We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a good walk to the centre”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Udai Kothi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Udai Kothi
Ranked #25 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
queensland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“a good walk to the centre”
Reviewed 3 September 2010

we were a little disappointed with this hotel as it presented well but I felt it was too far from all the main attractions of Udaipur.The rooms were well decorated but the views from the swimming pool overlooked an unfinished building site. When they open these extra rooms they will loose the smaller personal touch,which they use as a selling point.The swimming pool is very welcoming on a hot day,but the restaurant was somewhat dark and it was more pleasant to eat outside.The prices for meals was very expensive and it was better value and more fun to eat in outside places and catch an auto rickshaw home.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crispAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    369
    131
    61
    69
See reviews for
229
444
45
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We(me and my wife) went there with another couple to celebrate a special occasion. It was first time when I went there. It's front is very charming. I really liked it.
It is situated in mid of city so its very comfortable to visit all Udaipur specially Pichhola lake, Jagdish Temple, City palace etc. Reception area is very well decorated. It's very luxurious to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kajod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

The Udai Kothi was the best hotel we stayed in during our trip to India. Yes the Oberoi chain are more akin to 'western' hotels but the Kothi had a genuine charm which made our stay the more enjoyable. The rooftop pool had unrivalled views of Udaipur as did the restaurant. The staff were ultra-friendly and couldn't do enough for us.

The four poster bed was a nice touch and the authentic trimmings around the room gave us an experience which we'll never forget

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IdLiketoRogerMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

We were really looking forward to staying at this place after reading some pretty positive reviews and seeing good looking photos. However this place is really dodgy. When we got there they had run out of rooms (even though we had booked). they stuck us in the really horrible 'spare' room that resembled a dirty broom closet. Staff were rude and even when we got moved to our 'suite' it was very underwhelming. To make matters worse, i got really sick after eating at the restaurant (the only time that i got sick on the whole trip). I vomited for about a day after eating the goat curry. Unfortunately staying at this hell-hole tarnished our views of Udaipur. You have been warned!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lumei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

Udaipur was the last destination of our week long tour through Rajasthan. Not only was Udaipur a delight for touristy stuff, our stay at Udai Kothi also proved to be very interesting. Since we were a group of 24 people travelling together, we had to get off our bus about half a kilometer away from the hotel as the roads were too narrow for the bus. But the walk was worth it because the hotel was very pleasant, very close to Udai Bhavan and right next to the main market area. The service was efficient, the rooms very delightful (ask for the ones with private seating areas), the terrace swimming pool was relaxing and the food was amazing. In fact, this place served the best breakfast I had during this tour. Its a great place for honeymooning couples as well as groups of friends and families.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geetu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

Pretty good hotel. Nice heritage style, but you should note that it is not nearly as nice, or as large, as it appears in the pics they have placed on their website.

Rooftop restaurant is really nice. The pool is good, although too cold when i was there.

The spa is good, run by a keralan couple, but there is a bit of a scam where they will casually ask you during your massage "do you want your head massaged?" and then when you get the bill this has been added on as an extra treatment.

Its a bit expensive for what you get, overall.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank India_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

I am a native of Rajasthan but living in Bangalore as I moved after my marriage. On one of our homecoming vacation we decided to stay in this royal palatial hotel situated near the famous city palace museum, by the lake and in the narrow streets of the city of Udaipur.
It’s a lovely palace type hotel, full of genuine old antiques and photos. The rooms are beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean, they are very comfortable. The rooftop pool is wonderfully relaxing, glorious view of the lake - which is usually full of water at this time of the year How wonderful to hand around the pool and lounge on the white cushions while enjoying the view over Lake Pichola. Also the restaurant is very recommended-food was wonderful, atmosphere great and the waiters very friendly. It has got an impressive facade and lobby, with a beautiful garden out back. The hotel is well positioned, in a quiet area but the centre of town is within easy walking distance. I would highly recommend this hotel.
All in all a royal treat in the city of royals!

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpjain77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.0 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#15 of 151 in Udaipur
681 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 151 in Udaipur
2,234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 151 in Udaipur
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 151 in Udaipur
1,333 reviews
0.7 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
445 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#22 of 151 in Udaipur
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Udai Kothi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Udai Kothi

Property: Hotel Udai Kothi
Address: O/S Chand Pole | outside Chandpole, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#21 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#23 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Udai Kothi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though within a short, pleasant stroll from the heart of old city, Udai Kothi is remarkable for its tranquility and magnificence.Conceptualized, designed, created and run by Kunwar Vishwavijay and his wife Bhuwneshwari Kumari, Udai Kothi is a superbly modern hotel, which pampers you with all the facilities, amenities and luxuries a 21st century traveler expects. While Udai Kothi is modern at heart, the owners have made every effort to incorporate all those architectural and decorative features that make living in the city of Udaipur a pleasure. Udai Kothi offers guests the best of both worlds; the latest standards, blending happily with old-world charm.The elegant rooftop restaurant with its cool palm court makes a perfect retreat the midday heat. Dine in the evening in a romantic ambience, muted lighting, gentle music, shining cutlery and spotless napery. The reflection of the illuminated palaces in the waters of the lake and the twinkling lights of the city won’t fail to enchant you. We offer a high standard of cuisine form a comprehensive menu. Upon the terrace discover a perfect spot to relax, or swim in Udaipur’s only rooftop pool; away form the noise and bustle of the city street with the restaurant close-at-hand to supply you with drinks, snacks or meals, and musical entertainment in the evening.Each guestroom has its own character and style, with carefully selected furniture, soft furnishings and décor; and a delightful view that can be savored form the jharokha (window seat). Spacious lawns stretch out on the South side of the hotel, bordered with multicolored climbing Bougainvillea and other beautiful shrubs and flowers, an ideal venue for large celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Udai Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Udai Kothi Udaipur
Udai Kothi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing