Udai Kothi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Udai Kothi

Address: O/S Chand Pole | Hanuman Ghat, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#21 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#23 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range: £78 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Udai Kothi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though within a short, pleasant stroll from the heart of old city, Udai Kothi is remarkable for its tranquility and magnificence.Conceptualized, designed, created and run by Kunwar Vishwavijay and his wife Bhuwneshwari Kumari, Udai Kothi is a superbly modern hotel, which pampers you with all the facilities, amenities and luxuries a 21st century traveler expects. While Udai Kothi is modern at heart, the owners have made every effort to incorporate all those architectural and decorative features that make living in the city of Udaipur a pleasure. Udai Kothi offers guests the best of both worlds; the latest standards, blending happily with old-world charm.The elegant rooftop restaurant with its cool palm court makes a perfect retreat the midday heat. Dine in the evening in a romantic ambience, muted lighting, gentle music, shining cutlery and spotless napery. The reflection of the illuminated palaces in the waters of the lake and the twinkling lights of the city won’t fail to enchant you. We offer a high standard of cuisine form a comprehensive menu. Upon the terrace discover a perfect spot to relax, or swim in Udaipur’s only rooftop pool; away form the noise and bustle of the city street with the restaurant close-at-hand to supply you with drinks, snacks or meals, and musical entertainment in the evening.Each guestroom has its own character and style, with carefully selected furniture, soft furnishings and décor; and a delightful view that can be savored form the jharokha (window seat). Spacious lawns stretch out on the South side of the hotel, bordered with multicolored climbing Bougainvillea and other beautiful shrubs and flowers, an ideal venue for large celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Udai Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Udai Kothi Udaipur
Udai Kothi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing