We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and well maintained - but not if you are travelling with an infant/toddler”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Madri Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Madri Haveli
Ranked #6 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
gurgaon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and well maintained - but not if you are travelling with an infant/toddler”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights 26th Dec - 29th Dec 2014 for the first night in a standard room and the next 2 nights in the suite. We were pretty much in the hotel all 3 days since my husband had a bad bout of viral. I would say the place is very clean and comfortable but only if you are going there at night simply to crash. We were travelling with a 10m old, and i would say that it's much less than ideal if travelling with a baby. First - no running hot water in winter - 3 hours in the morning and 3 hours in the evening only. At all other times you need to call the reception - which you will realize that in winters is not ideal at all.

Secondly - no hot water kettle even in the suite..which again, very inconvenient with a baby when you need hot water.
These are things i assumed all good hotels have nowadays - so unfortunately hadn't checked.

Also - no room service - which after my requests was made available since my husband had a bad bout of viral and we couldn't step out at all. Even then, the staff at first did not agree until i asked the manager to step in. I must say, the manager Mr. Shankar Singh was very helpful but each time i needed something, at first i would need to find him and request him to intervene with his staff on my behalf. Mr. Singh himself - very helpful, even took my husband to a doctor.

The suite was very tastefully done/Indian ethnic in feel - but since we were stuck in the room all the time, realized that it was very poorly lit to do anything like read a book. Also, it was very very noisy all day and even at night - traffic outside and some construction going on upstairs.

So all in all - probably good if you don't have to spend any time there - and just need a good clean, comfortable bed at night to sleep in; not if you end up staying there during the day and have special requests. Certainly not recommended with an infant.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mansharan_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    119
    25
    9
    6
See reviews for
74
226
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zell am See, Austria
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 days in total in both - a deluxe room and in the main suite.

Our stay was magnificent! It feels like being replaced in time. The hotel is newly renovated and the work looks great. The staff is very nice and friendly, the view from the roof-top to the lake or to the mountains also very beautiful. - It was also the cleanest hotel in which we stayed in India so far (and that were quite some, including a Taj Hotel as well).

I understand that some people are not so touched by architecture and the tasteful stone-settings. If your heart does not beat for that, this place might not be so breath taking then.The floor is made of stone, all the walls and even the ceiling! Very nicely done in a combination of marble, limestone and a grey stone. This is of course a bit cold in winter (although they have a mobile heater) but I can also imagine the stones must be great during the sizzling summertime. The small places to sit next to the windows are very comfy anyways.

We spent too many nights in modern hotels that look all the same and we were surprised how well they managed to blend in modern comfort into the medival setting of the rooms. - The focus is the ambience, though, and I think that was very romantic.

The main suite has a bit of an airy feeling and is also quite bright. Rooms located in the first and second floor might be a bit gloomy - but the place is situated in the middle of old town and there are of course neighbours very close by.

We are looking forward to come again!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Markoff_Chainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

I have stayed two night in the madri haveli. going to bed at arround 10.30pm is almost impossible, since the staff on the roof top terrace is so loud (bumping things arround, talking very loud) that even with ear plugs i couldn't sleep until i called the reception at 11pm to tell them. after i did so, i found my sleep. But only until arround 7am, until the bumping starts again!
Dear haveli team, guests are here to relax and have a good long sleep, and they dont wont to wake up early because the staff is too loud!

Room Tip: If you want a nice room, you need to have the suite, otherwise rooms are small and cold. Especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineR802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Am still staying at this haveli and so far am very happy. The initial reception from staff is professional and the haveli is clean and quite nicely designed.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable, with granite slab floors, decorative/colorful windows and rustic wooden doors and other elements. It's a bit designer and pretty cool.

Tried the continental breakfast – coffee is instant, the pancakes doughy, but the omelette is quite tasty and the service polite. The roof top restaurant is a great place to be at any time of the day. The views are substantial and you can see the Taj lake palace through some buildings in the distance.

Tuk-tuk is the advised way to travel to the hotel. Seems to cost a tourist any where between 50-80 rupees from the clock tower/palace areas, which is probably expensive.

For the price, $56AU a night, I am happy.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ScooterSooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We were a little apprehensive when we got to Madri Haveli, as the hotel is in the heart of the city and the road leading to the hotel is small and dirty. But the staff is excellent, the view from the rooftop was of the lake and the lake palace. It is centrally located and all the tourist spots are within walking distance of the hotel. The do a decent breakfast. They offer free wi-fi which worked in the common areas, did not work in the rooms. Wish they would offer fruits as an offering at breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NachiketShetye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

I tried calling the Madri Haveli people to book the hotel for my January 2014 Trip to Udaipur and found the people who are managing the booking are the rude people who do not know how to communicate with people..While I was confirming the suite charges which is not updated on their site, his response to my Q was very rude stating "Please send us the mail otherwise you will end up blaming us charges which you have stated over phone is incorrect". If the approach towards your Customer is so rude I doubt their service...will not take any chance.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashwini2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Hello,
This might sound like over exaggerated but its just today that I had left City of Lakes - Udaipur but my stay at Madri Haveli left me speechless. Such hospitality & home-like feeling really made me feel not to leave the place, but I came back home with loads of awesome memories & a urge to go back again.
The approach road to the hotel is narrow but since we were on our bike we manage to get into the narrow lanes & reach Madri Haveli. The first sight we had on arrival was of the haveli being build & surrounded in the heart of the city but yet splended. We were greeted by Mr Shankar (Manager) with a Namaste & warm welcome to the Haveli. He gave us a map surround the hotel & explained us the way in & out, places to shop & others. Also informed us about the Laundry services, Hot water (which is avail 24*7, for hours beyond their stipulated time you have to request for it as they dont keep it on all the time to save electricity but once boiler is ON, 10 mins max you'll get hot boiling water) WiFi password & the area where you get good signal strength & roof top splended view restaurant hours.
Once guided towards our room # 201, you would be passing by a small indoor waterfall, Lounge area. The doors, the lock, room styling greets you with simplicity yet modern.
- Ask for room on high level & back side to get a great view.
- Breakfast is a must must at Madri, Poha is my recommendation.
- Massage is good, once a try.
- For dinner go to the top most level, the view & breeze is really nice.
- If you are love sun, get on the roof by 7 AM & enjoy the sunrise, which I did today.

Feedback -
- Please provide room slippers as the floor was too cold to walk bare feet.
- Place ash trays or ash cans in the corridor or one on each floor if possible.
- I do understand that WiFi is complimentary & the staff is doing their utmost to get that service to us, but would appreciate if it was available everywhere by just placing the routers suitable location or changing them to a higher range connectivity.

C ya'll soon again.

Regards.

Room Tip: - Ask for room on high level & back side to get a great view. - Breakfast is a must must at Mad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miresh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
Taj Lake Palace Udaipur
#2 of 151 in Udaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,875 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#11 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#8 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#13 of 151 in Udaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madri Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madri Haveli

Property: Madri Haveli
Address: 70, Ganesh Ghati | Near Gadiya Devra, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 151 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madri Haveli 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Haveli Hotel in the center of Udaipur ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Madri Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing