We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good ambiance and you'll feel like home!”
Review of Hotel Janak Niwas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Janak Niwas
Ranked #10 of 276 Udaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I stayed for three months at Janak Niwas, it's a nice atmosphere and you feel like home with the staff who are always there for you. To help you with everything you need and want to see in Udaipur. The rooftop is a really good place to be and experience Udaipur with some silence. The views from the rooftop are extraordinary. Drink chai and eat the tasty curd with fruit and musli in the morning. The rooms are clean and comfortable, you can make you're little home there for a while and learn from Udaipur and her people...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadescheltis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shiv_janakniwas, Owner at Hotel Janak Niwas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings

Thank you for your positive comments! Glad to know you liked the food. Do visit us again!!

Thank you,

Regards,

Team Janak Niwas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2013

Having stayed in a variety of accomodation during my time in India, I can definitely recommend Janak Niwas for location, cleanliness and friendly, helpful staff. The views from the rooftop including the city palace are amazing, make sure to have a chai and soak up the atmosphere. The rooms are clean and tastefully decorated. The bathroom is western and there is hot water! The owner has an art studio on the ground floor and the fascinating miniature art is not to be missed. The location is central and just a short walk to everything you need. Janak Niwas is great value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shiv_janakniwas, Owner at Hotel Janak Niwas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings

Thank you for your positive comments! Glad to know you liked the food. Do visit us again!!

Thank you,

Regards,

Team Janak Niwas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Everyone who wants to enjoy Udaipur from the best side, has to stay at Janak Niwas. For 3 months I stayed at Janak Niwas and had the time of my life there. Thanks to this beautiful guesthouse with lovely people who make you feel comfortable and help you with everything. The rooms are new and clean with nice window views. The bathroom is also really good, showers always with warm water. Good working wifi, nice breakfast and diner. The rooftop gives an amazing view of Udaipur with his City Palace. And also the art gallery on the ground flour gives you new insides of Udaipur. These great artists can tell you everything about the beautiful miniature art of Udaipur. This is the place to be in India!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SelmaSofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shiv_janakniwas, Owner at Hotel Janak Niwas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings

Thank you for your positive comments! Glad to know you liked the food. Do visit us again!!

Thank you,

Regards,

Team Janak Niwas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. My room was clean and nice, tastefully decorated with a decent modern bathroom and plentiful hot water. The ground floor has an art studio, and the hotel owner will happily show you around. Great views of the palace from the rooftop, and a 2min walk from the hotel into the middle of the tourist area and palace entrance. Well worth staying here.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
Thank Ell148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shiv_janakniwas, Owner at Hotel Janak Niwas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings

Thank you for your positive comments! Glad to know you liked the food. Do visit us again!!

Thank you,

Regards,

Team Janak Niwas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Sanju and his lovely family provide very clean, comfortable and spacious rooms which are very affordable. They were all so helpful, friendly and accommodating to all our requests. The rooftop has an amazing view of the Jagdish Temple and the City Palace(which are both only a 2 min walk away). At night it was very relaxing and romantic to sit and enjoy a beer or some chai for breakfast. I would also recommend the cooking class by the wonderful Babu! I will always stay here when I come back to Udaipur. Overall it was a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shiv_janakniwas, Owner at Hotel Janak Niwas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings

Thank you for your positive comments! Glad to know you liked the food. Do visit us again!!

Thank you,

Regards,

Team Janak Niwas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The Janak guest house has all one would want when visiting this lovely city. I would recommend this guest house to any traveler to Udaipur, and I will definitely be staying here during my next visit to India. The rooms are large, cool throughout the day, extremely clean, new and comfortable. Some of my best sleeps in India were here. The roof top has perfect views of the city palace and delicious food. The brothers are always accommodating, friendly and very helpful with all our needs. The location is just a 2 minute walk to the city palace and the city center.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zcampbell58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shiv_janakniwas, Owner at Hotel Janak Niwas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings

Thank you for your positive comments! Glad to know you liked the food. Do visit us again!!

Thank you,

Regards,

Team Janak Niwas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Owners (3 brothers) are super helpful, place is clean, combination art studio and affordable rooms.Lovely to interact with people who really care about your experience. Highly recommend (and make sure you have coffee on the roof overlooking the Jagdish Temple).

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MackMackMack_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shiv_janakniwas, Owner at Hotel Janak Niwas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Dear Sir/Madam,

Greetings

Thank you for your positive comments! Glad to know you liked the food. Do visit us again!!

Thank you,

Regards,

Team Janak Niwas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Udaipur hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
Hotel Aashiya Haveli
#17 of 165 in Udaipur
569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mewar Haveli
Mewar Haveli
#33 of 165 in Udaipur
793 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dayal Hotel
Dayal Hotel
#19 of 165 in Udaipur
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jaiwana Haveli
Jaiwana Haveli
#8 of 165 in Udaipur
2,321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
Jagat Niwas Palace Hotel
#15 of 165 in Udaipur
1,375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
Hotel Udaigarh Udaipur
#42 of 165 in Udaipur
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Janak Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Janak Niwas

Address: 15 Sahiwalo Ki Gali | Bhattiyani Chotta, Udaipur 313001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Udaipur District > Udaipur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 276 B&Bs / Inns in Udaipur
Price Range: £14 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Janak Niwas 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Janak Niwas aim is to serve the guest and provide them a homely environment. Here 10 years of experience people hosting. The specialty of the Janak Niwas is its traditional Rajasthani architecture and the huge area covered by it. One is Roof Top Bistro, for having a delicious dinner with view of the old city. On a roof top Bistro with beautiful panoramic views of the City Palace, Rop Way & musical Fountain Garden, Havelies, Temples & also view of one of the oldest mountain area of the world "Aravali Parvat Mala". You can request a boat ride on the lake or cultural performances with a little advance notice. Janak Niwas Paying Guest House is well designed and located on the top of a hill which is very peaceful & pollution free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Janak Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing