We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a petite palace , made to feel like Indian Princess”
Review of Hotel Udai Kothi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Udai Kothi
Ranked #23 of 156 Hotels in Udaipur
nyc
1 review
“a petite palace , made to feel like Indian Princess”
Reviewed 30 March 2010

perfect location in the heart of my favorite town in Rajasthan , beautiful hotel decorated with indigenous treaures , rooftop dining and pool , fantastc food , professional and curteous staff , owner makes you feel like a member of her family , we hated to leave!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coco008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    371
    132
    61
    71
See reviews for
234
448
48
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Udai Kothi was clean and well-appointed. However, it is not in the nicest neighborhood, and we found getting there (in a caravan of 3 Toyota SUVs) was terribly difficult. The roads were narrow and jam-packed. The hotel does not have large grounds, and there were very little lounge areas. Honestly, I think that their web site oversold the place. The pics were do devastatingly beautiful, that we were disappointed when we got there and saw the reality. The pool is nice, but it is very small -- there was only enough room for about 6-8 people to lounge beside it. The roof top restaurant was also nice, but small and the lack of air conditioning meant is was barely usable in the unseasonably warm spring. The price for the rooms was very high given the quality of the hotel and its non-existent grounds. It is clean though, and that goes a long way. I will definitely spend a bit more money next time and upgrade to a more luxurious hotel. This was nothing special.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAPatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newyork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2010

What a charmaing hotel.....Udaikothi straight from 1001 arabian night. A boutique hotel with lot of personal touch. Highly recommended. The Udaisuite is to die for wtih private heated indoor pool and heated jacuzzion its private terrace with 360° panoramic view of whole city .your vist is incomplete without visiting "UDAIKOTHI"

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrsnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2010

The Hotel is very Beautiful, clean & very well mannered Staff. Everything is perfect. Lovely Garden, great Rooftop Restaurant & the new suite is called Udaisuite is awesome. the suite with private swimming pool & private jaccuzi. we really enjoyed there.we have no word 2 explain. it is very beautiful & great view from this suite. and the food was also very good.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryan_private44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Little pricey for what you are getting but nice hotel, good location, great rooftop restaurant and rooftop pool.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mrrworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

Lots of character and a great location, the hotel is well worth a stay. The roof restaurant has great views (particularly for watching Diwali fireworks which we were fortunate enough to be there for) and serves very nice food. The service is certainly a little on the slow side at times but other than that it’s all good.
The rooms are a good size, individual and full of character. We'd certainly stay again when we're next in Udaipur.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Club_Street
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2010

Although that roof and pool is beautiful, this hotel disappointed and felt overpriced in relation to other places on our travels. It seems over-run by large tours, so that check-in and check-out are affected, breakfast is crowded (and only buffet) and dinner is crowded (and only buffet). Service is more fawning than charming, although we found the travel desk helpful in obtaining a driver the next day. Our room really was pretty and full of delightful antiques and hand painted walls

A sore point: the manager "did us a favour" and gave us a room when we arrived a day early, but it was a cold, cramped room, with small windows at ceiling level, a mattress on the floor, noise all night, and a non-working Jacuzzi. We saw it and thought it would do for a night as we were tired from a day of travel. But the price for this was over R3600! In the moment we agreed, but it is gouging like that that makes one feel taken advantage of.

The roof and pool is very special, especially when there are no tours about. The location is also good - set off from the city centre, but easy to walk.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CassieDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 156 in Udaipur
457 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lalit Laxmi Vilas Palace Udaipur
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 156 in Udaipur
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 156 in Udaipur
2,249 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#18 of 156 in Udaipur
316 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 156 in Udaipur
2,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Udai Kothi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Udai Kothi

Property: Hotel Udai Kothi
Address: O/S Chand Pole | outside Chandpole, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#21 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#23 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Udai Kothi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though within a short, pleasant stroll from the heart of old city, Udai Kothi is remarkable for its tranquility and magnificence.Conceptualized, designed, created and run by Kunwar Vishwavijay and his wife Bhuwneshwari Kumari, Udai Kothi is a superbly modern hotel, which pampers you with all the facilities, amenities and luxuries a 21st century traveler expects. While Udai Kothi is modern at heart, the owners have made every effort to incorporate all those architectural and decorative features that make living in the city of Udaipur a pleasure. Udai Kothi offers guests the best of both worlds; the latest standards, blending happily with old-world charm.The elegant rooftop restaurant with its cool palm court makes a perfect retreat the midday heat. Dine in the evening in a romantic ambience, muted lighting, gentle music, shining cutlery and spotless napery. The reflection of the illuminated palaces in the waters of the lake and the twinkling lights of the city won’t fail to enchant you. We offer a high standard of cuisine form a comprehensive menu. Upon the terrace discover a perfect spot to relax, or swim in Udaipur’s only rooftop pool; away form the noise and bustle of the city street with the restaurant close-at-hand to supply you with drinks, snacks or meals, and musical entertainment in the evening.Each guestroom has its own character and style, with carefully selected furniture, soft furnishings and décor; and a delightful view that can be savored form the jharokha (window seat). Spacious lawns stretch out on the South side of the hotel, bordered with multicolored climbing Bougainvillea and other beautiful shrubs and flowers, an ideal venue for large celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Udai Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Udai Kothi Udaipur
Udai Kothi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing