We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice in Udaipur”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Udai Kothi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Udai Kothi
Ranked #24 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Northern California
Level Contributor
236 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good choice in Udaipur”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

We stayed two nights (part of two weeks in Rajasthan with a car and a driver all set up by a Delhi travel agency and a month in India and my umpteenth trip to India but first to Rajasthan). Rooms are very good even though we faced the street (but also the lake and the "downtown" as it were). Only downside was an elevator that did not always perform properly (worked but got stuck at the top floor occasionally). Staff couldn't have been nicer. Same day laundry. Manager allowed me to use a hotel computer for email. Down the street from a very terrific restaurant that's right on the water and has a spectacular view (as does the hotel's rooftop restaurant).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nurealam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    370
    131
    61
    69
See reviews for
231
445
46
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North West England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

What a pleasure, after the surly staff we had encountered in our Delhi hotel, to be welcomed with smiles and an efficient check in closely followed by a complimentary breakfast, having arrived from the overnight train at 6am!

This is a splendid hotel with pleasant willing staff, comfortable rooms and an excellent rooftop restaurant and adjacent pool. It also has a small shady garden in which the wi-fi works - very pleasant to have a beer and check emails. The views from the rooftop pool and restaurant area are admirable in the direction of the lake but a veil should be drawn over the opposite view over what appears to be a building site. Still - you can't have everything, and there are very entertaining monkeys and parakeets to watch on that side.

Others on here have lamented that the hotel isn't in the centre of things - a good thing in my view as the town of Udaipur, once behind the spectacular lakeside facade of the palace etc etc, really leaves a lot to be desired - it's bustling and dirty in the way of larger Indian cities, so it's nice to be 5 minutes wallk across the bridge away from it all. And there's an excellent waterside cafe on the way for a cold drink and a snack whilst watching the ladies do their laundry at the ghat.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmcmartinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

I was recommended this Hotel by a colleague in office. I was travelling with my wife and 9 months old son. I found the service at the Hotel very good. The staff was ready to accomodate our needs which was over and above the standard expectations. I needed the room service to heat my son's milk every couple of hours and also, customize some food for him.
Location of the hotel was quite central however the approach to the hotel was very narrow.
Hotel has a terrace swimming pool and dining area which are well maintained and it was fun hanging out there.
I was visiting Udaipur during lean tourist season and therefore got a good discount on the room rate however during the peak session, the rates are quite high. Personally I feel the peak session rates are not justified. The rooms are good but can be better. Towels in the bathroom were not very clean. Hotel can surely look at replacing the carpets in the room.
Overall, I do recommend this Hotel basis the location, service and terrace swimming pool.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VishalBh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

we were a little disappointed with this hotel as it presented well but I felt it was too far from all the main attractions of Udaipur.The rooms were well decorated but the views from the swimming pool overlooked an unfinished building site. When they open these extra rooms they will loose the smaller personal touch,which they use as a selling point.The swimming pool is very welcoming on a hot day,but the restaurant was somewhat dark and it was more pleasant to eat outside.The prices for meals was very expensive and it was better value and more fun to eat in outside places and catch an auto rickshaw home.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crispAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

We(me and my wife) went there with another couple to celebrate a special occasion. It was first time when I went there. It's front is very charming. I really liked it.
It is situated in mid of city so its very comfortable to visit all Udaipur specially Pichhola lake, Jagdish Temple, City palace etc. Reception area is very well decorated. It's very luxurious to stay there.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kajod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

The Udai Kothi was the best hotel we stayed in during our trip to India. Yes the Oberoi chain are more akin to 'western' hotels but the Kothi had a genuine charm which made our stay the more enjoyable. The rooftop pool had unrivalled views of Udaipur as did the restaurant. The staff were ultra-friendly and couldn't do enough for us.

The four poster bed was a nice touch and the authentic trimmings around the room gave us an experience which we'll never forget

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IdLiketoRogerMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2010

We were really looking forward to staying at this place after reading some pretty positive reviews and seeing good looking photos. However this place is really dodgy. When we got there they had run out of rooms (even though we had booked). they stuck us in the really horrible 'spare' room that resembled a dirty broom closet. Staff were rude and even when we got moved to our 'suite' it was very underwhelming. To make matters worse, i got really sick after eating at the restaurant (the only time that i got sick on the whole trip). I vomited for about a day after eating the goat curry. Unfortunately staying at this hell-hole tarnished our views of Udaipur. You have been warned!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lumei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madri Haveli
Madri Haveli
#6 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lakend
Hotel Lakend
#21 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#11 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Udai Kothi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Udai Kothi

Property: Hotel Udai Kothi
Address: O/S Chand Pole | outside Chandpole, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Udaipur
#21 Romantic Hotel in Udaipur
#23 Family Hotel in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Udai Kothi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Though within a short, pleasant stroll from the heart of old city, Udai Kothi is remarkable for its tranquility and magnificence.Conceptualized, designed, created and run by Kunwar Vishwavijay and his wife Bhuwneshwari Kumari, Udai Kothi is a superbly modern hotel, which pampers you with all the facilities, amenities and luxuries a 21st century traveler expects. While Udai Kothi is modern at heart, the owners have made every effort to incorporate all those architectural and decorative features that make living in the city of Udaipur a pleasure. Udai Kothi offers guests the best of both worlds; the latest standards, blending happily with old-world charm.The elegant rooftop restaurant with its cool palm court makes a perfect retreat the midday heat. Dine in the evening in a romantic ambience, muted lighting, gentle music, shining cutlery and spotless napery. The reflection of the illuminated palaces in the waters of the lake and the twinkling lights of the city won’t fail to enchant you. We offer a high standard of cuisine form a comprehensive menu. Upon the terrace discover a perfect spot to relax, or swim in Udaipur’s only rooftop pool; away form the noise and bustle of the city street with the restaurant close-at-hand to supply you with drinks, snacks or meals, and musical entertainment in the evening.Each guestroom has its own character and style, with carefully selected furniture, soft furnishings and décor; and a delightful view that can be savored form the jharokha (window seat). Spacious lawns stretch out on the South side of the hotel, bordered with multicolored climbing Bougainvillea and other beautiful shrubs and flowers, an ideal venue for large celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Udai Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Udai Kothi Udaipur
Udai Kothi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing