We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“staff is loud!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madri Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Madri Haveli
Ranked #7 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“staff is loud!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

I have stayed two night in the madri haveli. going to bed at arround 10.30pm is almost impossible, since the staff on the roof top terrace is so loud (bumping things arround, talking very loud) that even with ear plugs i couldn't sleep until i called the reception at 11pm to tell them. after i did so, i found my sleep. But only until arround 7am, until the bumping starts again!
Dear haveli team, guests are here to relax and have a good long sleep, and they dont wont to wake up early because the staff is too loud!

Room Tip: If you want a nice room, you need to have the suite, otherwise rooms are small and cold. Especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineR802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    119
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
74
220
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Am still staying at this haveli and so far am very happy. The initial reception from staff is professional and the haveli is clean and quite nicely designed.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable, with granite slab floors, decorative/colorful windows and rustic wooden doors and other elements. It's a bit designer and pretty cool.

Tried the continental breakfast – coffee is instant, the pancakes doughy, but the omelette is quite tasty and the service polite. The roof top restaurant is a great place to be at any time of the day. The views are substantial and you can see the Taj lake palace through some buildings in the distance.

Tuk-tuk is the advised way to travel to the hotel. Seems to cost a tourist any where between 50-80 rupees from the clock tower/palace areas, which is probably expensive.

For the price, $56AU a night, I am happy.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ScooterSooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We were a little apprehensive when we got to Madri Haveli, as the hotel is in the heart of the city and the road leading to the hotel is small and dirty. But the staff is excellent, the view from the rooftop was of the lake and the lake palace. It is centrally located and all the tourist spots are within walking distance of the hotel. The do a decent breakfast. They offer free wi-fi which worked in the common areas, did not work in the rooms. Wish they would offer fruits as an offering at breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NachiketShetye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

I tried calling the Madri Haveli people to book the hotel for my January 2014 Trip to Udaipur and found the people who are managing the booking are the rude people who do not know how to communicate with people..While I was confirming the suite charges which is not updated on their site, his response to my Q was very rude stating "Please send us the mail otherwise you will end up blaming us charges which you have stated over phone is incorrect". If the approach towards your Customer is so rude I doubt their service...will not take any chance.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashwini2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Hello,
This might sound like over exaggerated but its just today that I had left City of Lakes - Udaipur but my stay at Madri Haveli left me speechless. Such hospitality & home-like feeling really made me feel not to leave the place, but I came back home with loads of awesome memories & a urge to go back again.
The approach road to the hotel is narrow but since we were on our bike we manage to get into the narrow lanes & reach Madri Haveli. The first sight we had on arrival was of the haveli being build & surrounded in the heart of the city but yet splended. We were greeted by Mr Shankar (Manager) with a Namaste & warm welcome to the Haveli. He gave us a map surround the hotel & explained us the way in & out, places to shop & others. Also informed us about the Laundry services, Hot water (which is avail 24*7, for hours beyond their stipulated time you have to request for it as they dont keep it on all the time to save electricity but once boiler is ON, 10 mins max you'll get hot boiling water) WiFi password & the area where you get good signal strength & roof top splended view restaurant hours.
Once guided towards our room # 201, you would be passing by a small indoor waterfall, Lounge area. The doors, the lock, room styling greets you with simplicity yet modern.
- Ask for room on high level & back side to get a great view.
- Breakfast is a must must at Madri, Poha is my recommendation.
- Massage is good, once a try.
- For dinner go to the top most level, the view & breeze is really nice.
- If you are love sun, get on the roof by 7 AM & enjoy the sunrise, which I did today.

Feedback -
- Please provide room slippers as the floor was too cold to walk bare feet.
- Place ash trays or ash cans in the corridor or one on each floor if possible.
- I do understand that WiFi is complimentary & the staff is doing their utmost to get that service to us, but would appreciate if it was available everywhere by just placing the routers suitable location or changing them to a higher range connectivity.

C ya'll soon again.

Regards.

Room Tip: - Ask for room on high level & back side to get a great view. - Breakfast is a must must at Mad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miresh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We found Madrid haveli through a travel portal called chekin.in and it turned out to be a lovely place to stay. Located bang in the centre of the city, it is convenient to walk to just about most tourist spots. They have done up an old palace really well. The design is nice and different. Cute rooms. And really friendly staff. The food was great too. and the rates are quite reasonable. A must stay if you aren't looking for something über luxurious.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Janani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We had a fantastic 2 nights stay at this Haveli. We were there during the lead up to Dewali celebration and the views from the rooftop restaurant was just magnificent! The manager, Shanker, was very polite, welcoming and accommodating. Same thing could be said to the restaurant captain, Vijay Singh and his staff especially Kishand. Kishand found my bag that I left at the rooftop restaurant after some late night drinks and he delivered it to our room (everything intact) the very next morning - now that's service for you! We highly commended his honesty and we're very pleased with his attitude. Love this place and will definitely stay there again. Thank you so much guys for the wonderful time...keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveladdict1454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#14 of 151 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#6 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
0.6 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#10 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#1 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,823 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#12 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madri Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madri Haveli

Property: Madri Haveli
Address: 70, Ganesh Ghati | Near Gadiya Devra, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madri Haveli 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Haveli Hotel in the center of Udaipur ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Madri Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing