We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hotel”
Review of Madri Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madri Haveli
Ranked #6 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite hotel”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

I love this boutique hotel such an amazing place beautiful and perfect blend of comfort and tradition. The rooftop is an amazing spot to have breakfast or dinner, the staff make sure you feel welcome, Sunil even helped us to feel like part of the family. We will definitely come back for a once in a lifetime experience.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sunstruckmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    122
    27
    9
    6
See reviews for
78
236
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Visually the hotel is quite stunning, every detail is well designed and combines the classic haveli heritage look with modern minimalism in a brilliant way. The staff are extremely helpful, warm, and friendly. And the location is absolutely perfect- you can step out of the front door into relaxed local markets or walk two minutes to five star restaurants and the city palace.

My only critique is that the breakfast was not very good and the AC was not working in our room during a very hot stay. Otherwise the place is fantastic.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The Madri is unique. It is 300 years old and now houses a modern, clean hotel characterized by carved stone, elegant furnishings and flowing water. The roof - top restaurant provides a glittering view across the city in the evening and is a breathtaking place to eat breakfast. The staff are helpful and pleasant and the Madri is close to the amazing City Palace.
What a shame that the streets of Udaipur around the Palace are clogged with traffic, mostly motorbikes, so that walking is unpleasant and dangerous.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent but the suite is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed for a few nights in January when Udaipur was cold at night. The rooms have heaters, but nonetheless have thick stone walls and were designed to keep out the heat so it was a bit cold. I stayed in three different rooms, one with only tiny windows so look at a few before you choose. The haveli's got lots of atmosphere, is comfortable, clean and quiet, has free wifi available in a comfortable, but dark sitting area on the first floor. It's ok, but not great, value. There's a rooftop restaurant with excellent views and reasonably good food (more expensive of course than elsewhere in town). Staff was friendly and helpful. I'd go back, but would probably first consider elsewhere.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Samuel_Dixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

An amazing find tucked away in the narrow backstreets of the real Udaipur. Not for the faint hearted or the elderly, as there are some steep steps to climb if you are to enjoy the tasty breakfast and the views of the city and lake from the rooftop. There are stunning windows in the principal suite which cast wonderful lights in the early morning. Helpful staff who are there to carry your luggage up and down the stairs and along the alleyways to your waiting car. Shankar the manager arranged a car for our onward journey and checked to see if we had arrived safely! Have a chat with the waiter Hari Singh for insights into local life, and who is recognized as the real Maharana of Udaipur.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank UnclebenHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We were 2 girls staying at Madri Haveli. We booked a non ac room since the weather was such that one wouldn't require an air conditioner!
On reaching the hotel, I was blown away at how beautiful it was. It induced a zen like state for the entire time during our stay there which I still am in. the rooms were tastefully done, with vintage-ish dors and furniture and pretty coloured glass windows which gave beautiful hues to our room in the afternoon. The bathrooms were clean and very well done up.
The food was excellent, so much that we ate so much breakfast each day we ended up having lunch close to late afternoon coffee time.
Shanker Singhji and team were very warm to us during our entire stay and took really good care of us. Gokulji, a member of the staff is a delight to speak with, a very knowledgeable person, gives perfect guidance and recommendations about the city.
The staff really goes all out in making you feel safe as women travelers.

The aloo paratha at their gorgeous rooftop restaurant is a must have, so is the poha and the upma.

I will recommend this place to everyone i know!

Room Tip: Pick rooms on the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSargam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.2 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#7 of 157 in Udaipur
2,271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Pichola Hotel
Lake Pichola Hotel
#16 of 157 in Udaipur
696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#12 of 157 in Udaipur
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Boheda Palace
Boheda Palace
#9 of 157 in Udaipur
449 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trident Udaipur
Trident Udaipur
#4 of 157 in Udaipur
2,670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#44 of 157 in Udaipur
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madri Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madri Haveli

Property: Madri Haveli
Address: 70, Ganesh Ghati | Near Gadiya Devra, Udaipur 313001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 157 Hotels in Udaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madri Haveli 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Haveli Hotel in the center of Udaipur ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Madri Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing